The team of the international literature festival berlin

Katharina Gebhard

Katharina Gebhard, born in Ludwigsburg in 1995, is a working student at ilb. She studied European Ethnology and English at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and Applied Literary Studies at Freie Universität Berlin  – – with stays abroad in Seville and Copenhagen. As a student assistant,ete sie zuletzt für die Berlin Art Week und das Leibniz-Zentrum für Literatur– und Kulturforschung.

More

Tatjana Gridnev

Tatjana Gridnev, born in Russia, studied Cultural Studies and Cultural Management in Berlin. Since 2016, she leads the finance, cooperation and personnel department of the international literature festival berlin, international literature festival odesa as well as for the other projects of the Peter-Weiss-Stiftung für Kunst und Politik e.V.

More

Linus Gustafsson

Linus Gustafsson, born in Berlin in 2004, has been volunteering at the international literature festival berlin as part of an FSJ in culture since completing his A-levels. He supports both the programme department and the ilbDIGITAL programme.

Mehr

Matthias Kählert

Matthias Kählert, born in 1994 in Kassel, is a working student with the ilbDIGITAL programme. He completed his Bachelor of Education at the University of Potsdam in German, Philosophy and Religious Studies in 2019 and is studying Modern German Literature at the Freie Universität Berlin. Among other things, he is interested in the intertwining of literature and politics in public discourse. Since 2019, he has also been working at Freie Universität Berlin as a student assistant in the project »Anfechtungen des Leitbildes der multikulturellen Vielfalt« [Challenges to the Concept of Multicultural Diversity] of the Collaborative Research Centre 1171 Affective Societies.

Mehr

Nora Mengel

 Nora Mengel, born in Berlin, is head of the ilbDIGITAL programme and programme manager. She holds a PhD in Eastern European History from Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität [LMU] Munich, studied Eastern European Studies at LMU Munich and Cultural Studies at Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt [O .], Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and Lomonosov State University Moscow. She gained her first professional experience in intercultural communication and political development cooperation at the Goethe Institute in Minsk [Belarus] and at the Federal Foreign Office in Moscow as well as at the Deutsch-Russisches-Forum e.V. in Berlin. After numerous research stays in Vienna and Saint Petersburg, she completed her dissertation »Biograph(i)en of the Empire« – a comparison of imperial consciousness in the Habsburg and Russian Empires at the end of the 19th century – at the Institute for European History in Mainz, for which she was awarded the Research Prize of the Institute for Personal History in 2020.  

More

Andreas Peters

Andreas Peters, born in 1988 in Susanovo (Russia), is leading the logistics and hospitality department. He studied British & American Studies and Comparative Literature at the University of Bielefeld, the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and the University of Burgundy in Dijon. He worked for several years as an online editor for a wine start-up and in public relations and media analysis. Since 2022, he has been managing the Berlin music blog »nothing but hope and passion« on a voluntary basis. 

More

Charlotte Rauth

Charlotte Rauth, born in Bonn in 1991, is head of the publication projects Refugees Worldwide 3 – Reportages and Refugees Worldwide 4 in the program area. She studied German language and literature, cultural studies and business administration at the University of Mannheim (B.A.) and cultural mediation with a focus on literature at the Foundation University of Hildesheim (M.A.). In addition to subject-related stays abroad in Istanbul and Bangalore, during her master’s studies she co-coordinated, among other things, the pop-up exhibition Freedom Transmissions, funded by the German Foreign Office, in collaboration with the Berlin artists’ collective coculture e.V., and actively participated in the founding, conception, and coordination of the artist protection program Creative Haven Hildesheim. 

More

Christoph Rieger

Christoph Rieger, born in Potsdam in 1984, has headed the ilb section »International Children’s and Youth Literature« since 2011. He studied theater, film and media studies, sociology and psychology in Frankfurt am Main and Aberystwyth. In 2012, he initiated the annual ilb award »The Extraordinary Book«. From 2014 to 2017, he was a member of the Council for the Arts. Since 2015 he has curated the young program of the odessa international literature festival. 2016 to 2018 he was a member of the ZEIT lynx literary award. 2017 he directed the versfest berlin. 2022 he is a member of the special award jury of the german youth literature award.  

More

Ulrich Schreiber

Ulrich Schreiber, born in Solingen in 1951, is the festival director and program director of ilb. He studied philosophy, political science as well as Russian at the Freie Universität zu Berlin and passed the second state examination in 1984. In 1989 he founded the International Peter Weiss Society and in 2001 the international literature festival berlin [ilb]. Together with the Bernese cultural manager Hans Ruprecht, Ulrich Schreiber is the founder of the Odessa International Literature Festival, which was held in Ukraine for the first time in 2015. Schreiber was a member of the PEN Center Germany and is co-initiator of the PEN World Voices Festival, as well as co-founder of PEN Berlin. In 2015, Schreiber was named Chevalier des Ordre des Arts et des Lettres for his »contribution to the radiance of the arts and literature in France and in the world.« Publications include: »Die politische Theorie Antonio Gramscis«, Berlin 1980, 4th edition 1994, and various publications of the ilb.

More

Simone Schröder

Simone Schröder, born in Frankfurt am Main in 1986, is the director of the ilb’s evening programme. She studied General and Comparative Literature, Hispanic Studies and Political Science in Mainz. She then lived in London for several years and was awarded her PhD in 2017 from the University of Bath with a thesis on nature essayism. In 2019, her book »The Nature Essay: Ecocritical Explorations« was published by Brill/ Rodopi.  In addition to her work for the festival, she is a translator, editor of various anthologies and essayist. She has been awarded the Edit Essay Prize and the Essay Prize of Merkur magazine for her texts, among others, and was a scholarship holder of the LCB and the Jürgen Ponto Foundation. 

More

Manuel Wischnewski

Manuel Wischnewski, born in 1984, studied history, Political Science, English Studies and American Studies at the Universität Potsdam, and completed his Master in Early Modern History at the University of Manchester (UK). He was, among other things, Managing Editor of the art magazine BLAU International, Project Lead Social Media for the Berlinale as well as Project Lead Digital for the magazine KULTURAUSTAUSCH of the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen. As a freelance writer, he has written for WELT am SONNTAG and Berliner Zeitung, among others. For the communications agency Looping Group, he advised clients from the fields of business, health and culture until mid-2022.  

More

Das Team des internationalen literaturfestivals berlin

Katharina Gebhard

Katharina Gebhard, geboren 1995 in Ludwigsburg, ist Werkstudentin beim ilb. Sie hat Europäische Ethnologie und Englisch an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin sowie Angewandte Literaturwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin studiert – mit Auslandsaufenthalten in Sevilla und Kopenhagen. Als studentische Mitarbeiterin arbeitete sie zuletzt für die Berlin Art Week und das Leibniz-Zentrum für Literatur– und Kulturforschung.

Mehr

Tatjana Gridnev

Tatjana Gridnev, geboren in Russlandstudierte Kulturwissenschaft und Kulturmanagement in Berlin. Seit 2016 leitet sie die Abteilung Finanzen, Kooperationen und Personal des internationalen literaturfestivals berlin, des internationalen literaturfestivals odesa sowie für die weiteren Projekte der PeterWeissStiftung für Kunst und Politik e.V.

Mehr

Linus Gustafsson

Linus Gustafsson, geboren 2004 in Berlin, engagiert sich seit dem Abschluss seines Abiturs freiwillig im Rahmen eines FSJ Kultur beim internationalen literaturfestival berlin. Dort unterstützt er sowohl die Programmabteilung, als auch das ilbDIGITAL-Programm.

Mehr

Matthias Kählert

Matthias Kählert, geboren 1994 in Kassel, ist Werkstudent beim ilbDIGITAL-Programm. Er schloss 2019 seinen Bachelor of Education an der Universität Potsdam in den Fächern Deutsch, Philosophie und Religionskunde ab und studiert im Master Neuere deutsche Literatur an der Freien Universität Berlin. Dabei interssieren ihn unter anderem Verschränkungen von Literatur und Politik im öffentlichen Diskurs. An der Freien Universität Berlin arbeitet er seit 2019 auch als studentischer Mitarbeiter im Projekt »Anfechtungen des Leitbildes der multikulturellen Vielfalt« des Sonderforschungsbereiches 1171 Affective Societies.

Mehr

Dr. Nora Mengel

 Nora Mengel, geboren in Berlin, ist Leiterin des ilbDIGITAL-Programms und Programm-Managerin. Sie hat an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität [LMU] München in osteuropäischer Geschichte promoviert, studierte Osteuropastudien an der LMU München und Kulturwissenschaften an der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt [O.], der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Staatlichen Lomonossov Universität Moskau. Erste berufliche Erfahrungen in interkultureller Kommunikation und politischer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit sammelte sie am Goethe Institut in Minsk [Belarus] und im Auswärtigen Amt in Moskau sowie im Deutsch-Russischen-Forum e.V. in Berlin. Nach zahlreichen Forschungsaufenthalten in Wien und Sankt Petersburg stellte sie Ihre Dissertation „Biograph(i)en des Reichs“ – ein Vergleich des imperialen Bewusstseins im Habsburger und Russländischen Reich am Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts – am Institut für Europäische Geschichte in Mainz fertig, wofür sie 2020 mit dem Forschungspreis des Instituts für Personengeschichte ausgezeichnet wurde.  

Mehr

Andreas Peters

Andreas Peters, geboren 1988 in Susanowo [Russland] leitet den Bereich Logistik & Hospitality. Er hat British & American Studies und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Bielefeld, der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und der Universität von Burgund in Dijon studiert. Er arbeitete einige Jahre als Online-Redakteur für ein Wein-Startup und im Bereich Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Medienanalyse. Seit 2022 betreut er ehrenamtlich den Berliner Musikblog »nothing but hope and passion«. 

Mehr

Charlotte Rauth

Charlotte Rauth, geboren 1991 in Bonn, ist Leiterin der Publikationsprojekte Refugees Worldwide 3 – Reportagen und Refugees Worldwide 4 im Bereich Programm. Sie studierte Germanistik, Kulturwissenschaft und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Mannheim (B.A.) und Kulturvermittlung mit Schwerpunkt Literatur an der Stiftung Universität Hildesheim (M.A.). Neben fachbezogenen Auslandsaufenthalten in Istanbul und Bangalore ko-koordinierte sie während ihres Masterstudiums unter anderem die vom Auswärtigen Amt geförderte Pop-Up Ausstellung Freedom Transmissions in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Künstlerkollektiv coculture e.V. und wirkte aktiv bei der Gründung, Konzeption und Koordination des Künstlerschutzprogramms Creative Haven Hildesheim mit. 

Mehr

Christoph Rieger

Christoph Rieger, geboren 1984 in Potsdam, leitet seit 2011 die ilb-Sektion »Internationale Kinder- und Jugendliteratur«. Er studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaften, Soziologie und Psychologie in Frankfurt am Main und Aberystwyth. 2012 initiierte er die jährlich vergebene ilb-Auszeichnung »Das außergewöhnliche Buch«. 2014 bis 2017 war er Mitglied im Rat für die Künste. Seit 2015 kuratiert er das junge Programm des internationalen literaturfestivals odessa. 2016 bis 2018 war er Mitglied der Luchs-Literurpreises der ZEIT. 2017 leitete er das versfest berlin. 2022 ist er Mitglied der Sonderpreisjury des Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreises.  

Mehr

Ulrich Schreiber

Ulrich Schreiber, geboren 1951 in Solingen, ist der Festivaldirektor und Programmleiter des ilb. Er studierte Philosophie, Politikwissenschaften sowie Russisch an der Freien Universität Berlin und absolvierte 1984 das zweite Staatsexamen. 1989 gründete er die Internationale Peter Weiss-Gesellschaft und 2001 das internationale literaturfestival berlin [ilb]. Gemeinsam mit dem Berner Kulturmanager Hans Ruprecht ist Ulrich Schreiber Gründer des Internationalen Literaturfestivals Odessa, das 2015 zum ersten Mal in der Ukraine stattfand. Schreiber war Mitglied des PEN-Zentrums Deutschland und ist  Mitinitiator des PEN World Voices Festival, sowie Mitgründer des PEN Berlins. 2015 wurde Schreiber für seinen »Beitrag zur Ausstrahlung der Künste und der Literatur in Frankreich und in der Welt« zum Chevalier des Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt. Publikation u.a.: »Die politische Theorie Antonio Gramscis«, Berlin 1980, 4. Auflage 1994 und Herausgeber von Publikationen des ilb.

Mehr

Dr. Simone Schröder

Simone Schröder 1986 geboren in Frankfurt am Main, ist Leiterin des Abendprogramms des ilb. Sie hat in Mainz Allgemeine und vergleichende Literaturwissenschaften, Hispanistik und Politikwissenschaften studiert. Anschließend lebte sie mehrere Jahre in London und wurde 2017 an der University of Bath mit einer Arbeit über Naturessayistik promoviert. 2019 ist bei Brill/ Rodopi ihr Buch »The Nature Essay: Ecocritical Explorations« erschienen.  Neben ihrer Arbeit für das Festival ist sie Übersetzerin, Herausgeberin verschiedener Anthologien und Essayistin. Für ihre Texte wurde sie u.a. mit dem Edit Essaypreis und dem Essaypreis der Zeitschrift Merkur ausgezeichnet und war Stipendiatin des LCB und der Jürgen-Ponto-Stiftung. 

Mehr

Manuel Wischnewski

Manuel Wischnewski, geboren 1984, ist Leiter der Abteilung Presse und Kommunikation des ilb. Er studierte Geschichte, Politikwissenschaft sowie Anglistik und Amerikanistik an der Universität Potsdam und hat seinen Master in Early Modern History an der University of Manchester abgeschlossen. Er war unter anderem Chef vom Dienst des Kunstmagazins BLAU International, Projektleitung Social Media für die Berlinale sowie Projektleiter Digital für die Zeitschrift KULTURAUSTAUSCH des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen. Als freier Autor schrieb er u.a. für die WELT am SONNTAG und die Berliner Zeitung. Für die Kommunikationsagentur Looping Group beriet er bis Mitte 2022 Kunden aus den Bereichen Wirtschaft, Gesundheit und Kultur.  

Mehr