22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Maki Shimizu

The comic artist, graphic novel author, and illustrator Maki Shimizu was born in Tokyo in 1981. During her school years in Toride, she took lessons in art, painting, and printing techniques. She studied fine arts at the University of Tsukuba where she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree, majoring in printing techniques, in 2003. She then completed a graphic design degree at the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences in 2006. She was a member of the Musenstube art studio community in Berlin-Neukölln between 2007 and 2013.

Her first graphic novel »Adagio N°1 – Alltag in Berlin« [2011; tr: Adagio N°1 – Everyday Life in Berlin] reflects her life as a freelance artist in Berlin: work in the studio community, life in the shared apartment, her private life, etc. The alter ego and main characters of the graphic novel are the tomcat named Adagio and a mouse named Maki Maus. The story continues in »Adagio N°2 – Im dunkelsten Winter aller Zeiten« [2015; tr: Adagio N°2 – In the Darkest Winter Ever]. This time, the two protagonists must survive 80 cold days in a shared apartment with Thomas the turtle and muddle their way through everyday life between colds, visits to the sauna, and nightmares. Shimizu’s concise ink drawings in »Adagio N°3 – Mindvollness« [2017; tr: Adagio N°3 – Mindfulness] also follow the tomcat and mouse on their journey towards mental health and peace of mind. After a burn-out, they learn a lot from Berlin’s healers about the relationship between body, mind, and soul. Shimizu’s most recent graphic novel »Über Leben« [2021; tr: About Life] is also set in Berlin and again follows the story of Maki Maus and Kater Adagio as they deal with the difficulties forced upon the creative community as a result of gentrification. Again, Maki Shimizu works with ink and charcoal, which she uses even more expressively this time. »Der Tagesspiegel« wrote that »The therapeutic and the destructive are closely linked in ›About Life‹. Raising questions, making us think, reflecting on human experiences and social conditions – this book does all that. But it also brings subtle humour and an affectionate view of the city and its inhabitants.«

Maki Shimizu was a lecturer at the Technische Kunsthochschule Berlin between 2013 and 2016 and has held comic workshops at numerous schools. As a visual artist, she focuses primarily on urban and everyday scenes and has participated in art festivals and in the design of books such as the »Urban Sketchbook Band 1« [2017]. Shimizu was shortlisted for the Stiftung Buchkunst’s »The Most Beautiful German Books« award and received a comics scholarship from the state of Berlin in 2019. Maki Shimizu lives in Berlin.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Maki Shimizu

Die Comiczeichnerin, Graphic-Novel-Autorin und Illustratorin Maki Shimizu wurde 1981 in Tokio geboren. Während ihrer Schulzeit in Toride hatte sie Unterricht in Kunst, Malerei und Drucktechniken. Bis 2003 studierte sie Freie Kunst an der Universität Tsukuba. Shimizu erwarb einen Bachelor of Arts und spezialisierte sich auf Drucktechnik. Anschließend studierte sie bis 2006 Grafikdesign an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld. Zwischen 2007 und 2013 war sie Mitglied der Ateliergemeinschaft Musenstube in Berlin-Neukölln.

Ihre erste Graphic Novel »Adagio N°1 – Alltag in Berlin« [2011] ist eine Reflexion ihres Lebens als freischaffende Künstlerin in Berlin: die Arbeit in der Ateliergemeinschaft, das Leben in der Wohngemeinschaft, ihr Privatleben. Alter Ego und Hauptfiguren der Graphic Novel sind der Kater Adagio und eine Maus namens Maki. Das Thema findet eine Fortsetzung in »Adagio N°2 – Im dunkelsten Winter aller Zeiten« [2015]. Diesmal müssen die beiden Protagonisten 80 kalte Tage in einer Wohngemeinschaft mit der Schildkröte Thomas überstehen und hangeln sich zwischen Erkältungskrankheiten, Saunabesuchen und Albträumen durch den Alltag. Shimizus prägnante Tuschefederzeichnungen zeigen in »Adagio N°3 – Mindvollness« [2017] ebenfalls Kater und Maus auf dem Weg zu psychischer Gesundheit und Seelenfrieden. Nach einem Burn-out lernen sie bei Berlins Heiler:innen viel über das Zusammenspiel von Körper, Geist und Seele. Shimizus jüngste Graphic Novel »Über Leben« [2021] hat ebenfalls Berlin zum Schauplatz sowie Maki-Maus und Kater Adagio als Protagonisten und thematisiert die Gentrifizierung, die auch den Kreativen in der Stadt das Leben erschwert. Wieder arbeitet Maki Shimizu mit Tusche- und Kohlestrich, die sie diesmal noch expressiver einsetzt. »Therapeutisches und Zerstörerisches liegen dicht beieinander in ›Über Leben‹. Fragen aufwerfen, nachdenklich stimmen, menschliche Erfahrungen und gesellschaftliche Verhältnisse reflektieren, das alles tut dieses Buch. Doch auch feinen Humor bringt es und einen liebevollen Blick auf die Stadt und ihre Bewohner:innen« [Der Tagesspiegel].

Maki Shimizu war zwischen 2013 und 2016 Lehrbeauftragte an der Technischen Kunsthochschule Berlin und hielt an Schulen Comic-Workshops ab. Auch als bildende Künstlerin thematisiert sie vor allem Stadt- und Alltagsszenen und beteiligte sich an Skizzenfestivals und der Entstehung von Büchern wie dem »Urban Sketchbook Band 1« [2017]. Maki Shimizu war u. a. auf dem Shortlist des Preises »Die schönsten deutschen Bücher« der Stiftung Buchkunst und erhielt 2019 ein Comicstipendium des Landes Berlin. Maki Shimizu lebt in Berlin.

Stand: 2022