Wole Soyinka

Portrait Wole Soyinka

Wole Soyinka was born in Abeokuta, western Nigeria, in 1934. Following Literature and Drama Studies in Nigeria (Ibadan) and England (Leeds) he worked at the London Royal Court Theatre as an actor and dramatic advisor, where he also wrote his first plays. In 1960 he returned to Nigeria, where he undertook further drama studies, founded two acting troupes, directed two literary journals and taught at various universities. In 1967 he was accused of supporting the Biafran independence movement and was imprisoned without trial. The poetry collections »Poems from Prison« (1969) and his first autobiographical work »The Man Died« (1972) are concerned with the period that followed. Two years and four months later, he was freed in part owing to international protests. Since then he has been in exile twice, staying in Europe, USA and Ghana, with appointments as visiting professor in a number of universities. He also served as President of the International Theatre Institute in Paris, and later was the Woodruff Professor of Humanities at Emory University, Atlanta. During this period, in 1997 he was tried in absentia for high treason.

Ever since his early plays Soyinka has borne witness to the development of modern Africa and at the same time shaped his own vision of the human condition. In doing so he has positioned himself against uncritical embrace and romanticization of pre-colonial values and instead advocates a self-assured and creative advancement of African traditions. In his often satirical and ironic work, and with a passionate and challenging flow, Soyinka champions pluralism, democracy and social and political equality for Africa. The metaphorically rich and poetic myths of Yoruba are merged with those of Europe, combining Yoruba idioms of expression with the European and fusing literature with a political history of ideas.

In 1986 Soyinka was both the first black and the first African writer to win the Nobel Prize for Literature. In his later works – including essays and several autobiographical novels – he also focuses on global problems. In the BBC Reith Lecture series, published as »Climate of Fear« (2004) he confirms the political responsibility of citizens worldwide and condemns the major world religions as the most dangerous powers of the twenty-first century.

Soyinka has received multiple distinctions both in his native country and internationally. He has been awarded honorary doctorates by several universities – among them Leeds, Emory, Yale, Harvard, Montpellier, Toronto and Bayreuth – and is member of British, African, French and German literary associations, Commander of the Order of the Italian Republic and honorary citizen of New Orleans, Houston and Montpellier. Recently, in an article for »The Guardian«, he spoke out against the manipulation of the Nigerian elections in A pr il 2007. The author divides his time between Nigeria and the United States where he is currently a Senior Fellow of the Black Mountain Institute, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and Non-Resident Fellow of the DuBois Institute, Harvard University. He has also resumed his position at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria, as Emeritus Professor in Comparative Literature.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Wole Soyinka

Wole Soyinka wurde 1934 im westnigerianischen Abeokuta geboren. Nach Literatur- und Theaterwissenschaftsstudien in Nigeria (Ibadan) und England (Leeds) arbeitete er im Londoner Royal Court Theatre als Dramaturg und Schauspieler und schrieb seine ersten Dramen. 1960 kehrte er nach Nigeria zurück, wo er weitere Theaterstudien betrieb, zwei Schauspielgruppen gründete, zwei Literaturzeitschriften leitete und an verschiedenen Universitäten unterrichtete. 1967 wurde er der Unterstützung der Biafra-Unabhängigkeitsbewegung angeklagt und ohne Urteil inhaftiert. Die folgende Zeit thematisieren der Lyrikband »Poems from Prison« (1969; Ü: Gedichte aus dem Gefängnis) und sein erstes autobiografisches Werk »The Man Died« (1972; dt. »Der Mann ist tot«, 1979). Erst zwei Jahre und vier Monate später kam er frei, u.a. aufgrund internationaler Proteste. Seitdem lebte er zweimal für lange Perioden im Exil in Europa, den USA sowie in Ghana und war als Gastprofessor an verschiedenen Universitäten tätig. Er war Präsident am Internationalen Theaterinstitut in Paris und Woodruff-Professor an der Emory University in Atlanta. In dieser Zeit wurde er in Abwesenheit wegen Hochverrats verurteilt.
Seit seinen frühen Dramen begleitet Soyinka die Entwicklung des modernen Afrika und gestaltet gleichzeitig ein Bild der conditio humana. Dabei stellt er sich gegen eine unkritische und verklärende Rückbesinnung auf vorkoloniale Werte und tritt für eine selbstbewusste und kreative Weiterentwicklung afrikanischer Traditionen ein. Mit leidenschaftlichem und forderndem Duktus setzt er sich in seinem oft satirischen und ironischen Werk für Pluralismus, Demokratie und die soziale und politische Gleichberechtigung Afrikas ein. Er verbindet metaphernreich und poetisch Mythen der Yoruba mit denen Europas, vereint Idiome der Yoruba mit europäischen sowie Literatur mit politischer Ideengeschichte.
1986 wurde Soyinka als erster schwarzer und afrikanischer Schriftsteller mit dem Nobel pr eis für Literatur ausgezeichnet. In seinen späteren Werken – darunter Essays und mehrere autobiografische Romane – thematisiert Soyinka auch globale Probleme. In der Vortragsreihe »Climate of Fear« (2004; dt. »Klima der Angst«, 2005) bekräftigt er die politische Verantwortlichkeit des Bürgers weltweit und verurteilt die großen Weltreligionen als die gefährlichste Macht des 21. Jahrhunderts.
Soyinka wurde in seinem Heimatland und international vielfach ausgezeichnet. Er ist Ehrendoktor mehrerer Universitäten – darunter Leeds, Emory, Yale, Harvard, Montpellier, Toronto und Bayreuth –, Mitglied von britischen, afrikanischen, französischen und deutschen Literaturvereinigungen, Kommandeur des Verdienstordens der italienischen Republik und Ehrenbürger von New Orleans, Houston und Montpellier. Kürzlich wandte er sich in einem Artikel im »Guardian« gegen die manipulierten nigerianischen Wahlen im April 2007. Der Autor lebt in Nigeria und den USA, wo er derzeit als Senior Fellow am Black Mountain Institute der University of Nevada sowie als Non-Resident Fellow am DuBois Institute der Harvard University arbeitet. Darüber hinaus ist er Professor emeritus an der Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife, Nigeria, wo er die Professur für Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft innehatte.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin