Tamara Bach

Portrait Tamara Bach
© privat

Tamara Bach was born in Limburg an der Lahn in 1976 and grew up in Hessen and Rhineland-Palatinate. She took part in the Treffen Junger Autoren between 1993 and 1995. After graduating from high school, she studied in Mainz and Berlin to become a German and English teacher.

In 2003, the unpublished manuscript of her first novel »Marsmädchen« (Eng. »Girl from Mars«, 2009) was awarded the Oldenburg Children and Young Adult Prize and went on to receive the German Youth Literature Prize in 2004. The novel follows a young girl on her search for her own identity as she navigates boredom, arguments with her mother, and the introduction of her first love. According to the jury for the youth literature prize, her book presents a »snapshot, that has nevertheless accomplished the great artistic achievement capturing the full range of adolescence«. This was followed by further novels such as »Busfahrt mit Kuhn« (2004; tr: Bus Ride with Kuhn), which was also nominated for the German Youth Literature Prize, »Jetzt ist hier« (2007; tr: Now is Here), awarded the Luchs of the Year, »Was vom Sommer noch übrig ist« (2012; tr: What is left of Summer), winner of the 2013 Catholic Children’s and Young Adult Literature Prize and the German-French Youth Literature Prize, »Marienbilder« (2014), which was on the international selection list White Ravens, »Vierzehn« (2016; tr: Fourteen), and »Mausmeer« (2018; tr: Mouse Sea). They all deal with the multifaceted individual experience that adolescents, mostly girls or young women, face as they grow up. The main focus of the stories is the question of one’s own identity in an increasingly diverse society, the conflict-ridden relationships with family and peers, experiences of new beginnings, failures, and new beginnings in the uncertain but all the more intense time of transition. The format of Bach’s novels are characterized by original, often multi-perspective and highly subjective narratives accompanied by a lively and modern language that incorporates many quotations, references, and other forms of media such as pop music as well as psychologically differentiated character-drawings. In 2019, she published her first children’s book, »Wörter mit L.« (tr. Words with L.), about the value of close friends, first loves, and patchwork families. Most recently, she released the young adult novel »Sankt Irgendwas« (2020; Saint Something«) about a class trip where something goes terribly wrong.

With their complex constellations and their linguistic love of experimentation, Bach’s novels have not only shaped youth literature in Germany; they have also been translated into numerous European languages. In addition to the awards mentioned above, Bach has received several grants, including ones from the Writers’ House Stuttgart (2007), from the Berlin Senate (2010), and the Landeskind scholarship from the Künstlerhaus Edenkoben (2016). She was a finalist for the Berlin Kindertheaterpreis in 2019. The author lives in Berlin.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Tamara Bach

Tamara Bach wurde 1976 in Limburg an der Lahn geboren und wuchs in Hessen und Rheinland-Pfalz auf. 1993 und 1995 nahm sie am Treffen Junger Autoren teil. Nach ihrem Schulabschluss studierte sie Deutsch und Englisch für das Lehramt in Mainz und Berlin.

2003 erschien ihr erster Roman »Marsmädchen«, der als noch unveröffentlichtes Manuskript mit dem Oldenburger Kinder- und Jugendpreis ausgezeichnet wurde und 2004 den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis erhielt. Der Roman handelt von der Identitätsfindung eines jungen Mädchens zwischen Langeweile, Streit mit der Mutter und der ersten Liebe und präsentiert dabei – so die Jury des Jugendliteraturpreises – eine »Momentaufnahme, deren große Kunst dennoch darin besteht, die ganze Bandbreite des Heranwachsens festgehalten zu haben«. Es folgten weitere Romane wie »Busfahrt mit Kuhn« (2004), der ebenfalls für den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis nominiert war, »Jetzt ist hier« (2007), ausgezeichnet mit dem Luchs des Jahres, »Was vom Sommer übrig ist« (2012), für den Bach 2013 den Katholischen Kinder- und Jugendbuchpreis und den Deutsch-Französischen Jugendliteraturpreis erhielt, »Marienbilder« (2014), der auf der internationalen Auswahlliste White Ravens stand, »Vierzehn« (2016) und »Mausmeer« (2018). Sie alle widmen sich dem vielschichtigen individuellen Erleben von Jugendlichen, meist Mädchen oder jungen Frauen, im Zuge ihres Erwachsenwerdens. Im Zentrum stehen Fragen nach der eigenen Identität in einer zunehmend bunten Gesellschaft, die konfliktreichen Beziehungen zu Familie und zu Altersgenoss*innen, Erfahrungen des Aufbruchs, des Scheiterns und des Neuanfangs in der unsicheren, aber umso intensiveren Zeit des Übergangs. In formaler Hinsicht zeichnen sich Bachs Romane durch originelle, oftmals multiperspektivische und stark subjektive Erzählverfahren aus, durch eine lebendige, gegenwärtige Sprache mit vielen Zitaten, Verweisen und intermedialen Bezügen – etwa zur Popmusik – und durch eine psychologisch differenzierte Figurenzeichnung. 2019 veröffentlichte sie erstmals ein Kinderbuch: »Wörter mit L.«, über den Wert guter Freund*innen, die erste Verliebtheit und Patchworkfamilien. Zuletzt erschien das Jugendbuch »Sankt Irgendwas« (2020) über eine Klassenreise, auf der etwas schrecklich schiefgeht.

Mit ihren komplexen Konstellationen und ihrer sprachlichen Experimentierfreude haben Bachs Romane nicht nur die Jugendliteratur in Deutschland nachhaltig geprägt. Sie wurden auch in zahlreiche europäische Sprachen übersetzt. Über die genannten Auszeichnungen hinaus erhielt Bach mehrere Stipendien, u. a. vom Schriftstellerhaus Stuttgart (2007), vom Berliner Senat (2010) und das Landeskind-Stipendium des Künstlerhauses Edenkoben (2016). 2019 war sie eine der Finalist*innen beim Berliner Kindertheaterpreis. Die Autorin lebt in Berlin.