23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Nora Iuga

Nora Iuga was born in Bucharest in 1931. She comes from an artist family and grew up in several countries, including Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands, where her parents went on tour for two years, as well as in the Transylvanian city of Sibiu and in the Romanian capital. After completing her studies in German language and literature, she worked as a German teacher, bibliographer in the National Library, editorial journalist for the German language newspaper »Neuer Weg« (New Way) and the magazine »Volk und Kultur« (Nation and Culture), editor at the national academic and encyclopaedic publishing house, and as translator and director of the poetry section of the Writers’ Association. Ironic and agile-witted just as are her poems, she repeatedly got into conflict with the Communist authorities in Romania.

Nevertheless, she became increasingly established over the years – and beyond the 1989 revolution – as a prominent voice in Romanian poetry. Poets across the generations consider her as a leading influence on Romanian literature. Her ever diverse work shows the influence of the Oniric group, whose aim it was to bring Surrealism back to life in Romanian literature. Jumping between a great variety of situations restlessly, her unrhymed verse spirals through poetic forms addressing physicality, longing and desire, and connecting melancholy and love of life with clear, fresh imagery. »I can’t stay with a single feeling for very long at a time«, Iuga ad mit ted in an interview, »because I get terribly bored, especially when in pain or in melancholy or, I don’t know, when dejected – ›Schwermut‹ is a word I always have to laugh at, it’s so German, I don’t know why, but it always makes me laugh.«

Following the publication of her second volume of poetry, »Captivitatea cercului«, (1970; t: Caught in the circle), Iuga was banned from publishing her work. The publication of her third volume of poetry was allowed eight years later, and since then nine volumes have followed. Iuga has also been translating from German, in particular works by contemporary writers such as Grass, Jelinek, Bernhard, Pastior, Schädlich and Herta Müller. In 1993 the first of four novels by Iuga, »Săpunul lui Leopold Bloom« (t: The soap of Leopold Bloom), was published. Following the German translation of her collection of poems »Autobuzul cu cocoşaţi« (2002; t: The bus with the hunchbacks), a collection of selected poems was translated into German in 2007, and was received with admiration and acclaim.

In Romania, Iuga has been distinguished with five awards by the Writers’ Association, two by the magazine »Cuvîntul« (The Word) and awards from the cities of Slobozia, Satu-Mare and Călăraşi. She was honoured with the Friedrich Gundolf Award for the promotion of German literature. Other awards include a grant by the Akademie Schloss Solitude and a position as Writer-in-Residence at the Müllerhaus Lenzburg, Switzerland. Iuga lives in Bucharest.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Nora Iuga

Nora Iuga wurde 1931 in Bukarest geboren. Aus einer Künstlerfamilie stammend, wuchs sie u.a. in Deutschland, Belgien und den Niederlanden auf – wohin ihre Eltern auf eine zweijährige Tournee gegangen waren – sowie im siebenbürgischen Sibiu und in der rumänischen Hauptstadt. Nach ihrem Germanistikstudium arbeitete sie als Deutschlehrerin, Bibliografin in der zentralen Staatsbibliothek, Redakteurin bei der deutschsprachigen Tageszeitung »Neuer Weg« und bei der Zeitschrift »Volk und Kultur«, als Lektorin beim staatlichen wissenschaftlich-enzyklopädischen Verlag sowie als Übersetzerin und Leiterin der Sektion für Poesie des Schriftstellerverbands. Mit ihrer Ironie und agilen Geistesschärfe geriet sie immer wieder mit den kommunistischen Autoritäten ihres Landes in Konflikt.

Dennoch etablierte sie sich über die Jahre immer stärker – und über die Revolution von 1989 hinaus – als bedeutende Stimme der rumänischen Lyrik. Dichtern verschiedener Generationen gilt sie als Referenzpunkt. Ihr immer vielfältigeres Werk zeigt bis heute den Einfluss der Gruppe der »Oniriker«, der sie anfänglich nahestand und die den Surrealismus in der rumänischen Literatur wiederbeleben wollte. Rastlos zwischen verschiedensten Kontexten springend kreisen ihre reimlosen Verse in unterschiedlichen lyrischen Formen um Körperlichkeit, Sehnsüchte und Begehren und verbinden in eindrücklichen und frischen Bildern Melancholie mit Lebensgenuss. »Ich kann nicht in einem einzigen Gefühl bleiben längere Zeit«, gestand Iuga in einem Interview, »denn es wird mir schrecklich langweilig, vor allem im Schmerz oder in Melancholie oder, weiß ich, in Schwermut. Das ist ein Wort, ich muss immer darüber lachen, es ist so deutsch, ich weiß nicht wie, es bringt mich immer zum Lachen.«

Nach dem Erscheinen ihres zweiten Gedichtbandes, »Captivitatea cercului« (1970; Ü: Gefangen im Kreis), wurde Iuga mit einem Publikationsverbot belegt. Erst acht Jahre später konnte ihr dritter Gedichtband erscheinen, dem bis heute neun weitere folgten. Seit den achtziger Jahren übersetzte Iuga auch aus dem Deutschen, insbesondere zeitgenössische Autoren wie Grass, Jelinek, Bernhard, Pastior, Schädlich und Herta Müller. 1993 wurde Iugas erster von bislang vier Romanen, »Săpunul lui Leopold Bloom« (Ü: Die Seife des Leopold Bloom), veröffentlicht. Auf Deutsch erschien nach der Übersetzung ihres Gedichtbandes »Autobuzul cu cocoşaţi« (2002; dt. »Der Autobus mit den Buckligen«, 2003) zuletzt die Auswahl »Gefährliche Launen« (2007), die mit Bewunderung und Hochachtung aufgenommen wurde.

Iuga wurde in Rumänien mit fünf Preisen des Schriftstellerverbandes, zwei Preisen der Zeitschrift »Cuvîntul« (Das Wort) und den Preisen der Städte Slobozia, Satu-Mare und Călăraşi ausgezeichnet. 2007 wurde sie für die Vermittlung deutscher Kultur mit dem Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis geehrt. Sie war u.a. Stipendiatin der Akademie Schloss Solitude und Writer-in-Residence im Müllerhaus Lenzburg, Schweiz. Iuga lebt in Bukarest.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin