23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Marion Achard

Portrait Marion Achard
© Rottkay

Marion Achard was born in 1976 in Dijon, France. After training as a circus performer at the renowned Académie Fratellini and the Center National des Arts du Cirque, she founded the Compagnie Tour de Cirque with her partner Farid Abed. The troupe performs its self-produced shows in theaters, schools, but also in refugee camps and orphanages in France and around the world. The material for her stories has been gathered from the experiences that Achard has gathered during her tours of Africa, South America, and India, which often last for several months.

Achard was awarded the Prix du Jeune Écrivain by the French daily newspaper »Le Monde« for her texts »Ma java sans joie« (1993; tr: My Java Without Joy) and »Ankou« (1994). Her first young adult novel »Je veut un chat et des parents normaux« (tr: I Want a Cat and Normal Parents) was published in 2012 and kicked off the start of a trilogy about Taloula, a young, witty girl who confides in her diary what it is like to be the child of eccentric circus parents, often on the go, looking for friendships, all with the overwhelming desire for a cat. Achard’s other books also deal with the experience of children who are faced with special situations and do so in an often very charming, but headstrong way. She has written stories about a member of the opposition’s son who has to pretend to be a girl for his own protection (»Pourquoi je suis devenu une fille«, 2013; tr: Why I had to Become a Girl), about a child who is learning to cope with his diabetes and self-acceptance (»Des petits trous au bout des doigts«, 2014; tr: Small Holes at the Fingertips), and about an African boy who talks about his troubling experiences as a child soldier (»Tamba lʼenfant soldat«, 2018; Eng. TAMBA, Child Soldier, 2019), which was presented in the form of a graphic novel. Critics praised the sober and simultaneously sensitive way in which Achard’s narrative approaches such sensitive and complex topics. She was honored with the German-French youth literature prize for her novel »Le peuple du chemin« (2017; tr: At the End of the Rainforest) about the everyday life of a young girl, her family, and her home that is being threatened by the destruction of the rainforest.

Achard has received numerous other awards for her work, including the Prix Littérature Jeunesse (Rabat, 2018), the Prix des jeunes lecteurs (Nanterre, 2015), and the Prix Marguerite Audoux (2013). The author lives and works in the Drôme region of France.

Marion Achard

Portrait Marion Achard
© Rottkay

Marion Achard wurde 1976 in Dijon, Frankreich, geboren. Nach ihrer Ausbildung zur Zirkusartistin an der renommierten Académie Fratellini und dem Centre National des Arts du Cirque gründete sie gemeinsam mit ihrem Lebensgefährten Farid Abed die Compagnie Tour de Cirque. Ihre selbst produzierten Bühnenshows führt die Truppe in Theatern, Schulen, aber auch in Flüchtlingslagern und Waisenhäusern in Frankreich und der ganzen Welt auf. Aus den oft mehrere Monate andauernden Touren durch Afrika, Südamerika oder Indien und den Erfahrungen, die Achard während dieser Reisen sammelt, zieht sie den Stoff für ihre Geschichten.

Für ihre Texte »Ma java sans joie« (1993; Ü: Mein Java ohne Freude) und »Ankou« (1994) wurde Achard mit dem von der französischen Tageszeitung »Le Monde« vergebenen Prix du Jeune Écrivain ausgezeichnet. Ihr erster Jugendroman »Je veut un chat et des parents normaux« (Ü: Ich wünsche mir eine Katze und normale Eltern) erschien 2012 als Auftakt einer Trilogie über Taloula, ein junges, gewitztes Mädchen, das ihrem Tagebuch anvertraut, wie es ist, das Kind exzentrischer Zirkuseltern zu sein, oft unterwegs, auf der Suche nach festen Freundschaften und mit dem unbändigen Wunsch nach einer Katze. Auch Achards weitere Bücher sind dem Erleben von Kindern gewidmet, die mit besonderen Situationen umgehen müssen und dies auf eine oft sehr einnehmende, eigensinnige Weise tun. Es sind Geschichten über den Sohn eines Oppositionellen, der sich zu seinem eigenen Schutz als Mädchen ausgeben muss (»Pourquoi je suis devenu une fille«, 2013; Ü: Warum ich ein Mädchen werden musste), über ein Kind, das lernt, seinen Diabetes und sich selbst zu akzeptieren (»Des petits trous au bout des doigts«, 2014; Ü: Kleine Löcher an den Fingerspitzen), oder über einen afrikanischen Jungen, der von seinen düsteren Erfahrungen als Kindersoldat erzählt (»Tamba lʼenfant soldat«, 2018; Ü: Tamba, der Kindersoldat), geschildert in Form einer Graphic Novel. Die nüchterne und zugleich einfühlsame Erzählweise, mit der sich Achard ihren sensiblen und komplexen Themen nähert, wurde von der Kritik hoch gelobt. Für ihren Roman »Le peuple du chemin« (2017; dt. »Am Ende des Regenwaldes«, 2019) über den Alltag eines jungen Mädchens, dessen Familie und dessen Heimat von der Rodung des Regenwaldes bedroht sind, wurde sie 2018 mit dem Deutsch-Französischen Jugendliteraturpreis geehrt.

Achard erhielt zahlreiche weitere Auszeichnungen für ihr Werk, u. a. den Prix Littérature Jeunesse (Rabat, 2018), den Prix des jeunes lecteurs (Nanterre, 2015) und den Prix Marguerite Audoux (2013). Die Autorin lebt und arbeitet im Département Drôme.