22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Marit Kapla

Swedish cultural journalist and author Marit Kapla grew up in Osebol in the municipality of Torsby. Her parents had moved there shortly after she was born because her father took a teaching position at the Klarälvdalen School across the river. Kapla worked for the local morning paper »Värmlands Folkblad«, moved to Gothenburg in 1998, worked for the Swedish entertainment magazine »Nöjesguiden« and for TV journal »Filmkrönikan«, for the public Sveriges Television AB. From 2007 to 2014 she was artistic director of the Gothenburg Film Festival, and in 2014/2015 she was one of the founders of the festival’s digital film streaming platform Draken Film. 2016–2020 she was one of two editors at the Swedish cultural magazine »Ord & Bild«.

In 2019, Marit Kapla made her debut with »Osebol«, a book of over eight hundred pages of interviews she conducted with the 42 adult residents of Osebol in northern Värmland. The conversations took place in intimate settings, after which Kapla transcribed the interviews and composed the book out of carefully selected quotations. The people are introduced by name in each case, and their ages range from 18 to 92. Kapla’s book is not only a contemporary document, but also has lyrical qualities. Like a prism, it sheds new light on village life. The name Osebol possibly derives from the female name Åsa, stating that a person of that name once inhabited the small village; the first time the name »Osebol« is mentioned in preserved written sources is 1503. River and forest industries had shaped the village and the landscape. But now even potato cultivation is no longer profitable; all forestry work has long since ceased, and factories and schools have closed. In addition to the dwindling number of long-established residents, however, there are also immigrants and city dwellers who long for rural tranquility. »Osebol« has been well received by critics, who have compared it to Edgar Lee Mastersʼ »Spoon River Anthology« and Svetlana Alexievich’s books of reporting.

Marit Kapla was awarded the prestigious Swedish August Prize for her debut and has also received the debut prize from »Borås Tidning«, the Guldpennan Prize from Publicistklubben, the Göran Palm Scholarship, the author prize from Studieförbundet Vuxenskolan, the literary scholarship from the Värmland region, and the debutant scholarship from Föreningen Värmlandslitteratur. The author lives in Gothenburg.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Marit Kapla

Die schwedische Kulturjournalistin und Autorin Marit Kapla wuchs in Osebol in der Gemeinde Torsby auf. Ihre Eltern waren kurz nach ihrer Geburt dorthin gezogen, weil der Vater eine Lehrstelle an der Volkshochschule Klarälvdalen auf der anderen Seite des Flusses übernahm. Marit Kapla arbeitete für die lokale Morgenzeitung »Värmlands Folkblad«, zog 1998 nach Göteborg, arbeitete für das schwedische Unterhaltungsmagazin »Nöjesguiden« und das TV-Journal »Filmkrönikan« im öffentlich-rechtlichen Sveriges Television AB. Von 2007 bis 2014 war sie künstlerische Leiterin des Göteborg Film Festivals, 2014/2015 gehörte sie zu den Gründer:innen der digitalen Streaming-Plattform Draken Film des Festivals. 2016 bis 2020 war sie eine von zwei Redakteur:innen beim schwedischen Kulturmagazin »Ord & Bild«.

2019 debütierte Marit Kapla mit »Osebol«, einem über achthundert Seiten starken Buch mit Interviews, die sie mit den 42 erwachsenen Einwohnern von Osebol im Norden Värmlands führte. Die Gespräche fanden in häuslicher Umgebung statt, wonach Kapla die Interviews transkribierte und aus sorgfältig ausgewählten Zitaten ein Buch zusammenstellte. Die Personen werden jeweils mit Namen vorgestellt, ihr Alter liegt zwischen 18 und 92 Jahren. Marit Kaplas Buch ist nicht nur ein Zeitdokument, sondern hat auch lyrische Qualitäten. Wie ein Prisma wirft es ein neues Licht auf das dörfliche Leben. Der Name Osebol leitet sich möglicherweise von dem weiblichen Vornamen Åsa ab und verweist auf eine Person dieses Namens, die in diesem Dorf gelebt haben soll; der Name »Osebol« taucht in den Quellen erstmals 1503 auf. Fluss- und Forstindustrie hatten das Dorf und die Landschaft geprägt. Doch nun ist selbst der Kartoffelanbau nicht mehr rentabel, längst wurden auch alle Forstarbeiten eingestellt, Fabriken und Schulen geschlossen. Es gibt außer der schrumpfenden Zahl von alteingesessenen Bewohner:innen jedoch auch Einwanderer:innen und zugezogene Städter:innen, die sich nach ländlicher Ruhe sehnen. »Osebol« wurde von der Kritik positiv aufgenommen und mit Edgar Lee Mastersʼ »Die Toten von Spoon River« und den Reportagebüchern von Swetlana Alexijewitsch verglichen.

Marit Kapla wurde für ihr Debüt mit dem renommierten schwedischen August-Preis geehrt und erhielt außerdem den Debütpreis von »Borås Tidning«, den Guldpennan-Preis des Publicistklubben, das Göran-Palm-Stipendium, den Autorenpreis des Studieförbundet Vuxenskolan, das Literaturstipendium der Region Värmland und das Debütantenstipendium von Föreningen Värmlandslitteratur. Die Autorin lebt in Göteborg.

Stand: 2022