22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Specials

Rebecca Rukeyser, Pilar Quintana und Bruno Duhamel
Rebecca Rukeyser, Pilar Quintana und Bruno Duhamel [© Rebecca Rukeyser / Janine Kuehn, Manuela Uribe, I. Sivan]

Every year is different, every year is special. The ilb presents projects and events on selected special topics, covering a broad range of issues.
This year:

Echo. Echo: Postsoviet Cosmopolis

Words of Love and Hate II

Not Dead But Dreaming: Contemporary Arabic Literature

12th Graphic Novel Day

Literature Behind Bars

Landpartie

Echo. Echo: Postsoviet Cosmopolis

The special »Echo. Echo: Postsoviet Cosmopolis« is dedicated to the aesthetics and discourse of post-Soviet literature. Since the collapse of the Soviet Union in the early 1990s, a new literature has emerged that develops across borders in transnational contexts and at the same time is rooted in history. What legacy has Soviet cultural and linguistic policy left behind? How does this literature engage with capitalist and socialist values? What role does multilingual literature and translingual poetics play in the context of the post-Soviet literary space? How do authors respond in their texts to past forms of domination and what new utopias do they create? And how do they react to the recent Russian war of aggression in Ukraine? Beyond the shadow of a still-lingering Cold War interpretation, which forces the multiformity of post-Soviet cultures under one umbrella, a new post-Soviet cosmopolitanism is looking for alternative narratives. It finds community between languages and freedom in new political orders.

The series »Echo. Echo« is a cooperation between the Cluster of Excellence »Temporal Communities: Doing Literature in a Global Perspective« at Freie Universität Berlin and the international literature festival berlin [ilb].

Words of Love and Hate II

Misogyny, abuse, and the lack of respect for women – traces of these can be found in almost all areas of life. Misogynistic violence is also a recurring theme in artistic production as well as in contemporary feminist literature. In reportages, autobiographical essays, manifestos, and novels, authors talk about femicide, motherhood, solidarity among women, utopian gender relations, and the possibilities of community. Misandry – deep-rooted hostility towards men – is one of the reactions to misogyny, but certainly not the only one. In the context of the 22nd ilb, we continue our series of events on the complex of misogyny, which we started in 2021. Causes as well as possibilities of resistance and empowerment will be highlighted.

Among others, the authors Bernardine Evaristo, Monika Fagerholm, Burcu Karakaş, Nazli Karabiyikoglu, Jennifer Makumbi, Pilar Quintana, Antje Rávik Strubel, Nicole Seifert, and Julia Weber will take part in this series.

The event series is sponsored by the Foundation Women in Europe / TuWas Foundation for Solidarity.

Not Dead But Dreaming: Contemporary Arabic Literature

Was the revolution only a dream? Ten years after the end of the 2012 Arab Spring, the 22nd ilb will focus on contemporary Arabic literature. It is about the speculative power of dreaming, about the possibilities of writing about traumatic experiences and the diversity of perspectives on and from the Arab world: from experimental prose, Islamic imagery, and the ghosts of late capitalism to feminist perspectives on flight and return.

12th Graphic Novel Day

Image meets text. Since 2011, the Graphic Novel Day annually presents a selection of the most exciting new comic releases. On September 10 and 11, 2022, in cooperation with EUNIC, a two-day program with eight comic artists will take place at silent green Kulturquartier. They are going to talk with curator Lilian Pithan about the art of comics, read from their works, and present slideshows.

With Max Baitinger, Bruno Duhamel, Anneli Furmark, Everett Glenn, Matthias Gnehm, Ana Penyas, Max de Radiguès and Maki Shimizu.

Literature Behind Bars

Internationally renowned ilb guests have been voluntarily going behind bars during the festival since 2002. They read in various correctional facilities in the city and engage in conversation with the inmates. The events are not open to the public.

Landpartie

Alaska reading and birdwatching in Brandenburg.
With Rebecca Rukeyser, Nell Zink and the NABU.

Together with friends, the writer Lola Randl has transformed a train station in Brandenburg into a cultural venue. The ilb will be there on September 17, 2022 for a reading and bird-watching stroll for one afternoon.

4 p.m.: Bird-watching stroll with writers and amateur ornithologists Rebecca Rukeyser and Nell Zink and NABU [Naturschutzbund Deutschland] e.V. Annually, NABU holds an election for »Bird of the Year« to draw attention to endangered species and habitats. From September 2 – October 27, everyone can cast their vote at www.vogeldesjahres.de. Bird expert Martin Rümmler explains which birds there are to discover in Brandenburg.

6 p.m.: Rebecca Rukeyser’s »The Seaplane on Final Approach« is about a young woman who finds herself in a lodge in Alaska for a temporary job. Away from the usual tourist attractions, she seeks new experiences. »An age-old story – puppy love meets jaded lust to dance their death spiral inside a young woman’s head-told with the shameless authenticity of 2022. I ate it up«, says Nell Zink. She talks with Rukeyser about her debut novel.

There is a direct connection from Gesundbrunnen station to Wilmersdorf [b. Angermünde]. To participate in the birding walk and reading, we recommend arriving at 3:41 p.m. Those wishing to come for the reading only should arrive at 5:41 p.m.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Specials

Rebecca Rukeyser, Pilar Quintana und Bruno Duhamel
Rebecca Rukeyser, Pilar Quintana und Bruno Duhamel [© Rebecca Rukeyser / Janine Kuehn, Manuela Uribe, I. Sivan]

Jedes Jahr anders, jedes Jahr special. Das ilb präsentiert Projekte und Veranstaltungen zu ausgewählten Sonderthemen.
Dieses Jahr:

Echo. Echo: Postsoviet Cosmopolis

Words of Love and Hate II: Frauenhass vs. Female Empowerment

Not Dead But Dreaming: Arabische Gegenwartsliteratur

12. Graphic Novel Day

Literatur hinter Gittern

Landpartie

Echo. Echo: Postsoviet Cosmopolis

Das Special »Echo. Echo: Postsoviet Cosmopolis« ist Ästhetiken und Diskursen postsowjetischer Literaturen gewidmet. Seit dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion in den frühen 1990er Jahren ist eine neue Literatur entstanden, die sich grenzüberschreitend in transnationalen Kontexten entwickelt und zugleich historisch verwurzelt ist. Welches Erbe hat die sowjetische Kultur- und Sprachpolitik hinterlassen? Wie setzt sich diese Literatur mit kapitalistischen und sozialistischen Werten auseinander? Welche Rolle spielen mehrsprachige Literaturen sowie translinguale Poetiken im Zusammenhang mit dem postsowjetischen literarischen Raum? Wie antworten Autor:innen in ihren Texten auf vergangene Herrschaftsformen und welche neuen Utopien entwerfen sie? Und wie reagieren sie jüngst auf den russischen Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine? Jenseits des langen Schattens eines nach wie vor präsenten Kalter Krieg-Interpretationsschemas, das die Vielgestaltigkeit postsowjetischer Kulturen unter einen Begriff zwingt, sucht ein neuer postsowjetischer Kosmopolitismus nach anderen Erzählungen. Er findet Gemeinschaft zwischen den Sprachen und Freiheit in neuen politischen Ordnungen.

Die Reihe »Echo. Echo« ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Exzellenzcluster »Temporal Communities: Doing Literature in a Global Perspective« der Freien Universität Berlin und dem internationalen literaturfestival berlin [ilb].

Words of Love and Hate II: Frauenhass vs. Female Empowerment

Misogynie, Missbrauch und Missachtung von Frauen – Spuren davon finden sich in fast allen Lebensbereichen. Misogyne Gewalt ist zudem wiederkehrendes Thema künstlerischer Produktion – auch in der feministischen Gegenwartsliteratur. In Reportagen, autobiografischen Essays, Manifesten und Romanen erzählen Autor:innen von Femiziden, Mutterschaft, Solidarität unter Frauen, utopischen Geschlechterverhältnissen und Möglichkeiten von Gemeinschaft. Misandrie – tief verwurzelte Männerfeindlichkeit – ist eine der Reaktionen auf Misogynie, aber sicher nicht die einzige. Im Rahmen des 22. ilb setzen wir unsere 2021 begonnene Veranstaltungsreihe zum Komplex Misogynie fort. Dabei werden Ursachen sowie Möglichkeiten des Widerstands und Empowerments aufgezeigt.

U.a. mit den Autor:innen Bernardine Evaristo, Monika Fagerholm, Burcu Karakaş, Nazli Karabiyikoglu, Jennifer Makumbi, Pilar Quintana, Antje Rávik Strubel, Nicole Seifert, Julia Weber.

Die Veranstaltungsreihe wird gefördert durch die Stiftung Frauen in Europa / TuWas-Stiftung für Gemeinsinn.

Not Dead But Dreaming: Arabische Gegenwartsliteratur

War die Revolution nur ein Traum? Zehn Jahre nach dem Ende des arabischen Frühlings im Jahr 2012 widmet das 22. ilb der arabischen Gegenwartsliteratur einen Fokus. Es geht um die spekulative Kraft des Träumens, um Möglichkeiten, schreibend traumatische Erfahrungen zu thematisieren und die Vielfalt der Perspektiven auf die und aus der arabischen Welt: von experimenteller Prosa, islamischen Bildwelten und den Gespenstern des Spätkapitalismus bis zu feministischen Perspektiven auf Flucht und Rückkehr.

12. Graphic Novel Day

Bild trifft Text. Seit 2011 stellt der Graphic Novel Day jährlich eine Auswahl der spannendsten Comic-Neuerscheinungen vor. Am 10. und 11. September 2022 findet in Kooperation mit EUNIC im silent green Kulturquartier ein zweitägiges Programm mit 8 Comic-Künstler:innen statt. Sie unterhalten sich mit Kuratorin Lilian Pithan über die Kunst des Comics, lesen aus ihren Werken und zeigen Slideshows.

Mit Max Baitinger, Bruno Duhamel, Anneli Furmark, Everett Glenn, Matthias Gnehm, Ana Penyas, Max de Radiguès und Maki Shimizu.

Literatur hinter Gittern

International renommierte Gäste des ilb begeben sich seit 2002 während des Festivals freiwillig hinter Gitter. In verschiedenen Justizvollzugsanstalten der Stadt lesen sie und kommen mit den Inhaftierten ins Gespräch. Die Veranstaltungen sind nicht öffentlich.

Landpartie

Alaska-Lesung und Birdwatching in Brandenburg.
Mit Rebecca Rukeyser, Nell Zink und dem NABU.

Die Schriftstellerin Lola Randl hat zusammen mit Freund:innen einen Bahnhof in Brandenburg als Kulturort ins Leben gerufen. Das ilb ist dort am 17. September 2022 für Lesung und Vogelspaziergang für einen Nachmittag zu Gast.

16 Uhr: Vogelspaziergang mit den Schriftstellerinnen und Hobby-Ornithologinnen Rebecca Rukeyser und Nell Zink sowie dem NABU [Naturschutzbund Deutschland] e.V. Jährlich ruft der NABU zur Wahl des »Vogel des Jahres« auf, um auf gefährdete Arten und Lebensräume aufmerksam zu machen. Vom 2. September – 27. Oktober können alle ihre Stimme abgeben auf www.vogeldesjahres.de. Welche Vögel es in Brandenburg zu entdecken gibt, erklärt Vogelexperte Martin Rümmler.

18 Uhr: Rebecca Rukeysers »The Seaplane on Final Approach« handelt von einer jungen Frau, die es für einen Aushilfsjob in eine Lodge in Alaska verschlagen hat. Abseits von den üblichen Touristenabenteuern sucht sie nach neuen Erfahrungen. »Die alte Geschichte – Welpenliebe trifft auf verblassende Lust und treibt ihre Todesspirale in den Kopf einer jungen Frau – wird hier mit der schamlosen Authentizität von 2022 erzählt.« – urteilte Nell Zink. Sie spricht mit Rukeyser über ihren Debütroman.

Vom Bahnhof Gesundbrunnen besteht eine direkte Verbindung nach Wilmersdorf [b. Angermünde]. Für die Teilnahme am Vogelbeobachtungsspaziergang und Lesung empfehlen wir die Ankunft um 15:41 Uhr. Wer nur zur Lesung kommen möchte, sollte um 17:41 Uhr eintreffen.