23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ma Thida

Ma Thida was born in 1966 in Yangon, Myanmar, where she also completed her medical studies. As a doctor and as an editor, she was involved in various democratization initiatives in her home country. She edited brochures, evaluated tapes and videos, and became involved in providing medical care to family members of political prisoners.

She began writing short stories in the mid-1980s. However, due to increasing censorship by the military regime of the time, it became increasingly difficult for her to publish her literary texts in magazines. In 1993, Ma Thida was sentenced to twenty years in prison for supporting the pro-democracy movement, especially the party of Nobel Peace Prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi.

PEN America accepted her as an honorary member for this reason. Anna J. Allott read her essay »Thumbnail sketch on Burmese literature world 1988 onward« at Northern Illinois University. The essay summarized Burmese literature from 1988 onward with an overview of different genres, examples from contemporary works, and background information on the authorities’ censorship measures. During her imprisonment, there were many expressions of solidarity for Ma Thida around the world. British magazines, »PEN American«, and »PEN International Magazine« all published her texts, which were also read in BBC/Radio 4’s »Writers in Prison« series.

After her release in 1999, Ma Thida spent much time abroad, participating in medical education programs, international literary projects and festivals, and panel discussions on freedom of expression, including as a fellow of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Studies at Harvard University. Her experiences in prison became the central theme of her autobiographical texts and her lectures at various U.S. universities. In 2011, she received the Norwegian Freedom of Speech Award in particular for her 2011 novel »The Roadmap«, which she published under the pseudonym Suragamika [Brave Traveler]. The book is based on a family story and describes two decades of Burma’s democracy movement. Her memoir about her life in Yangon, her incarceration in Insein Prison, and her time in the United States was published in English translation in 2016 under the title »Prisoner of Conscience: My Steps through Insein«.

Ma Thida is now considered one of her country’s leading intellectuals. She continues to advocate for democratic government and human rights in Myanmar, including the rights of the persecuted Rohingya minority. She founded PEN Myanmar and served as its president until 2016. In 2016, she was awarded the Disturbing the Peace Award by the Vaclav Havel Library Foundation and elected as member of board of PEN International. Ma Thida was elected as chair of the Writer in Prison Committee of PEN International in 2021 and was a research scholar at Yale University’s Council on South East Asia Studies in 2021–22.

She is now living in Berlin as a writer-in-residency program hosted by Freundeskreis Schloss Wiepersdorf – Bettina und Achim von Arnim e. V.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ma Thida

Ma Thida wurde 1966 in Rangun, Myanmar, geboren, wo sie auch ihr Medizinstudium absolvierte. Als Ärztin und als Redakteurin war sie an verschiedenen Demokratisierungsinitiativen in ihrem Heimatland beteiligt. Sie redigierte Broschüren, wertete Tonbänder und Videos aus und engagierte sich in der medizinischen Versorgung von Familienangehörigen politischer Gefangener.

Mitte der 1980er-Jahre begann sie, Kurzgeschichten zu schreiben. Aufgrund der zunehmenden Zensur durch das damalige Militärregime wurde es für sie jedoch immer schwieriger, ihre literarischen Texte in Zeitschriften zu veröffentlichen. 1993 wurde Ma Thida zu zwanzig Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt, weil sie die prodemokratische Bewegung, insbesondere die Partei der Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Aung San Suu Kyi, unterstützt hatte.

Der US-amerikanische PEN nahm sie aus diesem Grund als Ehrenmitglied auf, und Anna J. Allott las an der Northern Illinois University ihren Essay »Thumbnail sketch on Burmese literature world 1988 onwards«, eine Skizze über die burmesische Literatur ab 1988 mit einem Überblick über unterschiedliche Genres, Beispielen aus zeitgenössischen Werken und Hintergrundinformationen zu den Zensurmaßnahmen der Behörden. Während ihrer Inhaftierung gab es weltweit viele Solidaritätsbekundungen für Ma Thida. Britische Zeitschriften, der »PEN American« und das »PEN International Magazine« veröffentlichten ihre Texte, die auch in der Reihe »Writers in Prison« von BBC/Radio 4 gelesen wurden.

Nach ihrer Freilassung im Jahr 1999 verbrachte Ma Thida viel Zeit im Ausland und nahm an medizinischen Fortbildungsprogrammen, internationalen Literaturprojekten und -festivals sowie Podiumsdiskussionen zum Thema Meinungsfreiheit teil, u. a. auch als Stipendiatin des Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Studies der Harvard University. Ihre Erlebnisse im Gefängnis wurden zum zentralen Thema ihrer autobiografischen Texte und ihrer Vorträge an verschiedenen US-amerikanischen Universitäten. 2011 erhielt sie den norwegischen Freedom of Speech Award insbesondere für ihren Roman »The Roadmap« [2011; Ü: Der Fahrplan], den sie unter dem Pseudonym Suragamika [Mutige Reisende] veröffentlichte. Das Buch basiert auf einer Familiengeschichte und beschreibt zwei Jahrzehnte der burmesischen Demokratiebewegung. Ihr Memoir über ihr Leben in Rangun, ihre Inhaftierung im Insein-Gefängnis und ihre Zeit in den Vereinigten Staaten erschien 2016 in englischer Übersetzung unter dem Titel »Prisoner of Conscience: My Steps through Insein«.

Ma Thida gilt heute als eine der führenden Intellektuellen ihres Landes. Nach wie vor setzt sie sich für eine demokratische Regierung und die Menschenrechte in Myanmar ein, einschließlich der Rechte der verfolgten Minderheit der Rohingya. Sie gründete den PEN Myanmar und war bis 2016 dessen Präsidentin. Im Jahr 2016 wurde sie von der Vaclav Havel Library Foundation mit dem Disturbing the Peace Award ausgezeichnet und in den Vorstand von PEN International gewählt. Ma Thida wurde 2021 zur Vorsitzenden des Writer in Prison Committee von PEN International gewählt und war 2021–22 Forschungsstipendiatin am Council on South East Asia Studies der Universität Yale.

Derzeit lebt sie in Berlin im Rahmen eines Writer-in-Residency-Programms des Freundeskreises Schloss Wiepersdorf – Bettina und Achim von Arnim e. V.

Stand: 2022