Zhai Yongming

Zhai Yongming, born in Chengdu, Sichuan in 1955, has been awarded the Pamir International Poetry Prize as the best literary voice in the People’s Republic of China. She has also emerged as an essayist and art critic, and besides was named one of the fifty most beautiful women in by the press in 2005. Yet it is her poetry which laid the groundwork for her international recognition.

Her work is characterised by model development. It begins in 1983 with the private publication of the cycle »Women«, which, in its darkness, still remains within the tradtion of the Misty Poets, but at the same time heralds a new feminist and poetic discourse.

Her stay in New York in the nineties marks a poetic break with the past as well as a fresh start. Zhai began writing longer poems, whose narrative structures opened them up. They no longer dealt with one woman’s own suffering, but rather with the historical, universal suffering common to all women.

The second major shift in Zhai’s work followed on from her stay in Berlin in 2000, made possible by the German Academic Exchange Service. Her poems became laconic. Man per se remained a topic of critique, but her former tenacity came to an end: her work became more focused on universal social themes that affect as well as Europe.

Owing to the complexity of her texts, few of them have been translated to date. The one comparatively representative translation of her poems into a European language is the selection »Kaffeehauslieder« (t: Coffeehouse songs), translated into German in 2004. The translator Wolfgang Kubin has been following her career critically for a long time.

Zhai Yongming continues to live as a freelance writer in Chengdu. She runs an artists’ bar called »White Nights«, whose artistic ambiance has put it on the map.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Zhai Yongming

Ihr poetisches Werk zeichnet eine beispielhafte Entwicklung aus. Es beginnt 1983 mit der privaten Publikation des Zyklus »Frauen«, der mit seiner Dunkelheit noch ganz in der Nachfolge der Hermetischen Schule steht, aber gleichwohl schon Anzeichen eines neuen feministischen und poetischen Diskurses zu erkennen gibt.

Der Aufenthalt in New York Anfang der neunziger Jahre bedeutete zwar einen poetischen Bruch mit der Vergangenheit, doch auch einen Neuanfang. Zhai begann nun, Langgedichte zu schreiben, die aufgrund ihres narrativen Charakters offener wirken. Es ging nun auch nicht mehr um das persönliche Leid der Frau, sondern um das historische, das allgemeine Leid, das alle Frauen mit einander teilen.

Ein vom DAAD ermöglichter Aufenthalt in Berlin im Jahr 2000 stellte eine weitere Zäsur dar. Zhais Gedichte wurden nun lakonisch. Der Mann als solcher mochte zwar weiter Gegenstand ihrer Kritik sein, doch die einstige Verbissenheit hatte ein Ende: Es ging nun vielmehr um allgemein-gesellschaftliche Dinge, die China wie Europa gleichermaßen betreffen.

Aufgrund der Komplexität ihrer Texte gibt es bislang nur wenige Übersetzungen. Eine vergleichsweise repräsentative Übertragung des Werkes in eine europäische Sprache liegt nur mit den »Kaffeehausliedern« (2004) auf Deutsch vor. Ihr langjähriger Übersetzer und der literaturwissenschaftliche Begleiter ihres Werkes ist Wolfgang Kubin.

Zhai Yongming lebt heute weiterhin als freie Schriftstellerin in Chengdu. Sie betreibt auch eine Künstler-Bar namens »Weiße Nächte«, die eine gewisse Berühmtheit erlangt hat.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin