23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Nicholas Shakespeare

Nicholas Shakespeare was born in Worcester, England in 1957 and grew up, a diplomat’s son, in Asia and Latin America. He studied literature at the University of Cambridge and worked as a journalist for the BBC and “The Times”. He was also literary editor of “The Daily Telegraph” and “The Sunday Telegraph” from 1988 to 1991. It was at this time that his first, award-winning novel, “The Vision of Elena Silves” (1989) was published. It narrates a love story played out against the backdrop of the ideologically divided Peruvian society. The character of the lover and student revolutionary is based on Abimael Guzmán, the leader of the Maoist guerilla group “The Shining Path”. Shakespeare had already tried, in the mid eighties, to draw closer to this fascinating and publicity-shy figure in his reportage “In Pursuit of Guzmán” for “Granta” magazine. The circumstances of Guzmán’s im pr isonment are dealt with in the novel “The Dancer Upstairs” (1995), which John Malkovich made into a movie based on Shakespeare’s screenplay. The story revolves around an ill-fated romance: after many years on the trail of the sought-after guerilla, a colonel finds him in a room above a dance school run by the ballet instructor he is in love with and realizes that she herself is involved in the movement.
In his later pr ose work too, Shakespeare kept alive his journalistic skills of re pr esentation, characterized by a richness of detail, first-hand experience, empathy and confident use of speech. He achieved fame, in particular, with the biography of the writer Bruce Chatwin. Without any glorification Shakespeare offers a pr ofound portrait which he spent eight years researching. In 2004 he pr esented another kind of portrait, this one in “In Tasmania”, a depiction of the southern Australian island, in which regional expeditions are rendered as literary events, in a way reminiscent of Chatwin’s own work. Personal experiences and family history make connections through an intermeshing of facts, anecdotes, reports and tales that allows for a wide-ranging vision of the island.
Shakespeare’s most recent novel is also set in Tasmania. “Secrets of the Sea” (2007) tells the story of a young couple whose fragile happiness is put to the test when a storm delivers a stranger to their house. Shakespeare himself has a home on Tasmania’s East Coast. He also lives in Wiltshire, England. Among his many distinctions are the Somerset Maugham Award, the Betty Trask Award, the American Library Association Award, and the biennial 2007 Tasmania Book Prize. He has been a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature since 1999.

Nicholas Shakespeare

Portrait Nicholas Shakespeare
© Hartwig Klappert

Nicholas Shakespeare wurde 1957 im englischen Worcester geboren und wuchs, als Sohn eines Diplomaten, in Asien und Lateinamerika auf. Er studierte Literatur an der Universität von Cambridge und war als Journalist für die BBC und für die »Times« tätig. Zwischen 1988 und 1991 war er Feuilletonchef beim »Daily Telegraph« und dem »Sunday Telegraph«. In dieser Zeit erschien sein erster, pr eisgekrönter Roman, »The Vision of Elena Silves« (1989; Ü: Die Vision der Elena Silves). Er erzählt eine Liebesgeschichte vor dem Hintergrund der ideologisch gespaltenen Gesellschaft Perus. Die Figur des Liebhabers und studentischen Revolutionärs ist nach Abimael Guzmán gestaltet, dem Anführer der maoistischen Terrorgruppe »Leuchtender Pfad«. Bereits Mitte der achtziger Jahre hatte sich Shakespeare in der Reportage »In Pursuit of Guzmán« für das Magazin »Granta« der faszinierenden, öffentlichkeitsscheuen Figur genähert. Die Umstände seiner Verhaftung sind in dem Roman »The Dancer Upstairs« (1995; dt. »Der Obrist und die Tänzerin«, 1998) verarbeitet, der von John Malkovich nach Shakespeares Drehbuch verfilmt wurde. Rahmenhandlung ist wiederum eine Liebesgeschichte mit unglücklichem Ausgang: Ein Oberst spürt nach vielen Jahren den gesuchten Terroristen in der Wohnung über der Ballettschule jener Tänzerin auf, in die er verliebt ist, und muss erfahren, dass sie selbst Anhängerin der Bewegung ist.
Auch in seinen späteren Werken blieb Shakespeare bei seiner journalistisch geschulten Darstellungsweise, die sich durch Detailreichtum, Sachkenntnis, souveräne S pr achgestaltung und Einfühlungsvermögen auszeichnet. Bekanntheit erlangte er insbesondere mit der Biografie über den Schriftsteller Bruce Chatwin. Ohne ihn zu verklären, widmete ihm Shakespeare ein pr ofundes Porträt, für das er acht Jahre lang recherchierte. 2004 legte er mit »In Tasmania« (dt. »In Tasmanien«, 2005) eine Beschreibung der südaustralischen Insel vor, die landeskundliche Entdeckungsreisen wie bei Chatwin als literarisches Erlebnis inszenieren. Persönliche Erlebnisse und die eigene Familiengeschichte bieten Anknüpfungspunkte für ein Geflecht von Fakten, Anekdoten, Berichten und Geschichten, die eine umfassende Annäherung an die Insel ermöglichen.
Auch Shakespeares neuester Roman spielt in Tasmanien. »Secrets of the Sea« (2007; dt. »Sturm«, 2007) erzählt von jungen Eheleuten, deren fragiles Glück auf die Probe gestellt wird, als ihnen ein Gewitter einen Fremden ins Haus trägt. Shakespeare selbst hat inzwischen einen Wohnsitz im tasmanischen Swansea. Er lebt außerdem in Wiltshire, England. Zu seinen zahlreichen Auszeichnungen gehören der Somerset Maugham Award, der Betty Trask Award, der American Library Association Award und der Tasmania Book Prize. Seit 1999 ist Shakespeare Fellow der Royal Society of Literature.