23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jean-Claude Mourlevat

Jean-Claude Mourlevat was born in 1952 in the Auvergne and studied in Strasbourg, Toulouse, Stuttgart, Bonn and Paris. Initially, he worked as a teacher in France and Germany, at the same time as training in drama.  He performed over 1200 times with his Solo-Programs »Anatole« (1987) and »Guedoule« (1990).  In the following years he dedicated himself to theatre, particularly as an actor, a clown and a mime artist.  Mourlevat abandoned his school profession in 1990 in order to stage the dramas of Brecht, Cocteau and Shakespeare.  In 1997 he began to write for children and adolescents and published his first book »Le Balafre« (1998; Engl: The Facial Scar).  Since then, he has published short stories, narratives and novels, which have been received enthusiastically by critics and readers.

Mourlevat’s texts address the intelligence of the heart and the soul. His stories circle around leavetaking, departure and being on the road: »To die for something to be reborn for something else.  To say goodbye to those people, that disappear in the dark, and already to identify the silhouette of others who have given notice of their coming, and whom one will equally leave behind, one day.  Do we not feel such things most intensely in childhood and youth?«  With suspense, humour and a sense of the poetic, Mourlevat tells of children in the most unusual of circumstances and life situations.  Furthermore, he tells of the adventures of scurrilous animal figures as in »La ballade de Cornebique« (2003; Engl: The Ballad of Cornebique) in which a billy-goat plays the banjo and sings the blues. Courageous, fresh and dynamic, his characters set out on a journey into the land of imagination, where they must pass fairytale-like tests. However, Mourlevat never remains entirely in the colourful and imaginary world: the reality of daily life, loneliness, alienation, melancholy, violence and the painful aspects of life, similarly characterise the foundations of his stories.

Based on Perrault’s »Tom Thumb«, Mourlevat tells in »L’enfant Océan« (1999; Engl: »The Pull of the Ocean«, 2006) a modern fairy tale about seven brothers, who leave their parent’s house one night and flee to the sea in order to escape a terrible danger. Led by the youngest brother Yann, the brothers lose themselves in an increasingly surreal world.  The novel is made up of multiple voices, from the perspective of a social worker, who wants to help Yann, or a truck driver, who gives the siblings a ride on the way.  The work was awarded with the Prix Sorcières (2000).  In Mourlevat’s magical novel »La rivière à l’envers. Part I: Tomek« (2000; Engl: The River which Flows Backwards. Part I: Tomek), the thirteen year-old Tomek makes his way on the adventurous journey, in search of the water of the River Qjar, which supposedly makes one immortal. As in many of his works one finds in this story references to children’s book classics as well as to his own stories.

For Mourlevat translating literature is like »taking vacation from the own writing«. Thus he has translated diverse children’s and young people’s books from German; the latest of his translations being Michael Ende’s »Jim Knopf und Lukas der Lokomotivführer« (Engl: »Jim Button and Luke the Engine-Driver« and »Jim Knopf und die Wilde 13« (Engl: »Jim Button and the Wild 13«. He lives near Saint-Etienne with his wife and children.

© international literature festival berlin

Jean-Claude Mourlevat

Portrait Jean-Claude Mourlevat
© Hartwig Klappert

Jean-Claude Mourlevat wurde 1952 in der Auvergne, Frankreich, geboren und studierte in Straßburg, Toulouse, Stuttgart, Bonn und Paris. Zunächst arbeitete er als Lehrer in Frankreich und Deutschland und absolvierte nebenher eine Theaterausbildung. Mit seinen Solo-Programmen »Anatole« (1987) und »Guedoulde« (1990) trat er mehr als 1.200 Mal auf und widmete sich in den folgenden Jahren vor allem als Schauspieler, Clown und Pantomime dem Theater. 1990 verließ er den Schuldienst, um Dramen von Brecht, Cocteau und Shakespeare zu inszenieren. 1997 begann er, für Kinder und Jugendliche zu schreiben und legte mit »La Balafre« (1998; Ü: Die Gesichtsnarbe) sein erstes Buch vor. Seitdem hat er Kurzgeschichten, Erzählungen und Romane publiziert, die von Kritik und Lesern begeistert aufgenommen wurden.

Mourlevats Texte sprechen die Intelligenz des Herzens und der Seele an. Seine Geschichten kreisen um Aufbruch, Abschiednehmen und Unterwegssein: »Für etwas zu sterben, um für etwas anderes neu geboren zu werden. Jenen Menschen auf Wiedersehen zu sagen, die im Dunkel verschwinden und bereits die Silhouette von anderen zu erkennen, die sich ankündigen und die man ebenso verlassen wird, eines Tages. Ist nicht unsere Kindheit und Jugend jener Ort unseres Lebens, an dem sich all dieses am intensivsten sammelt?« Spannend, humorvoll und poetisch erzählt Mourlevat von Kindern in außergewöhnlichen Lebenssituationen und den Abenteuern skurriler Tierfiguren – wie in »La ballade de Cornebique« (2003; Ü: Die Ballade von Cornebique) über einen Ziegenbock, der Banjo spielt und Blues singt. Mutig, frisch und dynamisch machen sich seine Figuren auf, ins Land der Phantasie zu reisen und märchenhafte Prüfungen zu bestehen. Doch Mourlevat bleibt nie ausschließlich in der bunt imaginierten Welt: Der reale Lebensalltag, Einsamkeit, Melancholie, Gewalt und das Schmerzhafte des Lebens charakterisieren ebenso das Fundament seiner Geschichten.

Angelehnt an Perraults »Der kleine Däumling« erzählt Mourlevat in »L’enfant Océan« (1999; Ü: Das Ozeankind) ein modernes Märchen über sieben Brüder, die eines Nachts ihr Elternhaus verlassen, um vor einer furchtbaren Bedrohung zum Meer zu fliehen. Von ihrem kleinsten Bruder Yann geleitet, geraten die Brüder immer mehr in eine irreale Welt. Vielstimmig formiert sich der Roman aus der Perspektive einer Sozialarbeiterin, die Yann helfen will, oder eines Lastwagenfahrers, der die Geschwister ein Stück des Weges begleitet. Das Werk wurde mit dem Prix Sorcières (2000) ausgezeichnet. In Mourlevats bezauberndem Roman »La rivière à l’envers. Part I: Tomek« (2000; dt. »Tomek – Der Fluss, der rückwärts fließt«, 2007) macht sich der dreizehnjährige Tomek auf die abenteuerliche Suche nach dem Wasser des Flusses Qjar, das unsterblich machen soll. Wie in vielen seiner Werke finden sich auch hier Referenzen zu Kinderbuchklassikern und seinen eigenen Geschichten. Ebenfalls Anfang 2007 erschien in deutscher Sprache »Hannah«, der zweite Band aus der Reihe »Der Fluss, der rückwärts fließt«.

Wie »Ferien vom eigenen Schreiben« ist für Jean-Claude Mourlevat das literarische Übersetzen. So übertrug er verschiedene Kinder- und Jugendbücher aus dem Deutschen, u.a. Michael Endes »Jim Knopf und Lukas, der Lokomotivführer« sowie »Jim Knopf und die Wilde 13«. Er lebt mit seiner Ehefrau und zwei Kindern in der Nähe von Saint-Etienne.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin