22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Marko Pogačar

Marko Pogačar was born in Split in 1984. After leaving school in his hometown, he studied comparative literature and history at the University of Zagreb and began a doctorate in a multidisciplinary area between literary, cultural, and film studies.

Pogačar has published five collections of poems so far. His debut was »Pijavice nad Santa Cruzom« (2006; tr: Vortex over Santa Cruz), which was enthusiastically praised by the critics and received the Narvh Jezika Award for the best poetry collection of a writer under 35 as well as the Kvirin Award. One year later he published his second anthology »Poslanice običnim ljudima« (2007; tr: Letters to Ordinary People). His third book of poetry »Predmeti« (2009; tr: Objects) made him an important representative of the Croatian literary industry. Pogačar’s poems combine fragmentary images. His lyrical Ego meanders between philosophy, politics, pop culture, everyday observations and reflections on his own language: »My language is Mecca / the fleshy fist, Macchia, / a plant that catches fire.« Restlessly and overwhelmed by the associations and rhythms of his own verses, the young poet presents himself as a man who is obsessed with and driven by language, and who always knows how to experiment with forms and contents. His poetry has been translated into more than twenty languages, and published in many international anthologies and magazines. Selected poems first appeared in the German language under the title »An die verlorenen Hälften« (tr: To the Lost Halves) in 2010. This edition was followed by German-Croatian »Schwarzes Land« (tr: Black Country) in 2015. Apart from poetry, Pogačar has published a series of essays, reviews, and interviews. In addition, he has published prose, including the short story collection »Bog neće pomoći« (2012; tr.: God Will Not Help), as well as travel books.

Pogačar was editor, critic, and copyeditor for the literary magazines »Quorum« and »Zarez«, and was the drummer for the post-punk band Death Disco. He is the director of the oldest and largest Croatian poetry festival, Goranovo proljeće (Goran’s Spring). He released an anthology with texts by young Croatian poets in 2014. He has been a guest of the Literary Colloquium Berlin, the International Writers House Graz, and has received a scholarship from the Brandenburger Tor Foundation. He is a 2020 guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Marko Pogačar

Marko Pogačar wurde 1984 in Split geboren. Nach dem Schulabschluss in seiner Heimatstadt studierte er Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und Geschichte an der Universität in Zagreb und begann in einem multidisziplinären Bereich zwischen Literatur-, Kultur- und Filmwissenschaften zu promovieren.

Bisher veröffentlichte er fünf Gedichtbände: Sein Debüt gab er mit »Pijavice nad Santa Cruzom« (2006; Ü: Wirbel über Santa Cruz), welches von der Kritik begeistert aufgenommen wurde und sowohl den Narvh-Jezika-Preis für den besten Lyrikband eines Autors unter 35 als auch den Kvirin-Preis erhielt. Bereits ein Jahr nach seinem Erstling legte er einen zweiten Gedichtband mit dem Titel »Poslanice običnim ljudima« (2007; Ü: Sendschreiben an gewöhnliche Menschen) nach und etablierte sich schließlich mit einem weiteren Lyrikband, »Predmeti« (2009; Ü: Gegenstände), als feste Instanz im kroatischen Literaturbetrieb. In seinen Gedichten reiht Pogačar fragmentarisch Bilder aneinander; sein lyrisches Ich mäandert dabei zwischen Philosophie, Politik, Popkultur und Alltagsbeobachtungen. Nicht zuletzt reflektiert es die eigene Sprache, beispielsweise wenn es proklamiert: »Meine Sprache ist Mekka / die fleischige Faust, Macchia, / ein Gewächs, das sich selbst entzündet.« Rastlos, überwältigt von den Assoziationen und Rhythmen der eigenen Verse, präsentiert der junge Dichter sich als ein von der Sprache zugleich Besessener und Getriebener, der stets mit Form und Inhalt zu experimentieren weiß. Seine Gedichte wurden in über dreißig Sprachen übersetzt und in zahlreichen internationalen Anthologien und Magazinen publiziert. 2010 erschienen seine Gedichte erstmals in deutscher Übertragung unter dem Titel »An die verlorenen Hälften«. 2015 folgte der ebenfalls zweisprachige Band »Schwarzes Land«. Neben Lyrik publizierte Pogačar eine Reihe von Essays, Rezensionen und Interviews. Zudem veröffentliche er Prosa, darunter die Kurzgeschichtensammlung »Bog neće pomoći« (2012; Ü: Gott wird nicht helfen), und Reisebücher.

Pogačar war Lektor, Herausgeber, Kritiker sowie Redakteur der Literaturmagazine »Quorum«, »Zarez« und Schlagzeuger der Post-Punk-Gruppe Death Disco. Er ist Direktor des ältesten und größten kroatischen Lyrikfestivals Goranovo proljeće (Goran’s Spring). 2014 gab er eine Anthologie mit Texten junger kroatischer Lyriker heraus. Er war u. a. Gast des Literarischen Colloquiums Berlin, des International Writers House Graz und erhielt ein Stipendium der Stiftung Brandenburger Tor. 2020 ist er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.