23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Louis Jensen

Louis Jensen was born in Nibe, Denmark, in 1943.  An architect and town planner by profession, Jensen has been working as a freelance writer of children’s, youth and adult literature since 1993. He made his debut in children’s and youth literature in 1983 with the short story ‘Insektmanden’ (Engl: The Insect Man), which was published in the collection ‘Fantastiske Fortœllinger’. His four part book series, ‘Krystalmanden’ (Engl: The Crystal Man) was published at the end of the 1980’s.  The first part tells the tale of a motorcycle trip through Denmark, of growing up and of homecoming.  With this book Jensen proceeded to become one of Denmark’s most highly regarded authors of children’s and youth literature.

For readers as well as critics, Jensen is considered a “storyteller in a new guise”.  He feels at home in the world of allegorical-phantasmagorical creatures as well as in that of the teenage video dealer.  In his modern tales, stories and novels, Jensen uses understatement, humour and his secure grasp of young people’s lived realities to roam the labyrinths of youthful consciousness.  Sensitively and poetically, he tells of good and evil, light and darkness, love and suffering – occasionally sorrowful and serious, occasionally brave and witty, but always with a regard for the visible and invisible absurdities and magical moments in life.

Jensen’s original profession as an architect is also reflected in his children’s books. ‘Et hus er et ansigt’ (1998; Engl: A House is a Face) is an unconventional and strikingarchitectural picture book for children consisting of a series of textual and photographic impressions of life, community, and change.  Father and son roam their town, which is bathed in light and shadows, and contemplate roofs and niches, clouds and chimneys.  Jensen’s novel for young people ‘Skelettet på hjul’ (1992; Engl: The Skeleton on Wheels), originally a play, belongs to the new classics of Danish children’s and youth literature and tells the tale of Martin’s search for the soul of his murdered dog.  Jensen’s ‘magnum opus’, a collection of 1001 short stories for children (most recently, „Hundrede helt & aldeles firkantede historier“, 2007; Engl: A Hundred Squared Stories).  In this compendiumof absurd, funny, serious and unbelievable stories one finds the sensitive tale of the love between a small loaf of rye bread and a French baguette, as well as stories about giants, rubber boots, hearts, star faces and dogs.

Louis Jensen has been awarded top literary awards for his work, including the Nordic Children’s Book Prize (1996), Denmark’s Skolebibliotekarforening (1998), and the prestigious Hans-Christian-Andersen-Stipend (1998). He was a member of the Danish Arts Foundation between 1994 and 1998.

Louis Jensen passed away on March 4, 2021.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Louis Jensen

Louis Jensen, 1943 im dänischen Nibe geboren, Architekt und Stadtplaner, arbeitete seit 1993 als freier Schriftsteller und schrieb für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene. Als Kinder- und Jugendbuchautor debütierte er 1983 mit der Kurzgeschichte „Insektmanden“ (Ü: Der Insektenmann), die in der Geschichtensammlung „Fantastiske Fortœllinger“ veröffentlicht wurde. Mit seiner vierteiligen Buchserie „Krystalmanden“ (1986f; Ü: Der Kristallmann), die Ende der achtziger Jahre erschien und deren erster Teil von einer Motorradreise durch Dänemark, vom Erwachsenwerden und Heimkommen erzählt, avancierte er zu einem der meistverehrten Kinder- und Jugendbuchautoren Dänemarks.

Lesern wie Kritikern gilt Jensen als „Märchenerzähler im neuen Gewand“. Er ist in der Welt allegorisch-phantastischer Gestalten ebenso zuhause wie in der des Teenage-Videoverkäufers. Mit Understatement, Humor und sicherem Gespür für die Lebenswelt junger Menschen durchstreift Jensen in seinen modernen Märchen, Geschichten und Romanen die Labyrinthe kindlich-jugendlichen Bewusstseins. Berührend und poetisch erzählt er von Gut und Böse, Licht und Schatten, Liebe und Leid – mal traurig und ernst, mal mutig und schneidig, immer mit einem Blick für die sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Absurditäten und magischen Momente des Lebens.

Jensens ursprüngliche Profession als Architekt findet sich auch in seinen Kinderbüchern. „Et hus er et ansigt” (1998; Ü: Ein Haus ist ein Gesicht) ist ein unkonventionelles und bestechendes Architektur-Bilderbuch für Kinder, bestehend aus einer Serie von Text- und Fotoimpressionen über das Leben, über Gemeinschaft und Veränderung. Vater und Sohn durchstreifen ihre in Licht und Schatten getauchte Stadt, betrachten Dächer und Nischen, Wolken und Schornsteine. Jensens Jugendroman „Skelettet på hjul” (1992; Ü: Ein Skelett auf Rädern), ursprünglich ein Theaterstück für Kinder, gehört zu den neuen Klassikern der dänischen Kinder- und Jugendliteratur und erzählt von Martins Suche nach der Seele seines getöteten Hundes. Im Entstehen begriffen ist Jensens ‚opus magnum’, eine Sammlung von 1001 Kurzgeschichten für Kinder (zuletzt „Hundrede helt & aldeles firkantede historier“, 2007). In diesem Kompendium absurder, lustiger, ernster und unglaublicher Geschichten findet man das zarte Liebesband zwischen einem kleinen Roggenbrot und einem französischen Baguette ebenso wie Geschichten über Riesen, Gummistiefel, Herzen, Sternengesichter und Hunde.

Für sein Werk erhielt Louis Jensen die höchsten literarischen Auszeichnungen, darunter den Nordischen Kinderbuchpreis (1996), Danmarks Skolebibliotekarforening (1998) sowie das begehrte Hans-Christian-Andersen-Stipendium (1998). Von 1994 bis 1998 war er Mitglied der Danish Arts Foundation.

Louis Jensen ist am 4. März 2021 gestorben.