22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Ray Loriga

Ray Loriga was born in Madrid in 1967. He made his debut in 1992 with the novel »Lo peor de todo« [tr: The Worst Thing of All], whose protagonist takes stock of his life in his mid-twenties. Translated into several languages, the book made the author internationally known as a Spanish representative of Generation X. Other novels followed, some of which were also translated into German as well as English, including »Tokio ya no nos quiere« [1999; Eng. »Tokyo Doesn’t Love Us Anymore«, 2003], a novel set at the beginning of the 21st century about a modern traveling salesman who distributes a substance capable of erasing memories, and »Trífero« [2000], about a charming con man who tries to prove himself in the world of quantum physics without any expert knowledge.

Ray Loriga’s novel »Rendición« [2017; Eng. »Surrender«, 2020] was awarded the prestigious Premio Alfaguara de Novela in 2017. The dystopian novel, which is neither geographically nor temporally specified, features an anonymous narrator who, along with his wife and a child the two have taken in, are relocated from their country estate to the so-called Transparent City. War has been raging in the country for ten years; the narrator’s two sons fought as soldiers and have since disappeared. In the Transparent City, transparency is the top priority. All walls are transparent and it never gets dark; privacy does not exist. The citizens seem to live in peace, all their basic needs are met. But after a while, the narrator himself no longer understands why he is always so satisfied with everything, why he has almost stopped thinking about his sons or why he misses them. A distrust towards his beautiful new life begins to grow inside him. In an environment that demands conformity, he tries to preserve his individuality. The Alfaguara Prize jury concluded that »›Surrender‹ is a Kafkaesque and Orwellian novel about authority and collective manipulation. A parable of our society, where everyone watches and judges everyone else. With his unpretentious and thoughtful voice, interspersed with humor, the author constructs a luminous fable about exile and loss, about the meaning of parenthood and affection.«

In addition to writing, Ray Loriga has also appeared as a director and screenwriter. He co-wrote the screenplay for Pedro Almodóvar’s film »Carne trémula« and has directed two feature films of his own. He lives in Madrid.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Ray Loriga

Ray Loriga wurde 1967 in Madrid geboren. 1992 debütierte er mit dem Roman »Lo peor de todo« [dt. »Schlimmer geht’s nicht«, 1999], dessen Protagonist bereits mit Mitte zwanzig eine finstere Lebensbilanz zieht. In mehrere Sprachen übersetzt, machte das Buch den Autor als spanischen Vertreter der Generation X international bekannt. Es folgten weitere Romane, die teils auch ins Deutsche übersetzt wurden, darunter »Tokio ya no nos quiere« [1999; dt. »Tokio liebt uns nicht mehr«, 2000], ein zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts angesiedelter Roman über einen modernen Handlungsreisenden, der eine Substanz vertreibt, die Erinnerungen auszulöschen vermag, und »Trífero« [2000; dt. 2002] über einen charmanten Hochstapler, der sich ohne jegliches Fachwissen in der Welt der Quantenphysik zu bewähren versucht.

Ray Lorigas Roman »Rendición« [2017; dt. »Kapitulation«, 2022] wurde 2017 mit dem hochdotierten Premio Alfaguara de Novela ausgezeichnet. Der dystopische, geografisch und zeitlich nicht näher verortete Roman lässt einen anonymen Erzähler zu Wort kommen, der mit seiner Frau und einem Kind, das die beiden bei sich aufgenommen haben, von ihrem Landgut in die sogenannte Durchsichtige Stadt umgesiedelt werden. Seit zehn Jahren herrscht Krieg in dem Land, die beiden Söhne des Erzählers haben als Soldaten gekämpft und sind mittlerweile verschollen. In der Durchsichtigen Stadt ist Transparenz das oberste Gebot. Alle Wände sind durchsichtig, und es wird niemals dunkel; Privatsphäre existiert nicht. Die Bürger:innen leben scheinbar in Frieden, alle ihre Grundbedürfnisse werden befriedigt. Doch nach einer Weile versteht der Erzähler selbst nicht mehr, warum er immer so zufrieden mit allem ist, warum er beinahe aufgehört hat, an seine Söhne zu denken, sie zu vermissen. In ihm wächst ein Misstrauen gegenüber seiner schönen neuen Lebenswelt. In einer Umgebung, die Konformität fordert, versucht er seine Individualität zu bewahren. »›Kapitulation‹ ist ein kafkaesker und orwellscher Roman über Autorität und kollektive Manipulation. Eine Parabel auf unsere Gesellschaft, in der jeder jeden beobachtet und beurteilt. Mit seiner unprätentiösen und nachdenklichen Stimme, in die sich immer wieder Humor mischt, konstruiert der Autor eine leuchtende Fabel über Exil und Verlust, über die Bedeutung von Elternschaft und Zuneigung«, so die Jury des Alfaguara-Preises.

Neben seiner schriftstellerischen Tätigkeit tritt Ray Loriga auch als Regisseur und Drehbuchautor in Erscheinung. So verfasste er zusammen mit Pedro Almodóvar das Drehbuch zu dessen Film »Carne trémula« und realisierte zwei eigene Spielfilme. Er lebt in Madrid.

Stand: 2022