23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Olga Martynova

Olga Martynova was born near Krasnoyarsk in Siberia in 1962. She grew up in Leningrad, where she studied Russian language and literature and co-founded the poetry group Kamera Chranenia [tr: Luggage Storage] in the 1980s. She moved to Germany with her husband, the writer Oleg Yuriev, in 1991. She writes her poetry in Russian and her essays and prose in German.

In 2010, she made her debut as an author with »Sogar Papageien überleben uns« [tr: Even Parrots Live Longer than Us] which made it onto the longlist for the German Book Prize. Its eighty short texts are about a St. Petersburg Slavist who attends a congress on Daniil Charms in Berlin. The situation inspires her to create various chains of associations with Russian-Soviet history of the 20th century. Olga Martynova won the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize in 2012 for a chapter of her subsequent novel »Mörikes Schlüsselbein« [2013; tr: Mörike’s Collarbone]. The cross-genre text centers on a Russian-German couple with an illustrious circle of friends and a son who wants to make literature his profession. »Olga Martynova links what is stored in collective memory and puts it in relation to each other […] she listens for the secret correspondence between words, images, between Germans and Russians, for the related tones between the uncertain smile of an ice cream saleswoman and the image of an Egyptian pharaoh’s daughter« [»Stuttgarter Zeitung«].

Martynova’s novel »Der Engelsherd« [tr: The Angel’s Hearth], about the love between a writer and a young doctoral student who is writing her dissertation about him, was published in 2016. In this text, which is simultaneously a satire on the literary establishment, Martynova uses poetic language to explore the relationship between beauty and violence. The titular figures of the spiritual world are also given a voice in order to »reconcile the trivial and the miraculous« [»Der Tagesspiegel«]. In her most recent collection of essays, »Über die Dummheit der Stunde« [2018; tr: On the Stupidity of the Hour], Martynova not only addresses contemporary issues such as the state of contemporary Russian society, Crimea, and its landscapes and inhabitants, but also describes travels and makes excursions into Russian literary history.

Martynova also writes reviews for the »Neue Zürcher Zeitung«, the »Frankfurter Rundschau«, and »DIE ZEIT«. Her poems have been translated into German, English, Italian, Albanian, and French, among other languages. Martynova has received many scholarships and prizes, including the Hubert Burda Prize for Young Poetry in 2000, the Adelbert von Chamisso Prize in 2011, the scholarship of the International Artists’ House Villa Concordia in Bamberg in 2013/14, and the Berlin Literature Prize in 2015. In the same year, she held the Heiner Müller Visiting Professorship for German-Language Poetics at the FU Berlin. She lives in Frankfurt am Main.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Olga Martynova

Portrait Olga Martynova
dig

Olga Martynova wurde 1962 bei Krasnojarsk in Sibirien geboren. Sie wuchs in Leningrad auf, wo sie Russische Sprache und Literatur studierte und in den 1980ern die Dichtergruppe Kamera Chranenia [Ü: Gepäckaufbewahrung] mitbegründete. Mit ihrem Mann, dem Schriftsteller Oleg Jurjew, siedelte sie 1991 nach Deutschland über. Ihre Gedichte schreibt sie auf Russisch; Essays und Prosa auf Deutsch.

2010 debütierte sie als Prosaautorin mit dem Band »Sogar Papageien überleben uns«, der es auf die Longlist des Deutschen Buchpreises schaffte. Die achtzig kurzen Texte darin handeln von einer Petersburger Slawistin, die in Berlin an einem Kongress über Daniil Charms teilnimmt. Die Situation regt sie zu verschiedenen Assoziationsketten an, mit denen russisch-sowjetische Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts verhandelt wird. Für ein Kapitel ihres folgenden Romans »Mörikes Schlüsselbein« [2013] gewann Olga Martynova 2012 den Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis. Im Mittelpunkt des genreübergreifenden Textes steht ein russisch-deutsches Paar, das man bereits aus dem Vorgängerband kennt, mit einem illustren Freundeskreis und einem Sohn, der die Literatur zum Beruf machen will. »Olga Martynova verknüpft das im kollektiven Hauptspeicher Verwahrte und setzt es miteinander ins Verhältnis […] sie lauscht auf die geheime Korrespondenz zwischen Worten, Bildern, zwischen Deutschen und Russen, auf die verwandten Töne zwischen dem unsicheren Lächeln einer Eis-Verkäuferin und dem Abbild einer ägyptischen Pharaonentochter« [»Stuttgarter Zeitung«].

2016 erschien Martynovas Roman »Der Engelherd« über die Liebe zwischen einem Schriftsteller und einer jungen Doktorandin, die über ihn ihre Dissertation schreibt. In diesem handlungsarmen Text, der nebenbei auch eine Satire auf den Literaturbetrieb ist, erforscht Martynova mit poetischer Sprache das Verhältnis von Schönheit und Gewalt. Die titelgebenden Gestalten der geistigen Welt bekommen ebenfalls eine Stimme, um das »Triviale und Wunderbare zu versöhnen« [»Der Tagesspiegel«]. In ihrem jüngsten Essayband »Über die Dummheit der Stunde« [2018] behandelt Olga Martynova nicht nur brennende Fragen der Gegenwart wie den Zustand der heutigen russischen Gesellschaft, die Krim und ihre Landschaften und Bewohner:innen, sondern unternimmt auch Exkurse in die russische Literaturgeschichte und fügt Reisebeschreibungen ein.

Neben ihrem schriftstellerischen und essayistischen Schaffen schreibt Martynova Rezensionen für die »Neue Zürcher Zeitung«, die »Frankfurter Rundschau« und »DIE ZEIT«. Ihre russischsprachigen Gedichte wurden u. a. ins Deutsche, Englische, Italienische, Albanische und Französische übertragen. Olga Martynova erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Preise, darunter den Hubert-Burda-Preis für junge Lyrik 2000, den Adelbert-von-Chamisso-Preis 2011, das Stipendium des Internationalen Künstlerhauses Villa Concordia in Bamberg 2013/14 und den Berliner Literaturpreis 2015. Im selben Jahr hatte sie die Heiner-Müller-Gastprofessur für deutschsprachige Poetik an der FU Berlin inne. Sie lebt in Frankfurt am Main.

Stand: 2022