Viktorija Tokarjewa

Victoria Tokarjeva was born in Leningrad in 1937.  At the age of 18 she was awarded a diploma as a pianist at the Leningrad college of music.  After marrying a physicist she moved to Moscow, where she worked as a piano teacher for three years.  She had started writing young and so enrolled to study screenplay writing at the Moscow film school to escape the life of a piano teacher.  She was awarded her diploma in 1968.  Amost twenty of her scripts have been filmed to date. Victoria Tokarjeva has twice won first prize at the Moscow international film festival for her screenplays, and in 1981 she was awarded first prize at the international documentary film festival.

She published her first short story ‘Den‘ bez vranja’ (Engl: One Day without a Lie) in the magazine ‘Molodaja gvardija’ in 1964 – shortly before Khrushchev’s resignation and the end of the thaw in Soviet politics – and was immediately successful.  She remained largely exempt from Soviet censorship despite the fact that her stories, which mostly revolve around the theme of love, insist on the right to privacy and intimacy. She had numerous short stories published before Perestroika and is extremely popular in Russia.  In Germany, more than half of her short stories have been translated, as well as her only novel „Ptica Scastija“ (t: Lucky fellow).

Tokarjeva’s stories are set in the Russian metropolis. The people there, whose lives are steeped in everyday banality, occasionally dream the dream of true love, intensive feelings and a life with a purpose, fear loneliness, or yearn for life. There is the girl who loves her piano teacher – but doesn’t dare tell him (‘Raraka’); the star pianist in a midlife crisis (‘Ne sotvori’); and the man-eating new Russian woman who ends up falling in love again (‘Pervaja popytka’). Her characters are usually robbed of their illusions in the end, but gain a tiny piece of wisdom and, at times, even something like happiness.

Tokarjeva’s film-industry background is evident in her short stories: images are lined up one after another in simple, unpretentious language, and the scene is set with a few strokes of the pen.  The figures are enriched with character through their gestures and through small, everyday actions. Like her idol Chekhov, Tokarjeva observes life with both great sensitivity and cool distance.  She writes a ‘Russian sociology en miniature’, typically melancholy, but with ever-present laconic humour.

© international literature festival berlin

Viktorija Tokarjewa

Viktorija Tokarjewa wurde 1937 in Leningrad geboren. Mit 18 diplomierte sie an der Leningrader Musikhochschule als Pianistin. Nach ihrer Hochzeit mit einem Physiker zog sie nach Moskau um, wo sie drei Jahre als Klavierlehrerin arbeitete. Sie begann früh zu schreiben. Daher immatrikulierte sie sich, um einem Leben als Klavierlehrerin zu entkommen, schließlich an der Moskauer Filmhochschule im Drehbuchfach, die sie 1968 mit einem Diplom abschloss. Kanpp zwanzig ihrer Drehbücher wurden bislang verfilmt. Viktoria Tokarjewa erhielt für ihre Drehbücher zweimal den Ersten Preis beim Internationalen Moskauer Filmfestival sowie 1981 den Ersten Preis beim Internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestival.

1964 – kurz vor dem Rücktritt Chruschtschows und damit dem Ende der Tauwetterperiode – veröffentlichte sie in der Zeitschrift „Molodaja gvardija“ ihre erste Erzählung „Den‘ bez vranja“ (Ü: Ein Tag ohne Lüge), mit der ihr sogleich der Durchbruch gelang. Von der sowjetischen Zensur blieb sie weitgehend verschont, obwohl ihre Erzählungen, die meist um das Thema Liebe kreisen, auf dem Anspruch nach Privatem, Intimem beharren. Schon vor der Perestrojka wurden zahlreiche ihrer Erzählungen publiziert; sie ist in Russland außerordentlich populär und findet auch in Deutschland großen Anklang: Die Mehrzahl ihrer Erzählbände wurden bereits übersetzt, ebenso wie ihr bislang erster Roman „Ptica Scastija“ (dt. „Glücksvogel“, 2005).

Den Schauplatz von Tokarjewas Erzählungen bildet die russische Großstadt. Die Menschen dort, die ihr Leben im Alltäglichen fristen, träumen gelegentlich den Traum von wahrer Liebe, großen Gefühlen und einem sinnerfüllten Leben, haben Angst vor der Einsamkeit oder sie gieren nach Leben. Da gibt es das Mädchen, das den Klavierlehrer liebt, aber nie ein Wort zu sagen wagt („Raraka“), den Starpianisten in der Midlife-Crisis („Ne sotvori“, dt. „Die Diva“) und die männerverschlingende neue Russin, die sich dann doch einmal verliebt („Pervaja popytka“, dt. „Mara“). Meist werden die Figuren am Ende ihrer Illusionen beraubt, gewinnen aber ein kleines Stück Weisheit und manchmal auch so etwas wie Zufriedenheit.

Tokarjewas Erzählungen ist die filmische Ausbildung der Autorin anzumerken: In schlichter, schnörkelloser Sprache werden Bilder aneinandergereiht und mit wenigen Strichen die Szenen skizziert. Die Figuren gewinnen ihren Charakter durch ihre Gesten, durch kleine, alltägliche Handlungen. Wie ihr Vorbild Tschechow beobachtet sie zugleich mit großer Sensibilität und kühler Distanz. Sie schreibt eine „russische Soziologie en miniature“, meist melancholisch, aber stets mit lakonischem Humor.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin