23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Sam Thompson

Sam Thompson was born in London in 1978. His debut »Communion Town« [2012] was nominated for the Man Booker Prize in the year it was published. Although the novel is subtitled »A City in Ten Chapters«, its multidimensionality can hardly be limited to that of a city novel, but rather reflects the complexity of human consciousness. Each chapter is told from the perspective of a different resident, which also results in a great diversity of genres and registers.

The novel »Jott« [2018], shortlisted for the 2019 Encore Award, tells a story of friendship, madness, and modernity. In 1935, Arthur is a psychiatrist at London’s oldest mental hospital, where the mentally ill are subjected to cruel and primitive treatments; his closest friend Louis, a brilliant but neurotic writer, is fascinated by Arthur’s patients and determined to learn their secrets. Together, Arthur and Louis learn how easily the distinction between sanity and madness can become blurred. »Thompson has created a fresh and supple portrait of an era in flux, with psychoanalysis, feminism and fascism all on the rise, and through the character of Arthur written a perceptive study of the shifting ground between sanity and breakdown« [»The Guardian«].

His son’s language difficulties inspired Sam Thompson to write his first novel for children »Wolfstongue« [2021]. The protagonist of the story is bullied at school because he does not speak. After helping an injured wolf, he is allowed to enter the hidden world of talking animals and realizes that here, too, language means power. With their clever talk, the foxes living in an underground city control the wolves and oppress them. The boy must find his voice to help his wolf friends in their liberation from the clever foxes. »Wolfstongue« won a 2022 Spark School Book Award. Thompson’s short story collection »Whirlwind Romance« was published in April 2022, and his latest novel, »The Fox’s Tower«, will be published in autumn 2022. Thompson’s short prose has appeared in the anthologies »Best British Short Stories 2019« and »Still Worlds Turning«, and on BBC Radio 4 among others. He also writes reviews for other outlets, including the »Times Literary Supplement« and »London Review of Books«.

The author lives in Belfast, where he teaches English literature and creative writing at Queens University.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Sam Thompson

Sam Thompson wurde 1978 in London geboren. Sein Debüt »Communion Town« [2012] war im Jahr seines Erscheinens für den Man Booker Prize nominiert. Der Roman trägt den Untertitel »A city in ten chapters« [Ü: Eine Stadt in zehn Kapiteln], kann jedoch wegen seiner Multidimensionalität kaum als Stadtroman bezeichnet werden, sondern spiegelt eher die Komplexität des menschlichen Bewusstseins. Jedes Kapitel wird aus der Perspektive eines anderen Einwohners erzählt, woraus sich zudem eine große Vielfalt der Genres und Register ergibt.

Der Roman »Jott« [2018], der in die engere Auswahl für den Encore Award 2019 kam, erzählt von Freundschaft, Wahnsinn und Moderne: 1935 in Londons ältester Nervenheilanstalt, in der psychisch Kranke einer grausamen und primitiven Form der Therapie ausgesetzt sind. Arthur, ein Psychiater, und sein engster Freund Louis, ein brillanter, recht neurotischer Schriftsteller, der fasziniert ist von dessen Patient:innen und entschlossen, ihren Geheimnissen auf die Spur zu kommen, stellen gemeinsam fest, wie fließend die Grenzen zwischen Gesundheit und Krankheit sind. »Thompson hat ein frisches und geschmeidiges Porträt einer Ära im Wandel geschaffen, in der Psychoanalyse, Feminismus und Faschismus auf dem Vormarsch waren, und mit der Figur von Arthur liefert er eine einfühlsame Studie über den schwankenden Boden zwischen Vernunft und Zusammenbruch« [»The Guardian«].

Die Sprachprobleme seines Sohnes inspirierten Sam Thompson zu seinem ersten Roman für Kinder »Wolfstongue« [2021; dt. »Der Junge, der mit den Wölfen spricht«, 2022]. Der Protagonist der Geschichte wird in der Schule gemobbt, weil er nicht spricht. Nachdem er einem verletzten Wolf geholfen hat, darf er die verborgene Welt sprechender Tiere betreten und erkennt, dass auch hier Sprache Macht bedeutet. Mit ihrem klugen Gerede kontrollieren die in einer unterirdischen Stadt lebenden Füchse die Wölfe und unterdrücken sie. Der Junge muss seine Stimme finden, um seinen Wolfsfreunden helfen zu können bei ihrer Befreiung von den schlauen Füchsen. »Wolfstongue« wurde mit dem Spark School Book Award 2022 ausgezeichnet. Im selben Jahr erschienen Thompson’s Kurzgeschichtensammlung »Whirlwind Romance« [Ü: Wirbelwindromanze] und sein jüngster Roman »The Fox’s Tower« [Ü: Der Turm des Fuchses]. Thompsons Kurzprosa erschien u. a. in den Anthologien »Best British Short Stories 2019« und »Still Worlds Turning« und auf BBC Radio 4. Außerdem schreibt er Kritiken für »Times Literary Supplement«, »London Review of Books« u. a.

Der Autor lebt in Belfast, wo er Englische Literatur und Kreatives Schreiben an der Queens University lehrt.

Stand: 2022