23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

Marieke Rijneveld was born in Nieuwendijk in 1991 and grew up in a family of farmers in North Brabant. As a child she invented an imaginary friend called Lucas and wanted to be a boy herself. She was later bullied at school because of her boyishness, but at the age of 19 she adopted Lucas as her second first name: »I feel like a boy as well as a girl, a person somewhere in between.« Rijneveld studied Dutch at the College of Education in Utrecht and at the Schrijversvakschool in Amsterdam.

In 2015 she made her début with the poetry collection »Kalfsvlies« (tr: Veal), which was awarded the C. Buddinghʼ-Prijs for the best poetry début and has appeared in several editions since then. »De avond is ongemak« (2018; tr: The Discomfort of the Evening) is Rijneveld’s first novel. It tells the shocking story of the loss of a child in a Christian peasant family from the perspective of Jas, who finds herself on the wobbly terrain between childhood and adulthood, and describes how the individual family members deal with the tragic loss in different ways. Jas prayed to God to take her brother instead of the rabbit she believed would be slaughtered at Christmas. On the same day, her brother falls through the ice while skating and drowns. The parents are paralyzed with grief and do not notice how Jas, her sister Hanna, and her brother Obbe slowly slip away from them. »What makes Rijneveld’s novel full of bizarre fantasies, reminiscent of Lize Spit and Gerbrand Bakker, so special is its intensity and poetry« (»Leeuwarder Courant«). In 2019, her second volume of poetry »Fantoommerrie«, was published, in some ways poetic continuation of her début. In terms of form, two-line verses alternate with larger blocks of prose poems. Rijneveld draws from a multitude of stylistic elements to make the texts feel dynamic. Thematically, the autobiographical aspects and the dissection of a traumatic past are in the foreground. The youthful lyric I perceives the burgeoning sexual longing as painful, the environment is dominated by silent adults whose severity has such a rejecting effect that the lyric I feels loneliness and isolation above all and remains alone feeling uncomfortable in its own body and with all the unanswered questions.

Rijneveld’s poems and stories have also appeared in literary magazines, including »Hollands Maandblad«, »VPRO Gids« and »Het liegend konijn«. In 2018 she was a member of the jury at the Film by the Sea film festival in Vlissingen. In addition to writing, Rijneveld works on a farm. She lives in Utrecht.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

Marieke Rijneveld wurde 1991 in Nieuwendijk geboren und wuchs in einer Bauernfamilie in Nordbrabant auf. Als Kind erfand sie einen Fantasiefreund namens Lucas und wollte selbst ein Junge sein. Wegen ihrer Knabenhaftigkeit wurde sie später in der Schule gemobbt, dennoch übernahm sie mit 19 Jahren Lucas als zweiten Vornamen: »Ich fühle mich sowohl als Junge als auch als Mädchen, ein Zwischenmensch.« Rijneveld studierte Niederländisch an der Pädagogischen Hochschule in Utrecht und an der Schrijversvakschool in Amsterdam.

2015 gab sie ihr Debüt mit der Gedichtsammlung »Kalfsvlies« (Ü: Kalbshaut), die mit dem C. Buddinghʼ-Prijs für das beste Lyrikdebüt ausgezeichnet wurde und seitdem in mehreren Auflagen erschien. »De avond is ongemak« (2018; dt. »Was man sät«, 2019) ist Rijnevelds erster Roman. Erzählt wird die erschütternde Geschichte über den Verlust eines Kindes in einer christlichen Bauernfamilie. Aus der Perspektive von Jas, die sich auf dem schwankenden Terrain zwischen Kindheit und Erwachsensein bewegt, wird geschildert, wie unterschiedlich die einzelnen Familienmitglieder mit dem tragischen Verlust umgehen. Jas hat zu Gott gebetet, er möge ihren Bruder zu sich nehmen anstelle des Kaninchens, von dem sie glaubte, es solle zu Weihnachten geschlachtet werden. Am selben Tag ist ihr Bruder beim Schlittschuhlaufen ins Eis eingebrochen und ertrunken. In der Familie wird das Unglück als Strafe Gottes gesehen, die Eltern sind vor Trauer gelähmt und bemerken nicht, wie Jas, ihre Schwester Hanna und ihr Bruder Obbe ihnen langsam entgleiten. »Was Rijnevelds Roman voll bizarrer Fantasien, der an Lize Spit und Gerbrand Bakker erinnert, so besonders macht, sind seine Intensität und seine Poesie« (»Leeuwarder Courant«). 2019 erschien ihr zweiter Lyrikband »Fantoommerrie«, gewissermaßen eine poetische Fortsetzung ihres Debüts. Formal wechseln sich zweizeilige Verse mit größeren Blöcken von Prosagedichten ab. Rijneveld bedient sich einer Vielzahl von Stilelementen, was den Texten zu großer Dynamik verhilft. Thematisch stehen wiederum Autobiografisches und die Sezierung einer traumatischen Vergangenheit im Vordergrund – empfindet das jugendliche Ich das aufkeimende sexuelle Verlangen als schmerzlich, wird die Umgebung von schweigenden Erwachsenen dominiert, deren Strenge so abweisend wirkt, dass das Ich vor allem Einsamkeit und Isolation fühlt und allein bleibt mit dem Unwohlsein im eigenen Körper und allen unbeantworteten Fragen.

Rijnevelds Gedichte und Erzählungen erscheinen auch in Literaturzeitschriften, darunter »Hollands Maandblad«, »VPRO Gids« und »Het liegend konijn«. 2018 war sie Jurymitglied beim Filmfestival Film by the Sea in Vlissingen. Neben ihrer schriftstellerischen Tätigkeit arbeitet Rijneveld auf einem Bauernhof. Sie lebt in Utrecht.