Rebecca Solnit

Rebecca Solnit was born in California in 1961.  The essayist and historian worked as a museum researcher and editor and since 1988 has been a freelance writer. In her essays she traces thematic junctions in art and cultural history and establishes detailed parallels with the direct present and contemporary political activism. Her knowledgeable and courageous work has been compared with that of Susan Sontag.

The topos of landscape and its cultural significance serves as a point of departure in many of Solnit’s essays.  In 1994 ‘Savage Dreams: A Journey into the Landscape Wars of the American West’ was published. Part travelogue, part historical synopsis, and part meditative landscape contemplation, the book explores a present in which the nuclear wars that were supposed to be in the future and the Indian Wars that were supposed to be in the past are both going on in the present.  ‘Wanderlust’ (2000), Solnit’s most well-known book to date, will be published in German translation in 2007.  This cultural history of walking is, in the author’s own words, concerned with: “walking as a cultural activity, from the peripatetic philosophers of ancient Greece to the contemporary paleontological arguments about bipedal evolution, from an aesthetic pleasure in eighteenth-century England to the growth of politically active walking clubs at the turn of the century and the birth of the outdoor industry and climbing gyms, as well as histories of the rise and fall of urban walking as a pleasure, pedestrian uprisings, and the gender politics of public space.” The following year, Solnit presented a melancholy topography of San Francisco in ‘Hollow City’ (2001).  This study, accompanied by photographic essays, documents how the wealth this city inherited from the computer industry has led to a loss of urban diversity.  The essays in her volume ‘Hope in the Dark’ (2004) are at once optimistic and out for a fight.  Here Solnit with a combative and emboldening appeal reacts against the climate of disappointment and weariness widely felt by American intellectuals and activists, at the latest after George W. Bush’s reelection.  In her most recent work, ‘A Field Guide to Getting Lost’ (2005), the author gathers together autobiographical essays which reflect on moments of uncertainty, doubt, loss, remembrance and desire.  Solnit represents the phenomenon of losing one’s way as a frightening yet also heartening condition of freedom.

Solnit was awarded the Lannan Literary Award for her work, and has received the National Book Critics Circle Award and a grant from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.  She is a columnist for the magazin ‘Orion’ and publishes regularly in the environmental magazine ‘Sierra’ as well as in art journals, museum catalogues and the website ‘tomdispatch.com’. The author, who is active in ecological and human rights issues, lives in San Francisco.

Translator: Michael Mundhenk

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Rebecca Solnit

Rebecca Solnit wurde 1961 in Kalifornien geboren. Die Essayistin und Historikerin arbeitete für Museen und als Redakteurin und ist seit 1988 freie Schriftstellerin. In ihren Essays spürt sie thematischen Verbindungen aus Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte nach und stellt faktenreich Parallelen zur unmittelbaren Gegenwart und zu zeitgenössischem politischem Aktivismus her. Ihr so kenntnisreiches wie couragiertes Werk wird mit demjenigen Susan Sontags verglichen.

Der Topos der Landschaft und ihr kultureller Stellenwert ist ein Ausgangspunkt vieler Studien Solnits. 1994 erschien »Savage Dreams: A Journey into the Landscape Wars of the American West« (Ü: Wilde Träume. Eine Reise in die Landschaftskriege des Amerikanischen Westen). Teils Reisetagebuch, teils geschichtlicher Abriss und teils meditative Landschaftsbetrachtung, wird darin beschrieben, wie die Atomkriege, die in der Zukunft stattfinden sollten, und die Indianerkriege, die in der Vergangenheit stattgefunden haben sollten, sich in der Gegenwart abspielen. »Wanderlust« (2000), Solnits bislang bekanntestes Buch, wird 2007 auch in deutscher Übersetzung erscheinen. Diese Kulturgeschichte des Gehens behandelt – wie die Autorin schreibt – »Gehen als kulturelle Aktivität: von den peripatetischen Philosophen der griechischen Antike zu den zeitgenössischen paleontologischen Thesen über die Evolution des aufrechten Gangs; von einem ästhetischen Vergnügen im England des 18. Jahrhunderts zur Ausbreitung politisch aktiver Wandervereine zur Jahrhundertwende und der Entstehung der Outdoor-Industrie und von Kletterhallen, Fußgängeraufständen und der Gender-Politik des öffentlichen Raumes.« Eine melancholische Topografie San Franciscos legte sie mit »Hollow City« (2001; Ü: Ausgehöhlte Stadt) vor. Diese von Fotoessays begleitete Studie dokumentiert, wie der Reichtum, der von der Computerindustrie in dieser Stadt erworben wurde, den Verlust urbaner Vielfalt nach sich zog. Optimistisch sind die kämpferischen Essays in ihrem Band »Hope in the Dark« (2004; dt. »Hoffnung in der Dunkelheit«, 2005). Auf das Klima der Enttäuschung und Ermüdung, das sich bei den amerikanischen Intellektuellen und Aktivisten endgültig bei George Bushs Wiederwahl breitgemacht hat, reagiert Solnit hier mit kämpferischem und ermutigendem Einspruch. In ihrem bislang letzten Werk, »A Field Guide to Getting Lost« (2005; Ü: Ein Feldführer in die Irre), versammelt die Autorin autobiografische Essays, die Momente von Unsicherheit, Vertrauen, Verlust, Erinnerung und Begehren reflektieren. Solnit stellt darin das Phänomen des Sich-Verirrens als beängstigende, aber ebenso beglückende Bedingung von Freiheit dar. Der Band wird 2006 in deutscher Übersetzung erscheinen.

Solnit wurde für ihr Werk mit dem Lannan Literary Award und dem National Book Critics Circle Award ausgezeichnet und erhielt Stipendien der Guggenheim Foundation und des National Endowment for the Arts. Sie ist Kolumnistin des Magazins »Orion«, veröffentlicht regelmäßig im Umweltmagazin »Sierra« sowie in Kunstzeitschriften, Museumskatalogen und auf der Internetseite »tomdispatch.com«. Die in Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsbewegungen aktive Autorin lebt in San Francisco.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin