23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Nathaniel Mackey

Nathaniel Mackey was born in Miami, Florida in 1947. He was raised in California, studied at Princeton University and completed his doctorate at Stanford University.  There he was a co-editor of the first issue of the literature magazine ‘Hambone’, the title of which refers to a syncopated form of rock’n’roll and simultaneously to the vernacular figure of a hobo in the Afro-American community.  Music, regional culture as well as intercultural affairs are sources of inspiration for Mackey who includes all three as central motifs in his work. After a lapse of eight years, he took up editing ‘Hambone’ again, having become a professor of literature in the intervening period, during which no issues had been released.  By publishing such diverse poets as Sun Ra and Robert Duncan, he added a distinctive touch to the magazine.

A characteristic feature of Mackey’s work are his continuous and varied treatments of specific themes and forms. Following two books of poetry his lyric debut: ‘Eroding Witness’ (1985) was published.  This volume included the texts which eventually became the beginnings of his two best known works.  The first of these is the cycle of poems: ‘Song of the Andoumboulou’, which runs through to sequence 35 in his volume of poetry entitled: ‘Whatsaid Serif’ (1998). Sequences 16 to 25 were released also on the CD ‘Strick’ (1995), in which Mackey is accompanied by flutes, reeds and percussion instruments of Caribbean, African, and Indonesian origin.  The title of the poem cycle refers to a funeral song of the West African Dogon people, in which an earlier, unfinished form of man is invoked.  Andalusia and the Caribbean are additional inspiring locales in Mackey’s experimental and hermetic texts. Word plays, ellipses, repetitions, irregular line spacing as well as ragged borders on the right and left sides of the text convey the subversive structures of improvised, dissonant music.  In fact jazz is the theme upon which Mackey’s second large work is based, which had already been established with his lyric debut. This work is the letter series ‘From A Broken Bottle Traces of Perfume Still Emanate’. In letters to a mysterious ‘Angel of Dust’, a composer-come-band member reflects on music and describes his life.  The third and, up until now, latest volume in this series is ‘Atet A.D.’ (2001). His most recent academic publication is: ‘Paracritical Hinge: Essays, Talks, Notes, Interviews’ (2005).

Since 1979 Mackey has taught at the University of California, Santa Cruz.  In 1993 he received the Whiting Writers’ Award, and in 2001 he was elected Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.  For his collection of poems ‘Splay Anthem’ (2006) he received the National Book Award.  Mackey lives in Santa Cruz, California.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Nathaniel Mackey

Nathaniel Mackey wurde 1947 in Miami, Florida, geboren und wuchs in Kalifornien auf. Er studierte in Princeton und promovierte in Stanford. Dort war er 1974 Mitherausgeber der ersten Ausgabe des Literaturmagazins »Hambone«. Dessen Name bezeichnet einen synkopischen Rhythmus des Rock’n’Roll und spielt gleichzeitig auf eine in der afro-amerikanischen Gemeinschaft bekannte Hobo-Figur an. Musik, lokale Kultur sowie Interkulturalität sollten auch für Mackeys Werk Inspirationsquellen und wichtigste Motive werden. Als Literaturprofessor nahm er nach acht Jahren seine Herausgebertätigkeit am brachliegenden Magazin wieder auf. Indem er darin so verschiedene Dichter wie Sun Ra und Robert Duncan veröffentlichte, gab er dem Magazin ein eigenes Profil.

Die wiederholte Beschäftigung mit bestimmten Themen oder Formen, die er in Variationen weiterführt, ist eine weitere Besonderheit in Mackeys Schaffen. Nach zwei Heften mit Sammlungen eigener Gedichte erschien sein erster Lyrikband »Eroding Witness« (1985; Ü: Unterhöhlter Zeuge). Darin enthalten sind bereits Texte, welche die Anfänge der zwei wichtigsten Werke Mackeys werden sollten. Das erste ist der Gedichtzyklus »Song of the Andoumboulou«, der in dem Gedichtband »Whatsaid Serif« (1998; Ü: Was sagte Serif) bis zu seiner 35. Folge fortgeführt wird. Die Stücke 16 bis 25 veröffentlichte Mackey auch als Performance auf der CD »Strick« (1995). Darauf wird er von Holzblasinstrumenten und Schlagwerk aus dem karibischen, afrikanischen und indonesischen Raum begleitet. Der Titel des Gedichtzyklus bezieht sich auf ein Bestattungslied des westafrikanischen Volkes der Dogon, in dem eine frühere, unvollendete Form des Menschen beschworen wird. Andalusien und die Karibik sind weitere wichtige Schauplätze in Mackeys experimentellen und hermetischen Texten. Wortspiele, Ellipsen, Wiederholungen, unregelmäßige Zeilenabstände sowie rechts und links ausgefranste Textränder bilden die subversiven Strukturen improvisierter, dissonanter Musik. Jazz ist auch das Motiv, um das Mackeys zweites großes Werk kreist und das ebenfalls schon in seinem Lyrikdebüt angelegt war. Es ist die Briefserie »From A Broken Bottle Traces of Perfume Still Emanate« (Ü: Von einer zerbrochenen Flasche gehen immer noch Duftspuren aus). In Briefen an einen mysteriösen »Engel des Staubes« reflektiert ein Komponist und Bandmitglied über Musik und berichtet von seinem Leben. Als dritter, bislang letzter Band dieser Reihe erschien »Atet A.D.« (2001). Von seinen akademischen Schriften erschien zuletzt »Paracritical Hinge: Essays, Talks, Notes, Interviews« (2005; Ü: Parakritisches Scharnier: Essays, Gespräche, Notizen, Interviews).

Mackey lehrt seit 1979 an der University of California in Santa Cruz. 1993 erhielt er den Whiting Writers‘ Award und 2001 wurde er zum Chancellor der Academy of American Poets gewählt. Für seine zuletzt erschienene Gedichtsammlung »Splay Anthem« (2006) bekam er den National Book Award. Mackey lebt im kalifornischen Santa Cruz.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin