23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

R.O. Kwon

R. O. Kwon was born in Seoul, South Korea, and moved to the USA with her family at the age of three. She grew up in Los Angeles in a Christian environment, but at the age of seventeen she experienced a crisis of faith and distanced herself from the devoutness of her family. After studying at Yale University, she wrote for several newspapers, including »The New York Times«, »The Guardian«, and the media platform »BuzzFeed«.

Her début novel »The Incendiaries« was published in 2018. Kwon spent circa ten years writing this text about a woman who becomes entangled with a Christian cult: After entering the prestigious Edwards University, Will meets popular Phoebe at a party. Although Phoebe, who is of Korean descent, makes a carefree impression, she is still mourning the death of her mother, for which she blames herself. She finds comfort in the campus prayer group Jejah (Korean for submission). Will witnesses how Phoebe is drawn deeper and deeper into the spell of the group’s eccentric leader John Leal, who claims to have survived a stay in a North Korean gulag. When five people eventually die in bomb attacks, suspicions arise that it was a religiously motivated attack. Phoebe has disappeared. Will tries to understand how the woman he loved could have been capable of such violence. Kwon mentioned in an interview that the inspiration for this book was her own loss of faith: »It’s like what people say about going bankrupt. It happens gradually and then all at once. That was my experience as well. After all these years it’s still so hard for me to tell how shattering that moment was. That was one of the first reasons I set out to write this book, to try to convey the magnitude of this loss that I had, and still have, a lot of trouble talking about.« Her book is not only about the loss of faith, but is also an insightful study of class hierarchies. The scene of the plot, an elite university, is revealed as an incubator for the children of the ruling class that turns less wealthy students like Will into outsiders – he owes his enrollment to a scholarship that in no way puts him on an equal level with his privileged peers.

»The Incendiaries« was a 2018 bestseller in the USA and was regarded by many critics as one of the best books of the year. The novel was nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Carnegie Medal, among others. Kwon has received grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, Yaddo, and MacDowell. She lives in San Francisco.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

R.O. Kwon

R. O. Kwon wurde in Seoul, Südkorea, geboren und zog im Alter von drei Jahren mit ihrer Familie in die USA. Dort wuchs sie in Los Angeles in einer christlich geprägten Umgebung auf, erlebte jedoch mit siebzehn eine Glaubenskrise und distanzierte sich von der Religiosität ihrer Familie. Nach ihrem Studium an der Yale University schrieb sie für diverse Zeitungen wie »The New York Times« und »The Guardian« sowie das Medienportal »BuzzFeed«.

2018 erschien ihr Debütroman »The Incendiaries« (dt. »Die Brandstifter«, 2019). Kwon schrieb etwa zehn Jahre an diesem Text über eine junge Frau, die unter den Einfluss einer christlichen Sekte gerät: Will kommt als Stipendiat an die prestigeträchtige Edwards University und lernt auf einer Party die allseits beliebte Phoebe kennen. Die koreanischstämmige Phoebe macht zwar einen sorglosen Eindruck, leidet aber immer noch unter dem Tod ihrer Mutter, an dem sie sich die Schuld gibt. Trost findet sie in der Gruppe Jejah (koreanisch für Unterwerfung). Will erlebt mit, wie Phoebe von deren exzentrischem Anführer John Leal immer tiefer in den Bann gezogen wird, der behauptet, eine Inhaftierung in einem nordkoreanischen Gulag überlebt zu haben. Als schließlich fünf Menschen bei Bombenanschlägen ums Leben kommen, entsteht der Verdacht, dass es sich um einen religiös motivierten Anschlag handelt. Phoebe ist verschwunden. Will versucht zu verstehen, wie die Frau, die er liebte, fähig sein konnte, sich an einem Gewaltakt zu beteiligen. Kwon erwähnte in einem Interview, der Anlass für dieses Buch sei ihr eigener Glaubensverlust gewesen: »Es fühlte sich so an, wie andere Leute einen Bankrott beschreiben. Es vollzieht sich schleichend, und dann ist es auf einmal passiert. So war auch meine Erfahrung. Nach all den Jahren fällt es mir immer noch schwer zu beschreiben, wie erschütternd dieser Moment war. Das ist einer der wichtigsten Gründe, warum ich dieses Buch schreiben wollte: Um das Ausmaß des Verlusts zu vermitteln, unter dem ich immer noch leide und über den zu sprechen mir immer noch Mühe bereitet.« Ihr Buch erzählt nicht nur vom Verlust des Glaubens, sondern ist auch eine aufschlussreiche Studie zur Klassenhierarchie. Der Schauplatz der Handlung, eine Elitehochschule, zeigt sich als Inkubator für die Sprösslinge der herrschenden Klasse, die weniger wohlhabende Studierende wie Will zu Außenseitern macht – er verdankt seinen Aufenthalt dort einem Stipendium, das ihn allerdings mit seinen privilegierten Altersgenossen keineswegs materiell gleichstellt.

»The Incendiaries« war 2018 in den USA ein Bestseller und galt vielen Kritikern als eines der besten Bücher des Jahres. Der Roman wurde u. a. für den National Book Critics Circle Award, den Los Angeles Times Book Prize und die Carnegie Medal nominiert. Kwon erhielt Stipendien von der National Endowment for Arts, Yaddo und MacDowell. Sie lebt in San Francisco.