Shaun Tan

Portrait Shaun Tan
© privat

Shaun Tan, born in Perth in 1974, is an award-winning artist with a great reputation not only in his home country, but also abroad. When he was young, he began drawing science fiction and horror stories for magazines. Later, he studied art and English literature at the University of Western Australia. Today, he works as a freelance artist, author, illustrator, and director in the field of animated films.

He is also known to a wider audience in Europe. He inspires children and young people as well as adults with his imaginative illustrated worlds filled with allusions and associative empty spaces. The author incorporates this cross-generational readership into his ideas for his text and images. He uses this multi-layered approach to challenge social, political, and historical themes such as migration in the wordless graphic novel »The Arrival« (2006); armament, creativity, the longing for self-realization, and an individual cultural and social identity under external restrictions are all themes that are touched upon in the novel. His books challenge readers to question their environment and discover the omnipresent extraordinary behind a seemingly mundane everyday life. Shaun Tan describes his narrative process in an interview with Deutschlandradio by saying that »Some stories are ambiguous. But I think ambiguity is better than certainty, because it allows you to look at the foreign.« In the volume of short stories »Tales from Outer Suburbia« (2008), the author tells of a world between reality and fantasy with a lightness of language but at the same time with great seriousness. Only at first glance does it appear that one is dealing with ordinary and coincidental events and contexts. In his children’s book »The Lost Thing« (2000), he discusses topics that may be challenging for some children such as identity, friendship, social responsibility, the fear of the unknown, and the relationship between man and machine. With his Brothers Grimm adaptation »Singing Bones« (2016), Tan breathes new life into their fairy tales with his 75 sculptures. In his picture book »Cicada« (2018), written for children and adults, he describes an office worker who lives in a very bland world and is harassed by his colleagues until, on the day before his retirement, he turns into a glowing insect that flies home to the jungle.

Shaun Tan has received numerous national and international awards, including the German Youth Literature Award for »Tales from Outer Suburbia« in 2009, the Oscar 2010 in the category Best Animated Short Film for »The Lost Thing«, and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2011. He lives in Melbourne with his wife and three birds.

 

Watch Shaun Tan at the 20th ilb on our YouTube-Channel: https://youtu.be/EwJlcJGoDiI

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Shaun Tan

Nicht nur in seiner Heimat ist der 1974 in Perth geborene Shaun Tan ein vielfach ausgezeichneter Künstler mit großem Renommee. Bereits in seiner Jugend zeichnete er Science-Fiction- und Horrorgeschichten für Zeitschriften. Später studierte er Kunst und Englische Literatur an der University of Western Australia. Heute ist er als freier Künstler, Autor, Zeichner und Regisseur im Bereich Animationsfilm tätig.

Mittlerweile ist er auch einem größeren Publikum in Europa bekannt. Er begeistert sowohl Kinder und Jugendliche als auch Erwachsene mit seinen fantasievollen Illustrationswelten voller Anspielungen sowie assoziativer Leerräume. Diese generationenübergreifende Leserschaft bezieht der Autor in seine Konzepte für Text und Bild mit ein. Vielschichtig gestaltet er anspruchsvolle soziale, politische und historische Themen wie Migration, Aufrüstung, Kreativität sowie die Sehnsucht nach Selbstverwirklichung und einer individuellen kulturellen und sozialen Identität unter äußeren Restriktionen in der textlosen Graphic Novel »The Arrival« (2006; dt. »Ein neues Land«, 2008). Seine Bücher fordern die Leser*innen auf, ihre Umwelt zu hinterfragen und hinter dem scheinbar Gewöhnlichen des Alltags das allgegenwärtige Außergewöhnliche zu entdecken. »Manche Geschichten sind mehrdeutig. Aber ich denke, Vieldeutigkeit ist besser als Sicherheit, weil es deinen Blick auf das Fremde zulässt«, beschreibt Shaun Tan in einem Interview mit Deutschlandradio sein Erzählkonzept. In dem Kurzgeschichtenband »Tales from Outer Suburbia« (2008; dt. »Geschichten aus der Vorstadt des Universums«, 2008/2020) erzählt der Autor sprachlich leicht, doch zugleich mit großer Ernsthaftigkeit von einer Welt zwischen Realität und Fantastik. Nur auf den ersten Blick geht es um gewöhnliche und zufällige Ereignisse und Zusammenhänge. In seinem Kinderbuch »The Lost Thing« (2000; dt. »Die Fundsache«, 2009) diskutiert er für ein kindliches Lesepublikum anspruchsvolle Themen wie Identität, Freundschaft, soziale Verantwortung, die Furcht vor dem Unbekannten sowie das Verhältnis von Mensch und Maschine. Mit seiner Brüder-Grimm-Adaption »Singing Bones« (2016; dt. »Singende Knochen«, 2016) haucht Tan deren Märchen mit seinen 75 Skulpturen neues Leben ein. In seinem Bilderbuch »Cicada« (2018; dt. »Zikade«, 2019) für Kinder und Erwachsene zeigt er einen Büroangestellten, der in einer sehr grauen Welt lebt und von seinen Kollegen schikaniert wird, bis er sich am Tag vor dem Ruhestand in ein leuchtendes Insekt verwandelt, das nach Hause in den Urwald fliegt.

Shaun Tan erhielt zahlreiche nationale und internationale Auszeichnungen, u. a. für »Tales from Outer Suburbia« 2009 den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis, für »The Lost Thing« den Oscar 2010 in der Kategorie Bester animierter Kurzfilm sowie den Astrid-Lindgren-Gedächtnis-Preis 2011. Er lebt mit seiner Frau und drei Vögeln in Melbourne.

Unter folgendem Link können Sie sich die Veranstaltung mit Shaun Tan auf dem 20. ilb auf unserem YouTube-Kanal ansehen: https://youtu.be/EwJlcJGoDiI