23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Paula Carballeira

Paula Carballeira was born in 1972 in Fene, Galicia, and studied Hispanic Studies in Santiago de Compostela. In her home country, she is known as a television and theater actress, and since 1990 she has also been active as a writer of children’s and young adult books. She has received many awards for her work, including the Premio Manuel María de Literatura Dramática Infantil on two occasions.

One award was for »Boas noites« [2007; tr: Good Night] about Xiana, who has no time to think, play, or dream. Pedro Chosco, a mythical figure from Galician mythology whose job it is to get children to sleep, also has a difficult time with her … The other occasion was for »O refugallo« [2013; tr: The Garbage] about four children: Isolda, Hipatia, Borboronte, and Lustucrú. They create a new world for themselves out of old, broken things – or, in short, what others consider trash.

»O principio« [2012; Eng. »The Beginning«, 2012] is the first book from the author’s extensive oeuvre to be translated into German. With simple, poetic sentences, it tells, from the perspective of a child, of a family that has survived a devastating war. Although virtually everything is destroyed, including their shared home, the father, mother, and two children undertake a new beginning and face all adversity with courage and confidence. Being homeless doesn’t matter, says the mother, at least there is a car, and with a car you can travel. Fewer possessions also means less effort to keep one’s possessions. And those who can’t sleep at night because of fear can always snuggle up to the others. Sonja Danowski’s illustrations are in autumnal tones, their hyper-realistic character underlining the dramatic and emotional content of this parable-like story, which reminds you that you can always look at every situation differently, however adverse it may be; that cohesion is more important than material things; and that your own attitude plays a big part in how well or badly fate means it with you. Somewhere there is always something to play with, a hearty laugh will be contagious everywhere in the world, any lost magic can be found again – because in the end, »The Beginning« is also a book about hope. Because of its positive message, the publisher recommends the book for children as young as three years old.

The author lives in Santiago de Compostela.

Date: 2022

Paula Carballeira

Portrait Paula Carballeira
Paula Carballeira [© privat]

Paula Carballeira wurde 1972 im galizischen Fene geboren und studierte Hispanistik in Santiago de Compostela. In ihrem Heimatland ist sie als Fernseh- und Theaterschauspielerin bekannt, seit 1990 ist sie außerdem als Kinder- und Jugendbuchautorin tätig. Sie wurde für ihr Schaffen bereits vielfach ausgezeichnet, darunter zweimal mit dem Premio Manuel María de Literatura Dramática Infantil.

Zum einen prämiert wurde »Boas noites« [2007; Ü: Gute Nacht] über Xiana, die weder Zeit zum Nachdenken noch zum Spielen oder Träumen hat. Bei ihr hat auch Pedro Chosco, eine in der galizischen Mythologie angesiedelte Sagengestalt, deren Aufgabe es ist, Kinder zum Schlafen zu bringen, ein schweres Spiel … Zum anderen erhielt sie den Preis für »O refugallo« [2013; Ü: Der Müll] über vier Kinder: Isolda, Hipatia, Borboronte und Lustucrú. Aus alten, kaputten Dingen – oder kurz dem, was andere für Müll halten – erschaffen sie sich eine neue Welt.

»O principio« [2012; dt. »Der Anfang«, 2014] ist das erste Buch aus dem umfangreichen Werk der Autorin, das ins Deutsche übersetzt wurde. Mit einfachen, poetischen Sätzen erzählt es aus der Perspektive eines Kindes von einer Familie, die einen verheerenden Krieg überlebt hat. Obwohl praktisch alles zerstört ist, auch das gemeinsame Zuhause, unternehmen Vater, Mutter und zwei Kinder einen Neuanfang und stellen sich allen Widrigkeiten mit Mut und Zuversicht. Obdachlos zu sein macht nichts, so die Mutter, immerhin gibt es ein Auto, und mit einem Auto kann man reisen. Wenig Hab und Gut bedeutet auch weniger Mühe, die eigenen Besitztümer zu bewahren. Und wer nachts vor Angst nicht schlafen kann, kann sich immer an die anderen kuscheln. Die Illustrationen von Sonja Danowski sind in herbstlichen Tönen gehalten, ihr hyperrealistischer Charakter unterstreicht den dramatischen und emotionalen Gehalt dieser parabelhaften Geschichte, die einen daran erinnert, dass man jede Situation, so widrig sie auch sein mag, immer auch noch einmal anders betrachten kann; dass Zusammenhalt wichtiger ist als Materielles; und dass die eigene Haltung einen großen Anteil daran hat, wie gut oder schlecht das Schicksal es mit einem meint. Irgendwo findet sich immer etwas, womit man spielen kann, ein herzliches Lachen wird überall auf der Welt ansteckend sein, jeder verlorene Zauber lässt sich wiederfinden – denn letzten Endes ist »Der Anfang« auch ein Buch der Hoffnung. Aufgrund seiner positiven Botschaft empfiehlt der Verlag das Buch bereits für Kinder ab drei Jahren.

Die Autorin lebt in Santiago de Compostela.

Stand: 2022