23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Leon de Winter

Leon de Winter was born in ‘s-Hertogenbosch, Holland, in 1954. His parents were the only members of his Jewish family who survived the Holocaust. Leon de Winter started writing at the age of twelve, as a reaction to his father’s early death. Central themes of his work have since been farewells, mourning, loss and death. He confronts his fear of personal tragedies with his storytelling. “I imagine the worst and then I create a ritual, the ritual of writing, to control it and to protect reality.“ After finishing school he trained at Bavaria Film in Munich and subsequently studied at the film academy in Amsterdam. He has been a freelance writer since 1976. His connection to the film world remained; he has worked as a film-maker, screenplay writer and producer.

De Winter’s love of cinema also comes across in his novels. His storytelling relies on various techniques of film narration. He has a good feeling for plots and settings, and is a master of polished dialogue. He is not afraid of momentous feelings. His plot structures are as complex as they are dramatically perfect, his characters alive and multi-faceted.

One of de Winter’s best-known novels is “Leo Kaplan”(1986, published in Germany in 2001). Parallel and simultaneously contrary to his own biography, in this novel the author invents his own alter ego, a writer suffering from writer’s block. The character of Hoffman in “Hoffman’s honger“ (1990; t: Hoffman’s Hunger, 1994) is also a tragic hero searching for a way to cope with the blows dealt by fate.

In 1999 de Winter set up the film production company Pleswin, with the idea of making European material attractive for the US market. In 2000 the film “The Hollywood Sign“ was adapted from his novel “De Hemel van Hollywood“ (1997; t: Heaven over Hollywood, 1998) and directed by Sönke Wortmann. A film adaptation of “SuperTex“ (2003; directed by Jan Schütte) was released in 2003. Six of his novels have been adapted as films to date.

Leon de Winter also writes theatre plays, reports and short stories. He regularly comments on political subjects in essays and newspaper articles, e.g. on European unification, the Israeli-Palestinian situation and the war in Iraq.

In 2002 he received the WELT prize for literature for his life’s work. In 2005 he was Visiting Lecturer at Berkeley University, San Francisco. Recently, he was awarded the Buber Rosenzweig Medal for his fight against anti-semitism and racism.

Leon de Winter lives with his wife, the writer Jessica Durlacher, and children in Amsterdam and Los Angeles.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Leon de Winter

Leon de Winter wurde 1954 in ’s-Hertogenbosch, Niederlande, geboren. Er stammt aus einer jüdischen Familie, deren Angehörige Opfer des Holocaust wurden. Nur seine Eltern überlebten. Leon de Winter begann im Alter von 12 Jahren mit dem Schreiben als Reaktion auf den frühen Tod seines Vaters. Zentrale Themen sind für ihn seither Abschiednehmen, Trauer, Verlust und Tod. Seiner Angst vor persönlichen Tragödien begegnet er mit dem Erzählen. „Ich stelle mir das Schlimmste vor und dann mache ich ein Ritual, das Ritual des Schreibens, um das zu kontrollieren und die Wirklichkeit zu schützen.“ Nach der Schule folgte eine Ausbildung bei der Bavaria Film in München, anschließend studierte er an der Filmakademie in Amsterdam. Seit 1976 arbeitet er als freier Schriftsteller. Dem Film blieb er verbunden: als Filmemacher, Drehbuchautor und Produzent.
Auch in seinen Romanen ist de Winters Lust am Film spürbar. Seine Erzählkunst stützt sich auf diverse filmisch-narrative Techniken. Er besitzt ein gutes Gespür für Plots und Settings und ist ein Meister der geschliffenen Dialoge. Er hat keine Angst vor großen Gefühlen. Die Handlungsstränge sind ebenso komplex wie dramaturgisch perfekt angelegt, die Figuren wirken lebendig in ihrer Vielschichtigkeit.
Zu de Winters bekanntesten Romanen zählt „Leo Kaplan“ (1986, dt. 2001). Parallel und gleichzeitig konträr zur eigenen Biographie erfindet der Autor hier sein alter ego, einen Schriftsteller, der an seiner Schreibblockade leidet. Auch die Figur Hoffman in „Hoffman’s honger“ (1990; dt. „Hoffmans Hunger“, 1994) ist ein tragischer Held auf der Suche nach einem Ausweg, wie er die Schicksalsschläge des Lebens ertragen kann.
1999 gründete de Winter die Filmproduktionsfirma Pleswin mit der Idee, europäische Stoffe für den amerikanischen Markt attraktiv zu machen. 2000 entstand „The Hollywood Sign“ nach seinem Roman „De Hemel van Hollywood“ (1997; dt. „Der Himmel über Hollywood“, 1998) unter der Regie von Sönke Wortmann. Eine Adaption von „SuperTex“ (1992; dt. 1996; Regie: Jan Schütte) kam 2003 unter gleichem Namen in die Kinos. Bisher sind sechs seiner Romane verfilmt worden.
Leon de Winter schreibt auch Theaterstücke, Reportagen und Erzählungen. In Essays und Zeitungsartikeln äußert er sich regelmäßig zu politischen Themen, z. B. zum vereinten Europa, zur israelisch-palästinensischen Situation sowie zum Irak-Krieg.
2002 wurde ihm für sein Gesamtwerk der WELT-Literaturpreis verliehen. 2005 war er Gastdozent an der Berkeley Universität in San Franzisko. Für sein Engagement gegen Antisemitismus und Rassismus erhielt er die Buber-Rosenzweig- Medaille des Deutschen Koordinierungsrats (2006).Sein zehnter Roman „God’s Gym“ (2002) erschien im Frühjahr 2003 auf Deutsch unter dem Titel „Malibu“.
Leon de Winter lebt mit seiner Frau, der Schriftstellerin Jessica Durlacher, und seinen Kindern in Amsterdam und Los Angeles.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin