23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Max de Radiguès

Max de Radiguès was born in Bruxelles in 1982. He graduated from the Institut Saint-Luc Bruxelles in 2004 and since then he has been working as an artist. He works in a studio in Brussels, which he shares with Flemish, French, and Swiss artists. Here he also met Wauter Mannaert, with whom he later created the graphic novel »Weegee« [2016; Eng. »Weegee: Serial Photographer«, 2016]. The story takes place in the late 1930s in the Lower East Side of New York City. Here, with his obligatory cigar, raincoat, and floppy hat, car radio tuned to police radio frequencies, Weegee aka Arthur Fellig is out photographing the nightlife: fires, accident sites, charred bodies, onlooking passersby. But Weegee is also an observer of the injustices and discrimination during the Great Depression.

For his graphic novel »Bâtard« [2017; Eng. »Bastard«, 2018], Radiguès was awarded the Prix de Lycéens at the prestigious Angoulême Comics Festival in 2018 and received the Prix du Polar SNCF, among other prizes. The story revolves around an unusual pair of gangsters: Eight-year-old Eugene is on the run with his mother May after an unprecedented robbery in the southwestern United States – with a trunk full of money. They had planned to use it to start a normal life. But now they must flee to safety from the police and an unscrupulous accomplice. The supposed thriller, which is reminiscent of »Bonny and Clyde« and also »Léon«, increasingly turns out to be a family drama and coming-of-age story. Through Radiguèsʼ breezy images with minimal strokes, the fast-paced narrative also repeatedly provides a break to take a breath in the dizzying maelstrom of violence and the protagonists’ struggle for survival.

The graphic novels for children aged ten and up, »L’île du disparu« [2018; Eng. »Vanisher’s Island«, 2020] and »Cheffe de meute« [2018; Eng. »Leader of the Pack«, 2020], as well as in »Le club des losers« [2021; tr: The Losers’ Club], all follow the various adventures of siblings Stig and Tilde. His most recent graphic novel, »Alerte 5« [2021], depicts the explosion of a NASA flight after takeoff, which is triggered by an act of sabotage. Because of the terrorist connection, alert level 5 is then declared, and the five astronauts in the base on Mars are completely cut off from the world and out of communication radius. The resulting emergency pushes everyone involved to their limits until the inevitable happens.

Max de Radiguès lives in Brussels, teaches comics studies at the École Supérieure des Arts Saint-Luc, and works as an editor for the independent comics publisher L’employé du moi and for Éditions Sarbacane.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Max de Radiguès

Max de Radiguès wurde 1982 in Brüssel geboren. 2004 schloss er sein Studium am Institut Saint-Luc Bruxelles ab und ist seither als Zeichner tätig. Er arbeitet in einem Atelier in Brüssel, das er sich mit flämischen, französischen und Schweizer Künstler:innen teilt. Hier traf er auch Wauter Mannaert, mit dem er später die Graphic Novel »Weegee« [2016; dt. »Weegee – Serial Photographer«, 2022] schuf. Die Handlung spielt Ende der 1930er-Jahre in der Lower East Site von New York. Hier ist mit seinen obligatorischen Attributen Zigarre, Regenmantel und Schlapphut, das Autoradio auf Polizeifunkfrequenzen eingestellt, Weegee aka Arthur Fellig unterwegs, um das Nachtleben abzulichten: Brandstätten, Unfallstellen, verkohlte Körper, schaulustige Passanten. Weegee ist aber auch ein Beobachter der Ungerechtigkeiten und Diskriminierungen während der Weltwirtschaftskrise.

Für seine Graphic Novel »Bâtard« [2017; dt. »Bastard«, 2018] wurde Radiguès 2018 auf dem renommierten Comicfestival in Angoulême mit dem Prix de Lycéens ausgezeichnet und erhielt neben anderen Preisen den Prix du Polar SNCF. Erzählt wird von einem ungewöhnlichen Gangsterpärchen: Der achtjährige Eugene ist mit seiner Mutter May nach einem beispiellosen Raubüberfall auf der Flucht im Südwesten der USA – mit einem Kofferraum voller Geld. Eigentlich wollten sie damit ein normales Leben beginnen. Doch nun müssen sie sich vor der Polizei und einem skrupellosen Komplizen in Sicherheit bringen. Der vermeintliche Thriller, der motivisch an »Bonny and Clyde« und auch »Léon – Der Profi« erinnert, entpuppt sich zunehmend als Familiendrama und Coming-of-Age-Geschichte. Die rasante Erzählung bietet durch Radiguèsʼ luftige Bilder mit reduzierten Strichen auch immer wieder eine Pause zum Durchatmen im schwindelerregenden Strudel aus Gewalt und dem Überlebenskampf der Protagonisten.

In den Graphic Novels für Kinder ab zehn Jahren »L’île du disparu« [2018; dt. »Die Insel der Verschollenen«, 2020] und »Cheffe de meute« [2018; dt. »Die Rudelführerin«, 2020] sowie in »Le club des losers« [2019; dt. »Der Club der Loser«, 2021] lässt Radiguès das Geschwisterpaar Stig und Tilde verschiedene Abenteuer bestehen. Seine jüngste Graphic Novel »Alerte 5« [2021] zeigt die Explosion eines NASA-Flugs nach dem Start, die durch einen Sabotageakt ausgelöst wird. Wegen des terroristischen Hintergrunds wird daraufhin Alarmstufe 5 ausgelöst, und die fünf Astronauten in der Basis auf dem Mars sind völlig von der Welt abgeschnitten und außerhalb des Kommunikationsradius. Die entstandene Notlage treibt alle Beteiligten an ihre Grenzen, bis das Unvermeidliche geschieht.

Max de Radiguès lebt in Brüssel, unterrichtet Comic an der École Supérieure des Arts Saint-Luc und arbeitet als Lektor für den unabhängigen Comic-Verlag L’employé du moi und für Éditions Sarbacane.

Stand: 2022