22. ilb 7. - 17.09.2022

Tariq Ali

Tariq Ali was born in Indian Lahore in 1943, a city which was still under British colonial rule before becoming part of Pakistan in 1947. Threatened with years of imprisonment after having organised public demonstrations as part of a student organisation against the military dictatorship, he saw himself forced to immigrate to England. He studied Politics and Philosophy at Oxford and was the first Pakistani elected as President of the Oxford University Student Union. During the Vietnam War his participation in public debates with such personalities as Henry Kissinger and Michael Stewart brought him political recognition. In 1966 he became a member of the Bertrand Russell Peace Foundation, for which he travelled to war zones and regions of conflict. He soon became one of the leading mentors and spokesmen of the English student revolt of 1968. Since then he has been a contributing editor to the »New Left Review«, one of the most important independent newspapers of the international Left.
Ali also emerged as a filmmaker and writer, whose themes focused continuously on the conflict between Western societies and his own Islamic homeland. As »border crosser between the Western and Arab worlds« , in the words of Daniel Cohn-Bendit, »he understands better than anyone the conflict of either side, and their historical roots.« After the publication of his first novel, »Redemption« (1991), a satirical account of the extreme Left in Europe, and shaken by the first Gulf War, he embarked on a five-volume cycle of novels about Islam. »Shadows of the Pomegranate Tree« (1992) tells the story of the decline of Muslim civilisation in Spain. The book has been translated into many languages and represented Ali’s literary breakthrough. The fourth and most recent book in the series, »A Sultan in Palermo« (2005), is a historical novel set in the Twelfth Century, in the court of the Norman king Roger II in a Muslim-shaped Sicily. Weaved into the history of this Christian monarch, whose end paves the way for an era of intolerance between Muslims and Jews, is the life story of Abu Abdullah Muhammad al-Idrisi, the great scholar, cartographer, geographer and doctor.
The attacks of September 11 in 2001 drove Ali to publish the book of essays »The Clash of Fundamentalisms« (2002). The controversial statements he put forth sparked a wide debate. He suggests that »today two fundamentalisms stand face to face, the religious and the imperialist.« In 2003 he published an equally critical and articulate response to the war in Iraq. »Bush in Babylon« denounces the attempts of the occupying force to turn Iraq into a tributary for key resources and new markets. Ali publishes articles on the current political situation in the Middle and Far East in numerous international publications, among them the »Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung«, the »Süddeutsche Zeitung«, »taz«, »Financial Times« and »The Guardian«. The author lives in London.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Tariq Ali

Tariq Ali wurde 1943 im indischen Lahore geboren, das damals noch unter britischer Kolonialherrschaft stand und seit 1947 zu Pakistan gehört. Um einer mehrjährigen Gefängnisstrafe zu entgehen, die ihm drohte, nachdem er als Studentenrat öffentliche Demonstrationen gegen die Militärdiktatur organisiert hatte, sah er sich gezwungen nach England zu emigrieren. In Oxford studierte er Politik und Philosophie und wurde als erster Pakistani zum Vorsitzenden der Oxforder Studentenvereinigung gewählt. Während des Vietnamkrieges brachten ihm öffentliche Debatten mit Persönlichkeiten wie Henry Kissinger oder Michael Stewart politische Anerkennung ein. 1966 wurde er Mitglied der Bertrand-Russell-Friedensstiftung, für die er in Kriegsgebiete und Krisenregionen reiste. Er entwickelte sich bald zu einem führenden Vordenker und Wortführer der englischen Studentenrevolte von 1968. Seit dieser Zeit ist er auch Mitherausgeber der »New Left Review«, einer der wichtigsten unabhängigen Zeitungen der internationalen Linken.
Ali trat auch als Filmemacher und Schriftsteller hervor, der immer wieder die Konflikte zwischen den westlichen Gesellschaften und seiner islamischen Heimat thematisiert. Als »Grenzgänger zwischen der westlichen und arabischen Welt«, wie ihn Daniel Cohn-Bendit charakterisierte, »kennt er wie kein anderer die Konflikte beider Seiten und ihre historischen Wurzeln.« Nach seinem ersten Roman »Redemption« (1991; Ü: Erlösung), einer satirischen Darstellung der extremen Linken in Europa, begann er unter dem Eindruck des ersten Golfkrieges einen fünfteiligen Romanzyklus über den Islam. »Shadows of the Pomegranate Tree« (1992; dt. »Im Schatten des Granatapfelbaums«, 1993) beschreibt den Verfall der muslimischen Zivilisation in Spanien. Das Buch wurde in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt und war Alis literarischer Durchbruch. Als viertes Werk aus dieser Reihe erschien zuletzt »A Sultan in Palermo« (2005; dt. »Der Sultan von Palermo«, 2005), ein im 12. Jahrhundert angesiedelter historischer Roman, der am Hof des Normannenkönigs Roger II. im islamisch geprägten Sizilien spielt. Die Geschichte des christlichen Herrschers, an dessen Lebensende sich eine Ära der Toleranz gegenüber Muslimen und Juden dem Ende zuneigt, ist mit der biografischen Darstellung des großen Gelehrten, Kartografen, Geografen und Arztes Abu Abdullah Muhammad al-Idrisi verknüpft.
Die Anschläge vom 11. September 2001 bewegten Ali zur Veröffentlichung des Sachbuchs »The Clash of Fundamentalisms« (2002; dt. »Fundamentalismus im Kampf um die Weltordnung«, 2002). Mit der kontroversen Stellungnahme, die Ali in dieser Publikation abgab, löste er eine breite Debatte aus. Er vertritt die These, »dass sich heute zwei Fundamentalismen gegenüberstehen, der religiöse und der imperialistische.« 2003 veröffentlichte er eine ebenso kritische wie deutliche Stellungnahme zum zweiten Irakkrieg. »Bush in Babylon« (2003; »Bush in Babylon. Die Re-Kolonisierung des Irak«, 2003) denunziert die Bestrebungen der Besatzer, sich den Irak als Rohstoffquelle und neuen Markt untertan zu machen. Ali veröffentlicht in zahlreichen internationalen Medien – darunter die »Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung«, die »Süddeutsche Zeitung«, »taz«, »Financial Times« und »The Guardian« – Artikel über die aktuelle politische Lage im Mittleren und Nahen Osten. Der Autor lebt in London.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin