Yann Kebbi

Portrait Yann Kebbi
© Sylvain Larnicol

Yann Kebbi was born in Paris in 1987 and studied illustration at the École Estienne and the Image Imprimée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris with an exchange year in New York at the Parsons School of Design. As an illustrator, Kebbi uses colored pencil to outline figures, buildings, streets, and more to create lively, often urban scenes. His motifs are primarily people, which tend to feature »guys«. Even if his drawings appear bright and cheerful at first glance, there is usually a deeper layer behind the surface, which gives the tangle of lines and colors a certain aura of sadness.

After numerous illustrations for publications by other authors, he published his first own book, »Americanin, un Chien à New York« (2012; Eng.: »Americanine: A Haute Dog in New York«, 2015). It is the story of a dog that meets his friends after a trip to New York and tells of his adventures. This offers children the opportunity to get to know this special city across the Atlantic through an amusing dog story. After an exhibition in the Chempaka Gallery in Brussels, the title »Howdy, dessins dʼAmerique« (tr: Howdy, Drawings of America) appeared in 2014. These pictures show Kebbi’s development over the years from his exploration of the possibilities of watercolors to the implementation of richly colored spaces. In »Monotypes« (2016), he uses monotype prints, a technique that was favored by French artists like Degas, Matisse and Picasso before him. He developed the graphic novel »La structure est pourrie, camarade« together with Viken Berberian in 2017, which also appeared in English in 2019 (»The Structure is Rotten, Comrade«) and in German in 2020 (»Marode Substanz, Kamerad!«). It tells the eccentric story of family disputes and inherited Soviet statues. The protagonist of the story is a young architect who moves from Paris to the Armenian capital of Yerevan, which is currently reinventing its urban landscape. However, the residents are outraged by the destruction, erasure of history, as well as the eviction of many people from their homes throughout the city. The architect is soon confronted with a revolution. Most recently, »Fondation Kebbi« (2019) was a large-format book that included reproductions of a series of twenty works of art, a collection of imaginary gallery spaces in which Yann Kebbi’s works are on display, and the presentation of various techniques: drawing, lithography, engraving or monotyping.

Kebbi has displayed his works in many group and solo exhibitions in Paris, Hong Kong, and Brussels. His works regularly appear in »Le Monde«, »Libération«, »The New Yorker«, »The Guardian«, »The Wall Street Journal«, and »The Washington Post«. He lives in Paris.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Yann Kebbi

Yann Kebbi wurde 1987 in Paris geboren und studierte Illustration an der École Estienne und der Image Imprimée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris mit einem Austauschjahr in New York an der Parsons School of Design. Als Zeichner umreißt Kebbi mit Farbstiftlinien Figuren, Gebäude, Straßen und anderes und fügt sie zu lebendigen, oft städtischen Szenen. Seine Motive sind hauptsächlich Menschen, er stellt bevorzugt »Typen« dar. Auch wenn seine Zeichnungen auf den ersten Blick hell und fröhlich wirken, verbirgt sich hinter der Oberfläche meist eine tiefere Schicht, die dem Gewirr von Linien und Farben eine gewisse Traurigkeit verleihen.

Nach zahlreichen Illustrationen für Publikationen anderer Autoren gab er mit »Americanin, un Chien à New York« (2012; Ü: Americanin, ein Hund in New York) sein erstes eigenes Buch heraus. Es ist die Geschichte eines Hundes, der nach einer Reise nach New York seine Freunde trifft und von seinen Abenteuern erzählt. Für Kinder bietet sich damit die Möglichkeit, im Verlauf einer amüsanten Hundegeschichte diese besondere Stadt jenseits des Atlantiks kennenzulernen. Nach einer Ausstellung in der Brüsseler Galerie Chempaka erschien 2014 der Titel »Howdy, dessins dʼAmerique« (Ü: Howdy, Zeichnungen von Amerika). In diesen Bildern zeigt sich die Entwicklung, die Kebbi in den Jahren zuvor genommen hat, die Erkundung der Möglichkeiten von Aquarellen, die Implementierung reicher Farbflächen. Für »Monotypes« (2016) verwendet er Monotypie-Drucke, eine Technik, die vor ihm u. a. gern von französischen Künstlern wie Degas, Matisse und Picasso verwendet wurde. 2017 entwickelte er zusammen mit Viken Berberian die Graphic Novel »La structure est pourrie, camarade«, die 2019 auch auf Englisch (»The Structure is Rotten, Comrade«) und 2020 auf Deutsch (»Marode Substanz, Kamerad!«) erschien. Erzählt wird eine exzentrische Geschichte über Familienstreitigkeiten und ererbte sowjetische Statuen. Der Protagonist der Geschichte ist ein junger Architekt, der aus Paris in die armenische Hautstadt Jerewan geht, die gerade dabei ist, ihre städtische Struktur neu zu erfinden. Die Bewohner sind jedoch empört über die Zerstörung der Stadt und die Auslöschung ihrer Geschichte sowie über die Aussiedlung vieler Menschen aus ihren Häusern. Der Architekt sieht sich bald mit einer Revolution konfrontiert. Zuletzt erschien mit »Fondation Kebbi« (2019) ein großformatiges Buch mit Reproduktionen einer Serie von zwanzig Kunstwerken, einer Sammlung imaginärer Galerieräume, in denen Yann Kebbis Kunstwerke ausgestellt sind und die verschiedene Techniken präsentieren: Zeichnung, Lithografie, Gravur oder Monotypie.

Kebbi zeigte seine Werke in vielen Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen in Paris, Hongkong und Brüssel. Seine Arbeiten erscheinen regelmäßig in »Le Monde«, »Libération«, »The New Yorker«, »The Guardian«, »The Wall Street Journal« und »The Washington Post«. Er lebt in Paris.