23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Yevgenia Belorusets

Portrait Yevgenia Belorusets
Yevgenia Belorusets [© Olga Tsybulska]

The photographer, artist, and writer Yevgenia Belorusets was born in Kyiv in 1980. She studied German at the Kyiv National Linguistic University from 1996—2002 and then studied Austrian literature and philosophy at the University of Vienna until 2005. She also earned a diploma in documentary photography from Viktor Marushchenko’s photography school in 2005/06.

The focus of her artistic work explores the interface between art, media, and society using video and photography. She has frequently participated in exhibitions that combine social criticism and engaged art. In 2010. she won the social photography competition organized by the British Royal Photographic Society together with »The Guardian«. The photograph depicted a housing project in the center of Kyiv, whose residents have been waiting for resettlement for over twenty years. Since August 2014, Belorusets has repeatedly traveled to the Donbass and photographed life on the frontline. In 2016, the Taras Shevchenko National Museum held an exhibition of her photographs entitled »Peremogi peremoshenikh« [tr: The Victories of the Defeated].

Belorusets founded the literary and art magazine »Prostory« in 2008 and has been a member of the Hudrada collective since 2009. Her book »Shchasliwi padinnja « [Eng. »Happy Failings«] was published in 2018. The book was awarded the International Literature Prize 2020 by the HKW Berlin. The book feeds on conversations and encounters that Belorusets has recorded in images and texts. The resulting portraits mainly showcase women living between Kyiv and the Donbass. Their everyday lives have been distorted by the presence of war, sometimes almost to an absurd, hyper-realistic level. In this way, the book provides insight into a society for which a state of emergency has become a reality. »Yevgenia Belorusets sticks almost hyperrealistically to details, operates with place names, street names and documentary material, but her stories seem like cruelly absurd fairy tales, like oppressive grotesques, sprung from a bad dream« [»NZZ«].

Belorusets is involved in several cultural and political initiatives, including the Association of Authors and Translators and the project »Labor and the Labor Movement in Ukraine«. She has received numerous prizes and scholarships for her work, including the Border Crossers Scholarship from the Robert Bosch Foundation and the Friedrich Ebert Foundation Scholarship for Artistic Research at the UdK Berlin. After living between in Berlin and Kyiv, she was in Kyiv from December 2021 to April 2022, where she witnessed the beginning of Russia’s war against Ukraine, which she reported on for rbb Kultur in self-recorded voice messages under the title »Nachrichten von Yevgenia« [tr: News from Yevgenia]. Her diary, in which she reported from the embattled capital, was published in 2022 under the title »Anfang des Krieges« [tr: Start of the War].

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Yevgenia Belorusets

Die Fotografin, Künstlerin und Schriftstellerin Yevgenia Belorusets wurde 1980 in Kiew geboren. Von 1996 bis 2002 studierte sie Germanistik an der Kiewer Linguistischen Universität und anschließend bis 2005 Österreichische Literatur und Philosophie an der Wiener Universität. An der Fotoschule von Viktor Marushchenko erwarb sie 2005/06 zudem ein Diplom in Dokumentarfotografie.

Im Mittelpunkt ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit steht die Erforschung der Schnittstellen von Kunst, Medien und Gesellschaft. Dazu bedient sie sich der Medien Video und Fotografie. Vielfach beteiligte sie sich an Ausstellungen, die Gesellschaftskritik und engagierte Kunst miteinander verbinden. 2010 gewann sie mit einem Foto des Notaufnahmegebäudes im Zentrum von Kiew, dessen Bewohner:innen seit über zwanzig Jahren auf eine Umsiedlung warten, den von der britischen Royal Photographic Society in Zusammenarbeit mit »The Guardian« ausgelobten Wettbewerb für soziale Fotografie. Seit August 2014 reiste Yevgenia Belorusets immer wieder in den Donbass und fotografierte den Alltag der Menschen in den Frontgebieten. Das Nationalmuseum Taras Shevchenko zeigte 2016 eine Ausstellung ihrer Fotografien mit dem Titel »Peremogi peremoshenikh« [Ü: Siege der Besiegten].

2008 gründete Yevgenia Belorusets die Literatur- und Kunstzeitschrift »Prostory«, seit 2009 ist sie Mitglied der Kuratorengruppe Hudrada. 2018 erschien ihr Buch »Shchasliwi padinnja«, [dt. »Glückliche Fälle«, 2019], das mit dem Internationalen Literaturpreis 2020 des HKW Berlin ausgezeichnet wurde. Das Buch speist sich aus Gesprächen und Begegnungen, die Yevgenia Belorusets in Bildern und Texten festgehalten hat. Entstanden sind Porträts, vorwiegend von Frauen, die in der Ukraine zwischen Kiew und dem Donbass leben. Ihr Alltag hat sich durch die Gegenwärtigkeit des Krieges verzerrt, manchmal fast bis auf eine absurde, hyperrealistische Ebene. Auf diese Weise gibt das Buch Einblicke in eine Gesellschaft, für die der Ausnahmezustand zur Realität geworden ist. »Yevgenia Belorusets hält sich fast hyperrealistisch an Einzelheiten, operiert mit Orts-, Straßennamen und dokumentarischem Material, doch wirken ihre Geschichten wie grausam-absurde Märchen, wie beklemmende Grotesken, einem bösen Traum entsprungen« [»NZZ«].

Yevgenia Belorusets engagiert sich in einer Reihe kultureller und politischer Initiativen, darunter im Verband der Autor:innen und Übersetzer:innen sowie in dem Projekt »Arbeit und Arbeiterbewegung in der Ukraine«. Für ihre Arbeiten erhielt sie zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, darunter das Grenzgänger-Stipendium der Robert-Bosch-Stiftung und das Stipendium für künstlerische Forschung der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung an der UdK Berlin. Nachdem sie jahrelang abwechselnd in Berlin und Kiew gelebt hatte, war sie von Dezember 2021 bis April 2022 in Kiew und erlebte dort den Beginn des Krieges Russlands gegen die Ukraine mit, von dem sie auf rbb Kultur in selbst aufgenommenen Sprachnachrichten unter dem Titel »Nachrichten von Yevgenia« berichtete. Ihr Tagebuch, in dem sie aus der umkämpften Hauptstadt berichtet, erschien 2022 unter dem Titel »Anfang des Krieges«.

Stand: 2022