23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Pilar Quintana

Pilar Quintana was born in Calí in 1972. She began her studies at the Liceo Benalcázar in Calí and later studied social communication at the Javeriana University in Bogotá. After graduating, she worked as a scriptwriter for television and as an advertising copywriter. For three years, she traveled the world and, upon her return, settled in the Colombian Pacific.

Her debut novel »Cosquillas en la lengua« [tr: Tickles on the Tongue] was published in 2003. This was followed by publications of short prose in magazines and anthologies in Latin America, Spain, and Germany. In 2007, the Hay Festival Bogotá selected her as one of the 39 most outstanding writers under 39 in Latin America. In 2010, she received the Premio La Mar de Letras from the Spanish festival La Mar de Músicas in Cartagena for the novel »Coleccionistas de polvos raros« [2007; tr: Collectors of Rare Powders]. In 2011, she represented Colombia in the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa and participated in an international workshop for writers at the Baptist University of Hong Kong in 2012. Quintana’s texts explore Colombian reality, especially the aspect of violence.

Her story collection »La nueva aventura Caperucita Roja, donde ella se come al lobo« [2012; tr: The New Adventure of Little Red Riding Hood, Where She Eats the Wolf] caused a scandal in Chile with its blatant portrayal of female sexual desires. Quintana made her international breakthrough with »La perra« [2017; Eng. »The Bitch«, 2020]. Damaris, a fortyish black woman, lives in a small village in South America. When her long-term relationship with the fisherman Rogelio fails to fulfill her desire to have a child, Damaris adopts a puppy and now projects her love onto the animal, which visibly takes on a life of its own until Damaris kills it when she realizes that the dog is pregnant. Quintana describes the hard everyday life in this part of Colombia from her own perspective and shows the wounds of a society that is characterized by insurmountable social barriers and a separation of whites and blacks, and whose rules make a childless woman like Damaris an outsider. Quintana tells the deeply sad story in a laconic tone, achieving a high degree of urgency. The novel, which is preserved as a particularly valuable object in a marble time capsule in Bogotá for future generations, received the 2018 Premio Biblioteca de Narrativa Colombiana and a PEN translation award. The German translation was awarded the LiBeraturpreis 2021.

For her novel »Los abismos« [2021], she received the XXIV Premio Alfaguara de Novela. It tells the shocking story of a girl who looks into the dark corners of the adult world and tries to understand her parents’ conflicted relationship.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Pilar Quintana

Pilar Quintana wurde 1972 in Calí geboren. Sie studierte am Liceo Benalcázar in Calí und später Soziale Kommunikation an der Javeriana-Universität in Bogotá. Nach ihrem Abschluss arbeitete sie als Drehbuchautorin fürs Fernsehen und als Werbetexterin. Drei Jahre lang bereiste sie die Welt und ließ sich nach ihrer Rückkehr am kolumbianischen Pazifik nieder.

2003 debütierte sie mit ihrem Roman »Cosquillas en la lengua« [Ü: Kitzeln auf der Zunge]. Es folgten Veröffentlichungen von Kurzprosa in Zeitschriften und Anthologien in Lateinamerika, Spanien und Deutschland. 2007 wählte sie das Hay Festival Bogotá zu einer der 39 herausragendsten Schriftsteller:innen unter 39 Jahren in Lateinamerika. 2010 erhielt sie für den Roman »Coleccionistas de polvos raros« [2007; Ü: Sammler seltener Pulver] vom spanischen Festival La Mar de Músicas in Cartagena den Premio La Mar de Letras. 2011 vertrat sie Kolumbien im International Writing Program an der University of Iowa, 2012 beteiligte sie sich an einem internationalen Workshop für Schriftsteller:innen der Baptist University of Hong Kong.

Quintanas Texte sind eine Auseinandersetzung mit der kolumbianischen Realität, insbesondere mit dem Aspekt der Gewalt. Ihr Erzählband »La nueva aventura Caperucita Roja, donde ella se come al lobo« [2012; Ü: Neue Abenteuer von Rotkäppchen, das den Wolf frisst] sorgte mit seiner unverhohlenen Darstellung weiblicher sexueller Begierden in Chile für einen Skandal.

Ihren internationalen Durchbruch schaffte Quintana mit »La perra« [2017; dt. »Hündin«, 2020]. Damaris, eine Schwarze Frau um die vierzig, lebt in einem kleinen Dorf in Südamerika. Als sich in ihrer langjährigen Beziehung mit dem Fischer Rogelio der Kinderwunsch nicht erfüllt, adoptiert Damaris einen Hundewelpen und projiziert ihre Liebe nun auf das Tier, das zusehends ein Eigenleben führt, bis Damaris es umbringt, als sie erkennt, dass die Hündin trächtig ist. Quintana beschreibt den harten Alltag in diesem Teil Kolumbiens aus eigener Anschauung und zeigt die Wunden einer Gesellschaft, die durch unüberwindliche soziale Schranken und eine Trennung von Weißen und Schwarzen geprägt ist und deren Regeln eine kinderlose Frau wie Damaris zur Außenseiterin werden lassen. Die tieftraurige Geschichte erzählt Quintana in lakonischem Ton und erreicht damit eine hohe Eindringlichkeit. Der Roman, der als besonders wertvolles Objekt in einer Marmorzeitkapsel in Bogotá für künftige Generationen aufbewahrt wird, erhielt 2018 den Premio Biblioteca de Narrativa Colombiana und einen PEN Übersetzungspreis. Die deutsche Übersetzung wurde mit dem LiBeraturpreis 2021 ausgezeichnet.

Für ihren Roman »Los abismos« [2021; »Abgrund«, 2022] erhielt sie den XXIV. Premio Alfaguara de Novela. Er erzählt die schockierende Geschichte eines Mädchens, das in die dunklen Winkel der Erwachsenenwelt schaut und versucht, die konfliktgeladene Beziehung ihrer Eltern zu verstehen.

Stand: 2022