23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Vigdis Hjorth

Vigdis Hjorth was born in Oslo in 1959. She studied philosophy, literature, and political science. She received the debutant prize of the Norwegian Department of Culture in 1983 for her debut children’s book »Pelle-Ragnar i den gule garden« [tr: Pelle-Ragnar in the Yellow House]. This was followed by four further children’s and young adult books that focus on love and sexuality. Hjorth has been praised by critics for her ability to approach issues from a child’s perspective without moral judgment. For example, the 2011 film »Jørgen + Anne er sant« [1984; tr: Jørgen + Anne = True] is about a ten-year-old, self-confident girl who often snubs her people with her headstrong behavior until she falls in love for the first time.

In 1986, Hjorth published »Gjennom skogen« [tr: Through the Forest], her first novel for an older audience, which is about a young woman exploring her sexuality. Combined with »Drama med Hilde« [1987; tr: Drama Surrounding Hilde], these novels allowed Hjorth to break through as an author of adult literature. Since then, she has published nearly thirty works that deal primarily with the existential problems faced by mankind. She cites Dag Solstad, Bertolt Brecht, and Thomas Bernhard as her literary models. »Om bare« [2001; tr: If Only] is considered to be her most significant novel. In »Hjulskift« [2007; tr: Tire Change], the author humorously follows the story of the relationship between an academic and a car salesman to reflect the problems of gender roles and class differences. In »Tredve dager i Sandefjord« [2011; tr: Thirty Days in Sandefjord], Hjorth describes her own experience in prison after a traffic offense. »Et norsk hus« [2014; Eng. »A House in Norway«, 2017] tells of a misanthrope who is pushed to her limits in her secluded retreat in the idyllic Norwegian countryside. »Arv og miljø« [2016; Eng. »Will and Testament«, 2016] is about a well-known playwright who survived her father’s sexual abuse as a child. In the novel, her trauma eventually escalates into a conflict with her siblings. The book sparked a debate in Norway after Hjorth’s relatives claimed it was autobiographical and felt it exposed them. It was also one of the most discussed books at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2019. Hjorth’s latest novel »Er mor død« [2020; tr: Is Mother Dead] takes up family issues once again and deals with a traumatic mother-daughter relationship.

Hjorth is known in Norway for her essays, in which she calls out and criticizes racist behavior and sexism in everyday life. She has received numerous awards, including the Cappelen, Aschehoug, Dobloug, and Gyldendal awards. Her novel »Leve posthornet!« [2012; Eng. »Long Live the Post Horn!«, 2020] was chosen by »The New Yorker« as one of the 14 best books of the year.

After long stays in Copenhagen, Bergen, Switzerland, and France, the author now lives in Asker, Norway.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Vigdis Hjorth

Vigdis Hjorth wurde 1959 in Oslo geboren. Sie studierte Philosophie, Literatur und Politikwissenschaft und debütierte 1983 mit dem Kinderbuch »Pelle-Ragnar i den gule gården« [Ü: Pelle-Ragnar im gelben Haus], für das sie den Debütantenpreis des Norwegischen Kulturministeriums erhielt. Es folgten vier weitere Kinder- und Jugendbücher, die vor allem Liebe und Sexualität thematisieren. Hjorth wurde von der Kritik für ihre Fähigkeit gelobt, sich dem Thema aus der Perspektive eines Kindes ohne moralische Wertungen zu nähern. So handelt der 2011 verfilmte Roman »Jørgen + Anne er sant« [1984; dt. »Tilla liebt Philipp«, 1992] von einem zehnjährigen, selbstbewussten Mädchen, das ihre Mitmenschen oft mit ihrem eigensinnigen Verhalten brüskiert, bis sie sich das erste Mal verliebt.

1986 veröffentlichte Hjorth ihren ersten Erwachsenenroman »Gjennom skogen« [Ü: Durch die Wälder] über eine junge Frau, die ihre Sexualität erforscht. Mit »Drama med Hilde« [1987; Ü: Drama um Hilde] gelang Hjorth der Durchbruch als Autorin von Erwachsenenliteratur. Insgesamt veröffentlichte sie seitdem etwa dreißig Werke, die sich vor allem mit den existenziellen Problemen des Menschen befassen. Als literarische Vorbilder für ihr Schreiben nannte sie Dag Solstad, Bertolt Brecht und Thomas Bernhard. »Om bare« [2001; dt. »Die Liebeskur«, 2003] gilt als ihr wichtigster und als Schlüsselroman. In »Hjulskift« [2007; Ü: Reifenwechsel] reflektiert die Autorin auf humorvolle Weise die Beziehung zwischen einer Akademikerin und einem Autoverkäufer sowie die Probleme von Geschlechterrollen und Klassenunterschieden. In »Tredve dager i Sandefjord« [2011; Ü: Dreißig Tagen in Sandefjord] beschreibt sie den eigenen Gefängnisaufenthalt nach einem Verkehrsdelikt. »Et norsk hus« [2014; dt. »Ein norwegisches Haus«, 2015] erzählt von einer Misanthropin, die an ihrem Rückzugsort in der idyllischen Landschaft Norwegens an Grenzen stößt. »Arv og miljø« [2016; dt. »Bergljots Familie«, 2017] handelt von einer angesehenen Theaterautorin, die ein inzestuöses Kindheitstrauma in sich trägt, das schließlich im Konflikt mit ihren Geschwistern eskaliert. Das Buch löste in Norwegen eine Debatte aus, nachdem Verwandte Hjorths es als autobiografisch interpretiert und sich bloßgestellt gefühlt hatten. Auch auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2019 war es eines der meistdiskutierten Bücher des Gastlandes. Hjorths jüngster Roman »Er mor død« [2020; Ü: Ist Mutter tot] greift das Thema Familie erneut auf und behandelt eine traumatische Mutter-Tochter-Beziehung.

Hjorth ist in Norwegen bekannt für ihre Essays, in denen sie u. a. rassistisches Verhalten und Sexismus im Alltag kritisiert. Sie wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen geehrt, darunter dem Cappelen-, dem Aschehoug-, dem Dobloug- und dem Gyldendal-Preis. Ihr Roman »Leve posthornet!« [2012; Eng. »Long Live the Post Horn!«, 2020] wurde von »The New Yorker« zu den 14 besten Büchern des Jahres gewählt.

Nach längeren Aufenthalten in Kopenhagen, Bergen, der Schweiz und Frankreich lebt die Autorin heute im norwegischen Asker.

Stand: 2022