24th ilb
5 – 14 Sep 2024 Program
9 – 18 Sep 2024 Young Program

Scritture Giovani


Scritture Giovani is a project conceptualized by Festivaletteratura in 2002 to promote young European writers.

It started with the support of the European Union’s Cultural Programme and has continued with increasing success. Scritture Giovani involves several of Europe’s major literary festivals – Festivaletteratura, Hay Festival (United Kingdom) and international literature festival berlin (Germany).

The authors in the past years were chosen under the criteria of age (under 32), the first publication of a short story written specifically for the project, the first translation of their work (into the languages of the three festivals: Italian, English and German) and the participation of the authors at events at the three festivals.

The short stories, information about the Scritture Giovani authors and other news will be published on the website: www.scritturegiovani.it.

40 short stories from the last 13 years by authors from around the world.

The Scritture Giovani publications from the past years are listed up here.

2016: Much Ado About Nothing

With short stories by:
Rebecca F. John
Ilaria Gaspari
Mercedes Lauenstein
Nina Polak

2015: Home

With short stories by:

Valerie Fritsch
Llŷr Gwyn Lewis
Marco Parlato
Elske Rahill

2014: Sarajevo

With short stories by:
Luca Giordano
Florian Kessler
Jemma L. King

2013: Jerusalem

With short stories by:
Laura Fidaleo
Meirion Jordan
Felix Stephan
Maarten Inghels

2012: why?

With short stories by:
Antonia Baum
Eurig Salisbury
Francesca Scotti
Andrea Lundgren

2011: names

With short stories by:
Susanne Heinrich
Paolo Piccirillo
Anna Lewis
Kallia Papadaki

2010: sea

With short stories by:
Dora Albanese
Catrin Dafydd
Clemens Setz
Stefania Mihalache

2009: 4 am

With short stories by:
Paul Brodowsky
Gabriele Dadati
Owen Martell
Céline Robinet

2008: sunshine

With short stories by:
Cynan Jones
Giovanni Montanaro
Thomas von Steinaecker
Seray Şahiner

2007: disquiet

With short stories by:
Eirik Ingebrigtsen
Caryl Lewis
Thorsten Palzhoff
Chiara Valerio
David Machado

2006: Casablanca

With short stories by:
Cristiano Cavina
Aneirin Karadog
Kirsten Fuchs
Gaute Heivol
Ana Prieto Nadal

2005: elsewhere

With short stories by:
Marco Archetti
Fflur Dafydd
Gunnhild Oyehaug
Daniel Odija
Antje Ravic Strubel

2004: monsters

With short stories by:
Ingeborg Arvola
Valeria Parrella
Owen Sheers
Gernot Wolfram

2003: borders

With short stories by:
Bjarte Breiteig
Richard John Evans
Angharad Price
Flavio Soriga
Tilman Rammstedt

2002: things change

With short stories by:
Rajeev Balasubramanyam
Davide Longo
Marco Mancassola
Ingo Niermann
Silke Scheuermann
Rachel Trezise