23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Zadie Smith

Zadie Smith was born in London in 1975 and studied English literature at King’s College, Cambridge.

Her international breakthrough as a writer came with her debut novel »White Teeth« [2000]. The novel follows Englishman Archibald and the Bangladeshi Samad, who were once comrades in World War II. When they meet again in London thirty years later, their friendship picks up where it left off. Numerous minor characters inhabit the lively and humorous novel, whose themes range from marital problems to religious fanaticism and in which various immigrant groups as well as the English middle class are examined. »›White Teeth‹ is a light-hearted, fun-loving and above all: lovingly crafted literature«, declared the »WELT«. A number of other novels followed, including »On Beauty« [2005], which was nominated for the Booker Prize and was awarded the Orange Prize. The book tells the story of Howard Belsey, a liberal university lecturer who lives with his family in New England. He has only one enemy: Monty Kipps, also a university professor. Howard’s son falls in love with Kipps’ daughter, of all people. This is how the turbulent social comedy begins.

Since the beginning of her career, Zadie Smith has also been known to write essays, in which she shows herself to be an astute observer of current events. The most recently published anthology is »Intimations« [2020] and includes six short essays from the first months of the Covid-19 lockdown, in which Zadie Smith reflects on this hitherto unknown situation and explores the questions that arise from it. Topics include the relationship between time and work, the importance of others in isolation, and the issue of contempt and compassion in times of crisis. The »Guardian« has described Smith by saying that she »is a wonderful essayist; she’s a natural. She writes as she thinks, and she thinks crisply and exactly.« Zadie Smith’s first collection of stories, »Grand Union« [2019], was published in German translation in 2021. As different as the nineteen stories collected in it are, they are all characterized, like in her previous work, by a fondness for the absurd and an idiosyncratic sense of humor.

For her complete works, Zadie Smith received the »WELT« Literature Prize in 2016 and the Austrian State Prize for European Literature in 2018. She is a professor of creative writing at New York University and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The author lives in London.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Zadie Smith

Portrait Zadie Smith
Zadie Smith [© Dominique Nabokov]

Zadie Smith wurde 1975 in London geboren. Sie studierte Englische Literatur am King’s College, Cambridge.

Bereits mit ihrem Debütroman »White Teeth« [2000; dt. »Zähne zeigen«, 2001] gelang ihr der internationale Durchbruch als Schriftstellerin. Der Engländer Archibald und der aus Bangladesch stammende Samad waren einst Kameraden im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Als sie sich dreißig Jahre später in London wiedertreffen, knüpfen sie an ihre Freundschaft an. Zahlreiche Nebenfiguren bevölkern den lebendig und humorvoll geschriebenen Roman, dessen Themen von Eheproblemen bin hin zu religiösem Fanatismus reichen und in dem verschiedene Einwanderergruppen ebenso wie die englische Mittelschicht aufs Korn genommen werden. »›Zähne zeigen‹ ist leichtfüßige, lebenslustige und vor allem: liebevoll gestaltete Literatur«, urteilte die »WELT«. Es folgten weitere Romane, darunter »On Beauty« [2005; dt. »Von der Schönheit«, 2006], der für den Booker Prize nominiert und mit dem Orange Prize ausgezeichnet wurde. Howard Belsey, liberaler Hochschuldozent, lebt mit seiner Familie in Neuengland. Er hat nur einen Feind: Monty Kipps, ebenfalls Uniprofessor. Und ausgerechnet in dessen Tochter verliebt sich Howards Sohn. So nimmt eine turbulente Gesellschaftskomödie ihren Anfang.

Zadie Smith tritt seit Beginn ihrer Karriere auch als Autorin von Essays in Erscheinung, in denen sie sich als scharfsinnige Beobachterin des Zeitgeschehens zeigt. Als Sammelband zuletzt erschienen ist »Intimations« [2020; dt. »Betrachtungen«, 2020] mit sechs kurzen Essays aus den ersten Monaten des Corona-Lockdowns, in denen Zadie Smith über diese bislang unbekannte Situation nachdenkt und den Fragen nachgeht, die sich daraus ergeben. Themen sind u. a. das Verhältnis von Zeit und Arbeit, die Bedeutung anderer Menschen in der Isolation und Verachtung und Mitgefühl in der Krise. »Smith ist eine wunderbare Essayistin; sie ist ein Naturtalent. Sie schreibt, wie sie denkt, und sie denkt knackig und genau«, so der »Guardian«. Im Original bereits 2019 und in deutscher Übersetzung 2021 erschienen ist Zadie Smiths erster Erzählband »Grand Union«. So unterschiedlich die neunzehn darin versammelten Geschichten auch angelegt sind, zeichnen sie sich doch wie ihr bisheriges Werk durch einen Hang zum Absurden und einen eigenwilligen Humor aus.

Für ihr Gesamtwerk erhielt Zadie Smith 2016 den »WELT«-Literaturpreis und 2018 den Österreichischen Staatspreis für Europäische Literatur. Sie ist Professorin für Kreatives Schreiben an der New York University und Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Letters. Die Autorin lebt in London.

Stand: 2022