23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Radka Denemarková

Radka Denemarková was born in 1968 in Kutná Hora. After completing her studies and PhD in Prague she lectured at the Institute for Czech Literature at the Charles University as well as worked as a translator and journalist.

Her second novel »Peníze od Hitlera« [2006; tr: A Wonderful Patch of Earth], which was awarded the prestigious Czech Magnesia-Litera-Prize in 2007, tells the story of the Jewish girl Gita who escapes death in a concentration camp and returns to her home in Bohemia following the war. However, she is denounced as a German-speaking collaborator by the villagers, humiliated, and once again driven away. After spending her life in Prague working as a doctor, Gita risks one more attempt to return to the home of her lost childhood in order to reconcile with her family, but once again she encounters bitter hostility from the village’s younger generation. Denemarková’s physiological precision reflects her lucid and poetically imagistic language, which relentlessly highlights the directly experienced reality of human brutality and perfidy. This mode of writing, oriented on the scenic, is a result of influences which include her work as a translator of Bertolt Brecht and Thomas Bernhard and her time spent as a reader and dramatic advisor at the Prague theatre Divadlo Na zábradlí.

Alongside scripts written for documentary films about Czech figures, Denemarková is noted for her factual novel about the theatrical director Pétr Lébla »Smrt, nebudeš se báti aneb příběh Petra Lébla« [2008; tr: Death, You Will Not Be Afraid; or, The Story of Petra Lébla]. Her theoretically concise and detailed writing style is joined here with a fascination of the theatrical world and the powerful literary appropriation of controversial social themes. In her own way, Denemarková thus brings herself full-circle back to her first novel »A já pořád kdo to tluče« [2005; tr: Who is Constantly Knocking?], which uses hysterical prose to portray the theatrical milieu as a place of deep passions in a tense and thrillingly grotesque story of murder, addiction, and existential doubts. This is yet another facet of Denemarková’s boundary-crossing writing. Her stage play »Spaci vady« [tr: Sleep Disorders] premiered at the Divadlo Na zábradlí theatre in Prague in 2010. After two additional novels and the Holocaust memorial book »Als wäre das alles gestern geschehen« [2021; tr: As if It All Happened Yesterday], her novel »Hodiny z olova« [2018; tr: Hours of Lead«], which is an angry indictment of Chinese dictatorship and Europe’s hypocritical approach, was recently published and was awarded the Magnesia Litera Award. It was reviewed as an »opus magnus«, with which the author »enrolled herself in the league of authors deserving of the Nobel Prize« [Daniela Strigl, ORF Ö1, Ex libris].

The author has also received a number of other awards, including the Georg Dehio Book Prize, the H. C. Artmann Scholarship, the Leuk Literature Prize, the Usedomer Literaturpreis, Literaturpreis des Landes Steiermark, and the Magnesa Litera for her translation of Herta Müller’s »Atemschaukel«. She lives and works in Prague.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Radka Denemarková

Radka Denemarková wurde 1968 in Kutná Hora geboren. Nach dem Studium und ihrer Promotion in Prag arbeitete sie als Dozentin am Institut für tschechische Literatur an der Karls-Universität und daneben als Übersetzerin und Journalistin.

In ihrem zweiten Roman »Peníze od Hitlera« [2006, dt. »Ein herrlicher Flecken Erde«, 2009], der 2007 mit dem angesehenen tschechischen Magnesia-Litera-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde, erzählt Denemarková von dem jüdischen Mädchen Gita, das dem Tod im Konzentrationslager entrinnt und nach Kriegsende in ihre böhmische Heimat zurückkehrt. Von der Dorfbevölkerung wird sie jedoch als Deutsch sprechende Kollaborateurin der Nazis denunziert, gedemütigt und erneut vertrieben. Nachdem sie ihr Leben in Prag verbracht und als Ärztin gearbeitet hat, wagt Gita ein letztes Mal die Rückkehr an den Ort ihrer verlorenen Kindheit, um ihre Familie zu rehabilitieren, stößt aber von Neuem auf erbitterten Widerstand seitens der jüngeren Generation des Dorfes. Denemarkovás physiologische Genauigkeit spiegelt ihre luzide und an poetischen Bildern reiche Sprache, die die unmittelbar erlebte Wirklichkeit menschlicher Brutalität und Niedertracht schonungslos herausstellt. Diese am Szenischen orientierte Schreibweise resultiert nicht zuletzt aus ihren Erfahrungen als Übersetzerin etwa Bertolt Brechts oder Thomas Bernhards sowie aus der Arbeit als Lektorin und Dramaturgin am Prager Theater »Divadlo Na zábradlí«.

Neben Drehbüchern zu Dokumentarfilmen über tschechische Persönlichkeiten trat Denemarková mit ihrem faktografischen Roman über den Theaterregisseur Pétr Lébl hervor [»Smrt, nebudeš se báti aneb příběh Petra Lébla«, 2008]. Ihre theoretisch konzise und detailgetreue Schreibweise paart sich hier mit der Faszination für die Theaterwelt und der kraftvollen literarischen Aneignung gesellschaftlich kontroverser Themen. So schließt Denemarková eigenwillig den Kreis zu ihrem ersten Roman »A já pořád kdo to tluče« [2005], der das dramatische Milieu als einen Raum tiefster Leidenschaften schildert, indem er eine spannungsreiche Groteske um Mord, Abhängigkeit und existenzielle Zweifel in eine hysterische Sprache gießt. Dies ist eine weitere Facette von Denemarkovás Genregrenzen überschreitendem Schreiben. 2010 hatte ihr Theaterstück »Spací vady« [Ü: Schlafstörungen] Premiere im Theater Divadlo Na zábradlí in Prag. Nach zwei weiteren Romanen und dem Holocaust-Gedenkbuch »Als wäre das alles gestern geschehen« [2021] erschien zuletzt der Roman »Hodiny z olova« [2018; dt. »Stunden aus Blei«, 2022], eine wütende Anklage der chinesischen Diktatur und der scheinheiligen Rolle Europas, ausgezeichnet mit dem Magnesia-Litera-Preis. Der Roman wird als »Opus Magnus« beschrieben, mit dem sich die Autorin »in die Liga der nobelpreisverdächtigen Autoren geschrieben hat« [Daniela Strigl, ORF Ö1, Ex libris].

Die Autorin erhielt zudem u. a. den Georg Dehio-Buchpreis, das H. C. Artmann-Stipendium, den Literaturpreis Leuk, den Usedomer Literaturpreis, den Literaturpreis des Landes Steiermark und für ihre Übersetzung von Herta Müllers »Atemschaukel« den Magnesa Litera. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Prag.

Stand: 2022