22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Judith Kuckart

German director and writer Judith Kuckart was born in Schwelm, near Wuppertal in 1959. She underwent dance training at the Folkwang School in Essen, after which she studied literature and theatre in Cologne and Berlin until 1983. Afterwards, she was an assistant at the Choreographisches Theater der Stadt Heidelberg and one of the five members of the TanzTheaterSkoronel (Berlin), of which she later became the director. Without a permanent venue, but with a permanent ensemble supplemented with guests, the free, professional group toured throughout Germany and other European countries until 1998. Kuckart has worked as an freelance director since 1999.
As a writer Judith Kuckart made her debut with the novel »Wahl der Waffen« (1990; tr: Choice of Weapons), a story about two women. Jette, born during the war, becomes a terrorist and Germany’s most wanted woman; Katia, looked after by her as a child, sets out to find clues after learning of Jette’s death in Lebanon. The novel is a careful approach to actual events in West Germany in the 1970s. Monika Maron stated in »Der Spiegel« that »Kuckart narrates associatively, thus opening up various possibilities for further thought, allowing interpretations that she herself considers but does not suggest.« Her debut was followed by other novels: »Die schöne Frau« (1994; tr: The Beautiful Woman) and »Der Bibliothekar« (1998; tr: The Librarian). After a stay at the Villa Massimo on a scholarship, Judith Kuckart published the diary-like text »Sätzemit Datum« (1998; tr: Sentences With Date), which reflects her observations and feelings from this time as well as the mourning for her mother, who had died shortly before, and was later made into a radio play. This was followed by the novels »Lenas Liebe« (2002; tr: Lena’s Love), »Kaiserstraße« (2006) and »Die Verdächtige« (2008; tr: The Suspect), as well as the short story collection »Die Autorenwitwe« (2006; tr: The Author’s Widow). In her prose, she usually combines contemporary history and politics, be it the Nazi era, the early Federal Republic, or Germany after reunification, with the personal suffering and loves of her protagonists. In »Kein Sturm, nur Wetter« (2019; tr: No Storm, Only Weather), she refines this procedure into an existential reflection on the turning points in biographies and fundamental, personality-forming life themes such as remembering, repression, and loneliness: »We are what we remember and what we forget.«
She has received numerous prizes and scholarships, including the Ruhr Literature Prize, the Annette von Droste Hülshoff Prize, and the Deutscher Kritiker Prize. Her works have been translated into several languages. The author lives in Berlin.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Judith Kuckart

Die deutsche Regisseurin und Schriftstellerin Judith Kuckart wurde 1959 in Schwelm in der Nähe von Wuppertal geboren. Sie durchlief eine Tanzausbildung an der Folkwang-Schule Essen, wonach sie bis 1983 in Köln und Berlin Literatur- und Theaterwissenschaft studierte. Danach war sie Assistentin am Choreographischen Theater der Stadt Heidelberg und eines der fünf Mitglieder des TanzTheatersSkoronel (Berlin), dessen Leiterin sie später wurde. Ohne feste Spielstätte, aber mit festem Ensemble, das mit Gästen ergänzt wurde, tourte die freie, professionelle Gruppe bis 1998 durch ganz Deutschland und andere europäische Länder. Seit 1999 arbeitet Judith Kuckart als freie Regisseurin.
Als Schriftstellerin debütierte sie mit dem Roman »Wahl der Waffen« (1990), der Geschichte zweier Frauen. Jette, geboren im Krieg, wird zur Terroristin und meistgesuchten Frau Deutschlands; Katia, die von ihr als Kind gehütet wurde, macht sich auf Spurensuche, nachdem sie von Jettes Tod im Libanon erfahren hat. Der Roman ist eine behutsame Annäherung an tatsächliche Ereignisse im Westdeutschland der siebziger Jahre. »Kuckart erzählt assoziativ, eröffnet so verschiedene Möglichkeiten des Weiterdenkens, lässt Deutungen zu, die sie selbst in Betracht zieht, aber nicht suggeriert«,so Monika Maron in »Der Spiegel«.Ihrem Debüt folgten weitere Romane: »Die schöne Frau« (1994) und »Der Bibliothekar« (1998). Nach einem Stipendienaufenthalt in der Villa Massimo veröffentlichte Judith Kuckartden tagebuchartig gegliederten Text »Sätze mit Datum« (1998), der ihre Beobachtungen und Empfindungen aus dieser Zeit sowie die Trauer um die kurz zuvor verstorbene Mutterreflektiert und später zu einem Hörspiel verarbeitet wurde. Es folgten die Romane »Lenas Liebe« (2002), »Kaiserstraße« (2006) und »Die Verdächtige« (2008) sowie der Erzählband »Die Autorenwitwe« (2006). In ihrer Prosa verkoppelt sie zumeist Zeitgeschichte und Politik, sei es die NS-Zeit, die frühe Bundesrepublik oder Deutschland nach der Wiedervereinigung, mit dem persönlichen Leiden und Lieben ihrer Protagonist*innen. In »Kein Sturm, nur Wetter« (2019) verfeinert sie dieses Verfahren zu einem existenziellen Nachdenken über die Wendepunkte in Biografien und grundlegende, persönlichkeitsstiftende Lebensthemen wie Erinnern, Verdrängen und Einsamkeit: »Wir sind, was wir erinnern und was wir vergessen.«
Sie erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, u. a. den Literaturpreis Ruhr, den Annette von Droste Hülshoff Preis und den deutschen Kritikerpreis. Ihre Werke wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Die Autorin lebt in Berlin.