Paul Muldoon

Portrait Paul Muldoon
© Hartwig Klappert

The poet Paul Muldoon was born in Portadown, County Armagh, Northern Ireland in 1951 and grew up in the rural region of the Moy. He studied English language and literature at Queen’s University in Belfast, where he later worked for the BBC, pr oducing mostly radio broadcasts before moving on to television. From the very first volume of poems, »New Weather« (1973) he was hailed as a poet of note and was frequently compared to the Nobel Prize winner Seamus Heaney, whose student he was. Following a period as Writer in Residency at the University of Cambridge, Muldoon moved to the USA in 1987, where he has lived ever since, teaching at Columbia University and Princeton. He was Professor of Poetry at Oxford from 1999 to 2004. The lectures he gave there on the art of poetry were published under the ambiguous title »The End of the Poem« (2006). The lucid, playful, horizon-broadening analyses of poems from the last two centuries also pr ovide a glimpse into Muldoon’s own aesthetic means of pr oduction. By way of close reading, the author isolates individual strands within the fabric of the text and follows them in the different linguistic, literary, historical and theoretical contexts to which they refer. Plurality of meaning, sounds and echoes, etymology and wordplay all become the means through which the power of language gets visible beyond its functionality. »We may use language as a tool, or we may be used by language. And I think that’s the distinction. But even if one’s using it as a tool, I think every one has had the experience of being used by it.«
Among Muldoon’s lasting influences are the pr ecursors to Modernism T.S. Eliot and Robert Frost, and the Metaphysical Poets (especially John Donne). Muldoon took up their stylistic devices with brilliant ease, as he accommodated himself to traditional poetic forms including the sonnet. He has again and again published long poems, among them »Madoc: A Mystery« (1990), considered his masterpiece. It pr esents a plan dreamt up by Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Robert Southey to found a Utopian society in America as an actual historical experiment. In 2006, the collection »Horse Latitudes« has appeared, the most recent of nearly thirty books of poetry. Muldoon has also published essays, children’s books, plays, opera libretti and has worked as an anthology editor and translator (i.e. of Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill and Aristophanes).
Muldoon is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of the American Academy of Fine Arts and Sciences. Among his awards are the T.S. Eliot Prize, an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award, the Irish Times Poetry Prize, the Pulitzer Prize and the Shakespeare Prize. He currently teaches at the University of Princeton and lives with his family in New Jersey.

© international literature festival berlin

Paul Muldoon

Portrait Paul Muldoon
© Hartwig Klappert

Der Lyriker Paul Muldoon wurde 1951 in Portadown, im nordirischen County Armagh, geboren und wuchs in der ländlichen Gegend von the Moy auf. Er studierte Anglistik an der Queen’s University in Belfast, wo er für die BBC arbeitete und vor allem Radiosendungen, später auch Fernsehsendungen, pr oduzierte. Bereits seit seinem frühen Gedichtband »New Weather« (1973; Ü: Neues Wetter) gilt er als Lyriker von Rang und wird immer wieder mit Nobel pr eisträger Seamus Heaney verglichen, dessen Student er war. Nach einem Aufenthalt als Writer in Residency an der Universität von Cambridge zog Muldoon 1987 in die USA, wo er seitdem lebt und an der Columbia University und in Princeton unterrichtete. 1999-2004 war er zudem Professor of Poetry an der University of Oxford. Seine dort gehaltenen Vorlesungen über Dichtkunst erschienen unter dem mehrdeutigen Titel »The End of the Poem« (2006; Ü: Das Ende/der Zweck des Gedichts). Die luziden, spielerischen und horizonterweiternden Analysen von Gedichten aus den letzten zwei Jahrhunderten können einen Eindruck von Muldoons eigener ästhetischer Produktionsweise vermitteln. In der Manier des close reading löst der Autor einzelne Fäden aus dem Textgewebe und folgt ihnen in die verschiedenen s pr achlichen, literarischen, geschichtlichen und theoretischen Kontexte, in die sie verweisen. Bedeutungsvielfalt, Klänge und Anklänge, etymologische Wurzeln und Wortspiele werden zu Mitteln, anhand derer die Macht der S pr ache jenseits ihrer Funktionalität sichtbar wird. »Wir können S pr ache als Werkzeug benutzen oder von ihr selbst benutzt werden. Das ist, glaube ich, der Unterschied. Aber auch, wenn man die S pr ache als Werkzeug benutzt, wird man von ihr – wie wohl jeder erfahren hat – doch gleichzeitig selbst benutzt.«

Zu Muldoons pr ägenden Einflüssen zählen modernistische Vorläufer wie T.S. Eliot und Robert Frost, aber auch die »metaphysischen Dichter«, insbesondere John Donne. Deren Stilmittel greift Muldoon mit ebensolcher brillanten Leichtigkeit auf, wie er sich traditioneller Gedichtformen wie z.B. des Sonetts bedient. Immer wieder veröffentlichte er Langgedichte, darunter auch »Madoc: A Mystery« (1990), das als sein Meisterwerk gilt. Es stellt den Plan von Samuel Taylor Coleridge und Robert Southey, die in Amerika eine utopische Gemeinde zu gründen erwogen, als tatsächliches historisches Experiment dar. Jüngst erschien der Gedichtband »Horse Latitudes« (2006; Ü: Rossbreiten) als letzter von inzwischen knapp dreißig Lyrikbänden. Muldoon veröffentlichte ebenfalls wissenschaftliche Aufsätze, Kinderbücher, Dramen, Opernlibretti, und er trat als Herausgeber von Anthologien und als Übersetzer (u.a. von Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill und Aristophanes) hervor.
Muldoon ist Fellow der Royal Society of Literature und der American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Zu seinen Auszeichnungen zählen der T.S. Eliot Prize, ein American Academy of Arts and Letters Award, der Irish Times Poetry Prize, der Pulitzer Prize, der Griffin International Prize, der American Ireland Fund Literary Award und der Shakespeare Prize. Er unterrichtet derzeit an der Universität von Princeton und lebt mit seiner Familie in New Jersey.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin