23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Madame Nielsen

The Danish performer, actress, singer, and author Madame Nielsen was born in 1963 in Aarhus and subsequently baptized as Claus Beck-Nielsen. Beck-Nielsen was a guitarist and singer in the Odense band Creme X-Treme from 1984 to 1989, spent time in New York, where he was a member of the performance troupe Wooster Group, was co-director of the 20th Century Ghost theatre, and debuted as an author in 1999 with the novel »Horne Land«.

In 2000 he reduced his name to Claus Nielsen and as a destitute and amnesic man tried to erase his previous life. In 2001, he declared Claus Beck-Nielsen dead. In 2002, the enterprise Das Beckwerk was founded, where he was employed as a »nameless test subject« until 2011.

According to the will of the board, which was comprised of artists, authors, architects, and a judge, he carried out various projects in the areas of performance, video art, concerts, online appearances, as well as political activities [including interventions Iraq and Afghanistan].

Since 2013, the artist goes by the name of Madame Nielsen and lives as a woman and a writer. Madame Nielsen made her literary debut with the novel »Den endeløse sommer« [2014; Eng. »The Endless Summer«, 2018]. The story is told from the perspective of a shy, androgynous boy who moves in with his girlfriend at a Danish estate one summer, where she and her mother are soon joined by two young Portuguese men, one of whom falls in love with the mother.

Madame Nielsen tells the story in a way that is »capable of freeing the ego from rigid identity politics, especially those of body, gender and sexuality« [Deutschlandfunk], in an almost magical, sensual tone with long, sweeping sentences.

This work was followed by the novels »Invasionen« [2016; tr: The Invasion] and »Det højeste væsen« [2017; tr: The Supreme Being], in which the narrator meets a young Romanian ballet dancer who sets herself apart from her troupe on a tour abroad. Her love story, which ends in madness, is interwoven with the story of the Romanian dictator Nicolae Ceaușescu. Madame Nielsen’s novel »The Monster« [2018] is about a young European man who comes to New York in 1993 with the desire to become the new Willem Dafoe through the legendary Wooster Group performance theater company. In a vision of horror, the perceptions are split between art and life, nightmare and vision, and sex and death.

Her most recent novel, »Lamento« [2020], tells the story of a passionate and ultimately painful love affair between a writer and a theatre producer and the impossibility of reconciling the magic of being in love with everyday life. Madame Nielsen’s novels have won numerous awards.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Madame Nielsen

Die dänische Autorin, Performerin, Schauspielerin und Sängerin Madame Nielsen wurde 1963 in Aarhus geboren und auf den Namen Claus Beck-Nielsen getauft. Von 1984 bis 1989 war er Gitarrist und Sänger in der dänischen Band Creme X-Treme, er lebte eine Zeit lang in New York, war dort Mitglied der Performancegruppe Wooster Group, war Co-Direktor des Theaters 20th Century Ghost und hatte 1999 sein literarisches Debüt mit dem Roman »Horne Land«.

2000 reduzierte er seinen Namen auf Claus Nielsen und versuchte, als mittel- und gedächtnisloser Mann sein bisheriges Leben auszublenden. 2001 erklärte er Claus Beck-Nielsen für tot. 2002 wurde die Agentur Das Beckwerk gegründet, bei der er bis 2011 »als namenlose Versuchsperson« angestellt war.

Nach dem Willen des Vorstands, der aus Künstler:innen, Autor:innen, Architekt:innen und einem Richter bestand, führte er diverse Projekte in den Bereichen Performance, Videokunst, Konzerte, Internetauftritte, aber auch politische Aktionen durch [u. a. Interventionen im Irak und in Afghanistan].

Seit 2013 nennt sich die Künstlerin Madame Nielsen und führt ein Leben als Frau und Schriftstellerin. Madame Nielsen hatte ihr Debüt als Autorin mit dem Roman »Den endeløse sommer« [2014; dt. »Der endlose Sommer«, 2018]. Erzählt wird aus der Perspektive eines scheuen, androgynen Jungen, der für einen Sommer zu seiner Freundin in ein dänisches Herrenhaus zieht, wo sich alsbald noch zwei junge Portugiesen hinzugesellen, von denen sich einer in die Mutter der Freundin verliebt.

Madame Nielsen erzählt die Geschichte mit einem »Potenzial, das das Ich aus rigiden Identitätspolitiken zu befreien vermag, insbesondere denen von Körper, Geschlecht und Sexualität« [Deutschlandfunk], in einem geradezu märchenhaften, sinnlichen Ton mit langen Satzbögen.

Es folgten die Romane »Invasionen« [2016] sowie »Det højeste væsen« [2017; Ü: Das höchste Wesen], in dem der Erzähler auf eine junge rumänische Balletttänzerin trifft, die sich auf einer Auslandstournee von ihrer Truppe absetzt. Ihre im Wahnsinn endende Liebesgeschichte ist verwoben mit der Geschichte des rumänischen Diktators Nicolae Ceaușescu. Madame Nielsens Roman »The Monster« [2018; dt. »Das Monster«, 2020] handelt von einem jungen Europäer, der 1993 nach New York kommt und im legendären Performancetheater Wooster Group der neue Willem Dafoe werden will. In einer Horrorvision spaltet sich die Wahrnehmung in Kunst und Leben, Albtraum und Vision, Sex und Tod.

Der jüngste Roman »Lamento« [2020; dt. 2022] erzählt von einer leidenschaftlichen und am Ende schmerzlichen Liebe zwischen einer Schriftstellerin und einem Theatermacher und der Unmöglichkeit, den Zauber der Verliebtheit mit dem Alltag in Einklang zu bringen. Madame Nielsens Romane wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Stand: 2022