22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Arthur Sze

U.S. poet and translator Arthur Sze was born in New York City in 1950 into a second-generation family of Chinese immigrants. His parents had immigrated to the U.S. after the Japanese occupation of China and remained there after the Chinese Civil War. Arthur Sze grew up in Queens and Garden City on Long Island and graduated from Lawrenceville School in 1968. He studied at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1968 and 1970, then moved to the University of California at Berkeley to devote himself to poetry.
His poems have appeared in »The American Poetry Review«, »Boston Review«, »Conjunctions«, »The New Yorker«, »Virginia Quarterly Review« as well as in various anthologies. Since 1972, he has published eleven independent collections of poetry. The title of his volume, »Gingko Light« (2009), refers to a tree that survived and flourished near a temple at the epicentre of the Hiroshima atomic blast, thus becoming a metaphor for survival. »Compass Rose« (2014), Sze’s ninth collection of poems on all things ephemeral in nature, was a finalist for the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, and the subsequent volume, »Sight Lines« (2019), received the National Book Award for Poetry. Thematically, the volume’s verses roam through time and space, drawing the reader’s attention to images and phenomena, whose meaning and beauty often go unnoticed, and uniting far-flung things – whether it’s a sighting of an axolotl, or calligraphy carried out with water in public parks in China. According to »The New York Times«, »The sight lines in Sze’s 10th collection are just that – imagistic lines strung together by jump-cuts, creating a filmic collage that itself seems to be a portrait of simultaneity«. Sze’s most recent volume of new and collected poetry is titled »The Glass Constellation« (2021).
His poetry has been translated into a dozen languages, including Chinese, Dutch, German, Turkish, Korean, and Spanish. He has received many awards, including the 2021 Shelley Memorial Award, the Jackson Poetry Prize from Poets & Writers, the Lannan Literary Award, the Lila Wallace-Readerʼs Digest Writers Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. He has been a Visiting Professor at Washington University, Brown University, Bard College, Naropa University, and the Institute of American Indian Arts, where he is professor emeritus. Sze is a former Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. He is the first Poet Laureate of Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he lives.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Arthur Sze

Der US-amerikanische Lyriker und Übersetzer Arthur Sze wurde 1950 in New York City in einer Familie chinesischer Auswanderer in zweiter Generation geboren. Seine Eltern waren aufgrund der japanischen Besetzung Chinas in die USA ausgewandert und nach Beginn des chinesischen Bürgerkriegs dort geblieben. Arthur Sze wuchs in Queens und Garden City auf Long Island auf und beendete 1968 die Lawrenceville School. Von 1968 und 1970 studierte er am Massachusetts Institute of Technology, dann wechselte er an die University of California in Berkeley, um sich der Lyrik zu widmen.
Seine Gedichte erschienen u. a. in »The American Poetry Review«, »Boston Review«, »Conjunctions«, »The New Yorker«, »Virginia Quarterly Review« sowie in verschiedenen Anthologien. Seit 1972 veröffentlichte er elf eigenständige Gedichtsammlungen. Der Titel des Bandes »Gingko Light« (2009) bezieht sich auf einen Baum, der in der Nähe eines Tempels im Hypozentrum der atomaren Explosion von Hiroshima überlebte und blühte und damit zur Metapher des Überlebens wird. »Compass Rose« (2014), Szes neunte Sammlung mit Gedichten zu allem Vergänglichen in der Natur, war Finalist für den Pulitzer Prize for Poetry 2015. Der darauffolgende Band »Sight Lines« (2019) erhielt den National Book Award for Poetry. Thematisch streifen die Verse des Bandes durch Zeit und Raum, lenken das Augenmerk der Lesenden auf Bilder und Phänomene, deren Bedeutung und Schönheit oft unbemerkt bleiben, und vereinen weit auseinanderliegende Dinge – sei es die Sichtung eines Axolotl, sei es Kalligrafie, die mit Wasser in öffentlichen Parks in China ausgeführt wird. »Die Sichtlinien in Szes zehnter Sammlung sind genau das – imaginäre Linien, die durch sprunghafte Schnitte aneinandergefügt sind und eine filmische Collage ergeben, die für sich selbst ein Porträt der Simultanität zu sein scheint«, so die »New York Times«. Szes jüngster Band mit neuen und gesammelten Gedichten trägt den Titel »The Glass Constellation« (2021).
Seine Lyrik wurde in ein Dutzend Sprachen übersetzt, darunter ins Chinesische, Niederländische, Deutsche, Türkische, Koreanische und Spanische. Er erhielt u. a. den Shelley Memorial Award 2021, den Jackson Poetry Prize von Poets & Writers, den Lannan Literary Award, den Lila Wallace-Readerʼs Digest Writers Award und ein Guggenheim Fellowship. Er war Gastprofessor an der Washington University, der Brown University, dem Bard College sowie der Naropa University tätig und ist Emeritus des Institute of American Indian Arts. Sze war Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets und ist der erste Poet Laureate von Santa Fe, New Mexico, wo er auch lebt.