23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Martin Walser

Martin Walser was born in Wasserburg on Lake Constance in 1927. He studied Literature, History and Philosophy in Regensburg and Tübingen, where he wrote his doctorate on Franz Kafka in 1951. From 1949 to 1957 Walser worked as a reporter, director and radio playwright for the Süddeutscher Rundfunk regional radio station. From 1953 onwards, he was a member of the Gruppe 47, winning the literary group’s prize for one of his first short stories, »Templones Ende« (t: Templone’s end), in 1955. He received the Hermann Hesse Prize for his first novel: »Ehen in Philippsburg« (1957; Eng. »Marriage in Philippsburg«). His work consists of prose, plays, film scripts, radio plays and translations, as well as a great number of essays, speeches and lectures. In 1978 »Ein fliehendes Pferd« (Eng. »Runaway Horse«, 1980) was published – a classic of German postwar literature. It tells the story of the teacher Halm, a typical Walser anti-hero, who spends his holidays with his wife in a quiet corner of Lake Constance because he believes he can only survive in a state of lethargy. Walser describes himself as a »literary expert on identity damage«. His mainly bourgeois protagonists – characters plagued by identity problems, feelings of inferiority and dependency – are characterised by interior monologues, their weaknesses portrayed through irony, with precision and humour. The protagonists in Walser’s novels can often be traced through consecutive tales, as for example the character of Anselm Kristlein in the trilogy »Halbzeit« (1960; t: Half-Time), »Das Einhorn« (1966; Eng. »The Unicorn«, 1971) and »Der Sturz« (1973; t: The Fall). In 2004 »Der Augenblick der Liebe« (t: The Moment of Love) appeared, the third novel with protagonist Gottlieb Zürn after »Das Schwanenhaus« (1980; Eng. »The Swan Villa«, 1982) and »Die Jagd« (1988; t: The Hunt). Also in 2004, the collection of essays »Die Verwaltung des Nichts« (2004; t: The Administration of Nothingness) was published.

After the publication of »Ein springender Brunnen« (1998; t: A Springing Fountain), in which the author recounts his youth in Wasserburg during the Third Reich, Walser was awarded the Peace Prize of the German Booksellers. »The author of German unification«, as the jury said, had »explained Germany to the Germans themselves and to the world«. His acceptance speech, in which he criticised »the instrumentalisation of Auschwitz« as a »moralising cudgel«, caused him to be accused of advocating to rule off the National Socialist history of Germany. The intensity of the resulting »Walser Bubis debate«, as well as reactions to his novel »Tod eines Kritikers« (2002; t: Death of a Critic), mark out the arbitrary and indistinct intellectual and moral nature of the discussion of Germany’s past. Walser’s diaries from the years 1951 to 1962 were published entitled »Leben und Schreiben« (t: Living and Writing) in 2005.

Walser, who has always expressed controversial opinions on subjects of current political interest alongside his literary activities, is one of the most significant authors of German postwar literature, and he has received countless prizes for his literary work, among them the Georg Büchner Prize in 1981. He has also been awarded the order »Pour le Mérite« and named Officier de L’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Walser lives in Überlingen, on Lake Constance.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Martin Walser

Martin Walser wurde 1927 in Wasserburg am Bodensee geboren. Er studierte Literaturwissenschaft, Geschichte und Philosophie in Regensburg und in Tübingen, wo er 1951 mit einer Arbeit über Franz Kafka promovierte. 1949 bis 1957 arbeitete Walser beim Süddeutschen Rundfunk als Reporter, Regisseur und Hörspielautor. Seit 1953 gehörte er der Gruppe 47 an, deren Preis er 1955 für eine seiner ersten Erzählungen, »Templones Ende«, erhielt. Für seinen ersten Roman »Ehen in Philippsburg« (1957) erhielt er den Hermann-Hesse-Preis. Seine Arbeit umfasst neben Prosawerken auch Theaterstücke, Drehbücher, Hörspiele und Übersetzungen sowie eine Vielzahl von Aufsätzen, Reden und Vorlesungen. 1978 veröffentlichte der Autor mit dem Band »Ein fliehendes Pferd« einen Klassiker deutscher Nachkriegsliteratur. Walser schildert hier die Geschichte des Studienrates Halm, eines typisch Walserschen Antihelden, der seinen Urlaub mit seiner Frau in einem Winkel am Bodensee verbringt, weil er glaubt, nur in einem Zustand größtmöglicher Lethargie ausharren zu können. Walser bezeichnet sich selbst als »literarischen Experten für Identitätsbeschädigung«. Seine meist aus dem Kleinbürgertum stammenden Protagonisten – von Identitätsproblemen, Minderwertigkeitsgefühlen und Abhängigkeitsverhältnissen geplagte Figuren – werden mit inneren Monologen charakterisiert, ihre Schwächen mittels Ironie so präzise wie komisch dargestellt. Mit Vorliebe führt er seine Protagonisten durch mehrere Romane, so etwa die Figur des Anselm Kristlein in der Trilogie »Halbzeit« (1960), »Das Einhorn« (1966) und »Der Sturz« (1973). 2004 erschien »Der Augenblick der Liebe«, der dritte Roman um den Protagonisten Gottlieb Zürn nach »Das Schwanenhaus« (1980) und »Die Jagd« (1988). Im selben Jahr veröffentlichte Walser auch die Essaysammlung »Die Verwaltung des Nichts« (2004).

Nach Erscheinen des Romans »Ein springender Brunnen« (1998), in dem der Autor seiner Jugend in Wasserburg während des Dritten Reiches nachspürt, erhielt Walser den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels. »Der Autor der deutschen Einheit«, so die Preisbegründung, habe »den Deutschen das eigene Land und der Welt Deutschland erklärt und wieder nahegebracht«. Auf seine Dankesrede, in der er »die Instrumentalisierung von Auschwitz« als »Moralkeule« kritisierte, reagierten einige Stimmen mit dem Vorwurf, er propagiere den Schlussstrich unter die nationalsozialistische Vergangenheit Deutschlands. Die daraus resultierende »Walser-Bubis-Debatte«, wie auch die späteren Reaktionen auf den 2002 erschienen Roman »Tod eines Kritikers«, markieren in ihrer Heftigkeit die intellektuellen und moralischen Beliebigkeiten und Unschärfen in der Auseinandersetzung mit der deutschen Vergangenheit. Seine Tagebücher aus den Jahren 1951 bis 1962 erschienen unter dem Titel »Leben und Schreiben« (2005). Zuletzt veröffentlichte er die Lyriksammlung „Das geschundene Tier: Neununddreißig Balladen“ (2007).

Walser, der neben seiner literarischen Tätigkeit auch immer wieder kontrovers zu aktuellen politischen Themen Stellung bezogen hat, zählt zu den bedeutendsten Autoren der deutschen Nachkriegsliteratur und hat für sein literarisches Werk zahlreiche Preise erhalten, darunter 1981 den Georg-Büchner-Preis. Er wurde mit dem Orden »Pour le Mérite« ausgezeichnet und zum Officier de L’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt. Walser lebt in Überlingen am Bodensee.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin