Sabah Sanhouri

Sabah Sanhouri [© Mohamed Alhassan Cupa]
Sabah Sanhouri [© Mohamed Alhassan Cupa]

Sabah Sanhouri was born in Khartoum in 1990. Her short story »Isolation« won the Tayeb Saleh Award in 2009 and was filmed by Jordanian director Burhan Saadah in 2013. Her debut short story collection, »Mirrors« was published in 2014. In 2016, she founded the cultural project #OneDayFiction, which supports young writers, including people with disabilities and incarcerated people, on their journey with mentoring programs, workshops, and residencies. The project has resulted in a book of short stories by the participants, for which Sabah Sanhouri served as editor.

Her first novel was published in 2019 under the title »Paradise«. The title refers to the name of an agency where Salam, a writer who is naturally talented but unsuccessful, applies to be a content writer. She is invited for an interview at 4 Martyrs-Imran Street. There she learns that the agency’s services are being used by people who want to take their own lives. Salam’s job is to write personalized texts for the suicides’ last moments, which are then captured on camera for posterity. Passages in which Salam reports as a first-person narrator alternate with sections from her perspective and that of numerous other characters, all of whom are connected to the agency in one way or another – for example, Riad, who has applied for the job as photographer and videographer and is also invited to the interview. The novel, which is lively, rich in dialogue, and told with a lot of dark humor, can also be read as a commentary on contemporary Sudan. As such, the literary critic Ibrahim Abdin judged that »Sabah Sanhouri has created a new form of writing that rebels against the static cultural, political and social reality of Sudan.« The German translation of the book is published in the »Swallow Editions« series founded and edited by Rafik Schami, which aims to introduce readers to contemporary Arabic literature from around the world.

Sabah Sanhouri is a member of the Sudanese Writers’ Association and a jury member of the Khartoum University Short Story Competition. She has participated in numerous international cultural programs including literary festivals and events such as the Iowa City Book Festival in the United States, Salon Maghrebin du Livre in Morocco, and Africa Alive in Germany. She lives in Khartoum.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Sabah Sanhouri

Sabah Sanhouri wurde 1990 in Khartum geboren. Ihre Kurzgeschichte »Isolation« wurde 2009 mit dem Tayeb-Saleh-Award ausgezeichnet und 2013 von dem jordanischen Regisseur Burhan Saadah verfilmt. 2014 erschien ihr Debüt, die Kurzgeschichtensammlung »Mirrors«. 2016 gründete sie das Kulturprojekt #OneDayFiction, das junge Schriftsteller:innen, darunter auch Menschen mit Behinderung und Inhaftierte, mit Mentoring-Programmen, Workshops und Residenzen auf ihrem Weg unterstützt. Aus dem Projekt ist ein Buch mit Kurzgeschichten der Teilnehmer:innen hervorgegangen, für das Sabah Sanhouri als Herausgeberin fungierte.

2019 erschien ihr erster Roman »Paradise« [dt. 2022]. Der Titel bezieht sich auf den Namen einer Agentur, in der sich Salam, eine eigentlich talentierte, aber erfolglose Schriftstellerin, als Content-Autorin bewirbt. Sie wird zum Vorstellungsgespräch in der Märtyrer-Imran-Straße 4 eingeladen. Dort erfährt sie, dass die Dienste der Agentur von Menschen in Anspruch genommen werden, die sich das Leben nehmen wollen. Salams Aufgabe ist es, persönlich abgestimmte Drehbücher für die letzten Momente der Suizident:innen zu verfassen, welche dann per Kamera für die Nachwelt festgehalten werden. Passagen, in denen Salam als Ich-Erzählerin berichtet, wechseln sich ab mit Abschnitten aus ihrer und der Perspektive zahlreicher weiterer Figuren, die alle auf die eine oder andere Weise mit der Agentur in Verbindung stehen – beispielsweise Riad, der sich für die Stelle als Fotograf und Videofilmer beworben hat und ebenfalls zum Vorstellungsgespräch eingeladen wird. Der lebendig, dialogreich und mit viel schwarzem Humor erzählte Roman kann auch als Kommentar auf den Sudan der Gegenwart gelesen werden. So urteilte der Literaturkritiker Ibrahim Abdin: »Sabah Sanhouri hat eine neue Form des Schreibens geschaffen, die sich gegen die statische kulturelle, politische und soziale Realität des Sudans auflehnt.« Die deutsche Übersetzung des Buches erscheint in der von Rafik Schami gegründeten und herausgegebenen Reihe »Swallow Editions«, die Leser:innen zeitgenössische arabische Literatur aus aller Welt näherbringen möchte.

Sabah Sanhouri ist Mitglied des sudanesischen Schriftsteller:innenverbandes und Jurymitglied des Kurzgeschichtenwettbewerbs der Universität Khartum. Sie nahm an zahlreichen internationalen Kulturprogrammen, Literaturfestivals und -veranstaltungen teil, wie dem Iowa City Book Festival in den USA, dem Salon Maghrebin du Livre in Marokko und Africa Alive in Deutschland. Sie lebt in Khartum.

Stand: 2022