22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Adolf Muschg

Adolf Muschg was born in Zollikon in the canton of Zurich in 1934. He studied German, English, and psychology at the University of Zurich and in Cambridge and completed a doctorate on Ernst Barlach. Together with Peter Bichsel, Friedrich Dürrenmatt, and Max Frisch, he was one of the secessionists who founded the Olten Group in 1969 after leaving the Swiss Writers’ Union. After guest lectureships in Japan and the USA, he was Professor of German Language and Literature at the ETH Zurich between 1970 and 1999. In 1997, he became the first director of the Collegium Helveticum at the Semper Observatory.
His first novel, »Im Sommer des Hasen« (tr: In the Summer of the Rabbit), was published in 1965, which was followed by numerous stories, plays, radio plays, screenplays, and novels such as »Sutters Glück« (2001; tr: Sutter’s Luck), »Eikan, du bist spät« (2005; tr: Eikan, You’re Late), and »Kinderhochzeit« (2008; tr: Kids Wedding). His texts often tell of searchers and stumblers and explore the question of how a person might free oneself from the influences of origin, society, and family. »Der Rote Ritter. Eine Geschichte von Parzivâl« (1993; tr: The Red Knight: The Story of Parzival) is a new interpretation of the verse novel by Wolfram von Eschenbach and is considered Adolf Muschg’s main literary work. The reference to the present is established, as so often in his works, through the narrative of a historical material. Another central theme of his literary œuvre is the exploration of foreign lands, in Muschg’s case quite specifically the mysteries of Japan, which he traveled to and explored throughout his life. With his political essays »Wenn Auschwitz in der Schweiz liegt« (1997; tr: When Auschwitz is in Switzerland) and »Was ist europäisch? Reden für einen gastlichen Erdteil« (2005; tr: What is European? Speeches for a Hospitable Continent), he took a stand on Switzerland’s coming to terms with the past and its everyday politics, thus showing himself to be involved in European political discourse. His novel »Heimkehr nach Fukushima« (2018; tr: Return to Fukushima), in which he addresses the complicated relationship between Europe and Japan and the problem of nuclear energy, also bears witness to this. Most recently, he published the novel »Aberleben« (2021). The novel follows the story of a writer suffering from cancer who leaves his marriage and Switzerland at the age of seventy to write a new book in Berlin in which he gives new life to a character he let die in the previous work.
Muschg has been honoured with numerous awards, including the Hermann Hesse Prize, the Georg Büchner Prize, the Gottfried Keller Prize, the Grimmelshausen Prize, and the Grand Prix de Littérature of Switzerland for his life’s work. He is a member of the Academy of Arts in Berlin, of which he was president from 2003 to 2006, the Academy of Sciences and Literature in Mainz, and the German Academy for Language and Poetry in Darmstadt, among others. Adolf Muschg lives near Zurich.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Adolf Muschg

Adolf Muschg wurde 1934 in Zollikon im Kanton Zürich geboren. Er studierte Germanistik, Anglistik und Psychologie an der Universität Zürich und in Cambridge und promovierte über Ernst Barlach. Zusammen mit Peter Bichsel, Friedrich Dürrenmatt und Max Frisch gehörte er 1969 zu den Sezessionisten, die nach ihrem Austritt aus dem Schweizer Schriftstellerverband die Gruppe Olten gründeten. Nach Gastdozenturen in Japan und den USA war er zwischen 1970 und 1999 Professor für Deutsche Sprache und Literatur an der ETH Zürich. 1997 wurde er der erste Leiter des Collegium Helveticum in der Semper-Sternwarte.
1965 erschien sein erster Roman »Im Sommer des Hasen«, dem zahlreiche Erzählungen, Theaterstücke, Hörspiele, Drehbücher und Romane wie »Sutters Glück« (2001), »Eikan, du bist spät« (2005) und »Kinderhochzeit« (2008) folgten. Oft erzählen seine Texte von Suchenden und Strauchelnden und gehen der Frage nach, wie ein Mensch sich aus seinen Prägungen der Herkunft, Gesellschaft und Familie befreien kann. »Der Rote Ritter. Eine Geschichte von Parzivâl« (1993) ist eine Neuinterpretation des Versromans von Wolfram von Eschenbach und gilt als literarisches Hauptwerk von Adolf Muschg. Der Bezug zur Gegenwart wird, wie so oft in seinen Werken, über das Narrativ eines historischen Stoffs hergestellt. Ein weiteres zentrales Thema seines literarischen Œuvres ist die Erforschung der Fremde, bei Muschg ganz konkret das unbekannte Japan, das er zeitlebens bereist und erforscht hat. Mit seinen politischen Essays »Wenn Auschwitz in der Schweiz liegt« (1997) und »Was ist europäisch? Reden für einen gastlichen Erdteil« (2005) bezog er Stellung zur Vergangenheitsbewältigung in der Schweiz und deren Alltagspolitik und zeigte sich damit als Beteiligter am politischen Diskurs Europas. Davon zeugt auch sein Roman »Heimkehr nach Fukushima« (2018), in dem er das komplizierte Verhältnis zwischen Europa und Japan und die Problematik der Atomenergie thematisiert. Zuletzt erschien »Aberleben« (2021), ein Roman über einen an Krebs erkrankten Schriftsteller, der mit siebzig Jahren seine Ehe und die Schweiz verlässt, um in Berlin ein neues Buch zu schreiben und einer Figur, die er im Vorgängerwerk sterben ließ, zu neuem Leben zu verhelfen.
Muschg wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen geehrt, darunter dem Hermann-Hesse-Preis, dem Georg-Büchner-Preis, dem Gottfried-Keller-Preis, dem Grimmelshausen-Preis sowie dem Grand Prix de Littérature der Schweiz für sein Lebenswerk. Er ist u. a. Mitglied der Akademie der Künste in Berlin, dessen Präsident er von 2003 bis 2006 war, der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur in Mainz sowie der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung in Darmstadt. Adolf Muschg lebt in der Nähe von Zürich.