23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Stella Gaitano

Stella Gaitano was born in Khartoum, Sudan in 1979. Her family comes from South Sudan. She studied pharmacy at Khartoum University. She has said that she started writing stories while she was still at primary school. Among the authors who have influenced her, Gaitano cites the Sudanese At-Tayyib Salih, as well as Gabriel García Márquez and Isabel Allende. During her studies, she came into contact with intellectuals and political activists, after which she intensified her writing and started to write about herself, her family, and her people. Gaitano moved from the north to South Sudan in 2012. She is considered an important voice for her countrymen who have experienced war and displacement. She writes in Arabic.

Gaitano says that she wrote one of her first short stories, »A Lake the Size of a Papaya Fruit«, in half an hour, inspired by her grandmother. It was a revelation for her. The story, for which she was swiftly awarded a literary prize in 2003, is about a girl and her grandmother who have to make their way through life alone after the girl’s parents and grandfather die. »Wilted Flowers« [2002] is Gaitano’s first book of short stories. It describes the fate of people who have fled from the murderous conflicts in South Sudan, Darfur, and the Nuba mountains and are living in refugee camps near Khartoum. In »The Return« [2015], Gaitano describes the return of many South Sudanese from the north to their newly founded state. She portrays the immense expectations aroused, great hopes, and even greater disappointments.

The English translation of her debut novel, »Eddoʼs Souls« [2018], won a PEN Translates Award in 2020. In it, she addresses universal themes of identity, farewell, motherhood, loss, and grief, and recounts the historical, political, and social changes that had an immense impact on the lives of Sudanese in the mid-seventies to mid-eighties, as they upset the social fabric and led to marginalization, divisions, and civil unrest. »The novel begins across a rural context, in a small impoverished village full of mystery, rituals, and superstition, and it ends in a jam-packed city with all its complications« [»Arablit & Arablit Quarterly«].

Gaitano won the Professor Ali El-Mek Award in 2001 and 2004. She comments regularly on the political situation in Sudan and South Sudan in newspaper articles. She also participates in the initiative Youth for My Country, which attempts to ease the suffering of the many victims of violence in South Sudan by offering pragmatic, hands-on solutions. In 2022, Giatano is residing in Kamen, Germany, as a fellow of PEN’s Writers-in-Exile Program.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Stella Gaitano

Stella Gaitano wurde 1979 in Khartum, Sudan, geboren. Ihre Familie stammt aus dem Südsudan. An der Universität von Khartum studierte sie Pharmazie. Bereits während ihrer Grundschulzeit, sagt sie, habe sie begonnen, Geschichten zu schreiben. Zu den für sie prägenden Autoren zählt Gaitano den sudanesischen Autor At-Tayyib Salih sowie Gabriel García Márquez und Isabel Allende. Während ihres Studiums kam sie in Kontakt mit Intellektuellen und politischen Aktivist:innen, worauf sie ihre schriftstellerische Arbeit intensivierte und über sich, ihre Familie, ihr Volk zu schreiben begann. Gaitano siedelte 2012 vom Norden in den Südsudan über. Sie gilt als eine wichtige Stimme ihrer Landsleute, die Krieg und Vertreibung erfahren haben. Ihre Werke verfasst sie auf Arabisch.

Eine ihrer ersten Kurzgeschichten, »A Lake the Size of a Papaya Fruit« [Ü: Ein See von der Größe einer Papaya], habe sie, inspiriert durch ihre Großmutter, innerhalb einer halben Stunde geschrieben, so Gaitano. Es sei für sie eine Offenbarung gewesen. Die Erzählung, für die Gaitano 2003 mit einem Literaturpreis ausgezeichnet wurde, handelt von einem Mädchen und dessen Großmutter, die sich allein durchs Leben schlagen müssen, nachdem die Eltern des Mädchens und der Großvater ums Leben gekommen sind. »Wilted Flowers« [2002; Ü: Verwelkte Blumen] ist Gaitanos erster Kurzgeschichtenband. Darin behandelt sie das Schicksal von Menschen, die vor den mörderischen Konflikten im Südsudan, in Darfur und den Nuba-Bergen geflohen sind und bei Khartum in Flüchtlingscamps leben. In »The Return« [2015; Ü: Heimkehr] thematisiert Gaitano die Rückkehr der vielen Südsudanesen aus dem Norden in ihren gerade neu gegründeten Staat. Sie schildert die damit verbundenen hohen Erwartungen, großen Hoffnungen und übergroßen Enttäuschungen.

Die englische Übersetzung ihres Debütromans »Eddoʼs Souls« [2018] wurde 2020 mit einem PEN Translates Award ausgezeichnet. Darin behandelt sie universelle Themen wie Identität, Abschied, Mutterschaft, Verlust und Trauer und erzählt von den historischen, politischen und sozialen Veränderungen, die Mitte der Siebziger- bis Mitte der Achtzigerjahre immense Auswirkungen auf das Leben der Sudanesen hatten, weil sie das soziale Gefüge durcheinanderbrachten und zu Marginalisierungen, Spaltungen und zivilen Unruhen führten. »Der Roman beginnt in einem ländlichen Kontext, in einem kleinen verarmten Dorf voller Mysterien, Rituale und Aberglauben, und endet in einer überfüllten Stadt mit all ihren Problemen« [»Arablit & Arablit Quarterly«].

Gaitano gewann 2001 und 2004 den Professor Ali El-Mek Award. Zur politischen Lage des Sudans und Südsudans äußert sie sich regelmäßig in Zeitungsartikeln. Sie beteiligt sich zudem an der Initiative Youth for My Country, die durch pragmatische, konkrete Hilfe das Leid der vielen Gewaltopfer im Südsudan zu lindern versucht. 2022 lebt Gaitano als Stipendiatin des Writers in Exile-Programms des PEN in Kamen, Deutschland.

Stand: 2022