23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Kristina Sigunsdotter

Swedish writer, children’s author, playwright, and artist Kristina Sigunsdotter was born in 1981 in Västerås in the province of Västmanland. She studied journalism and ethnology at Södertörn University and first worked as a project manager for literary projects.

In 2009, Kristina Sigunsdotter made her debut as a playwright with the play »Systrarna Stormhatt och det Stora Fågeläventyret« [tr: The Stormhatt Sisters and the Great Bird Adventure], which was performed in Stockholm at the Royal Dramatic Theatre and Stockholm City Theatre. Her first volume of poetry, »Sjöpojken« [tr: The Boy from the Sea], was published in 2011. This was followed by the diary novel »Rovfåglar osv.« [2014; tr: Birds of Prey, etc.], which received much acclaimed by reviewers. In 2017, her first children’s book »Min krokodil tror att den är en racerbil« [tr: My Crocodile Thinks It’s a Race Car] was published. Critics particularly praised Sigunsdotter’s language and her ability to portray girls and young women with social disadvantages. For »Humlan Hanssons hemligheter« [2020; Eng. »The Secrets of Cricket Karlsson«, 2022], she and illustrator Ester Eriksson were awarded the prestigious August Prize in 2020. The plot, told in diary form, centers on an eleven-year-old girl who is faced with the difficulties of puberty. She likes to draw and dreams of a career as an artist. Her aunt is sent to a psychiatric hospital because of depression, and in addition her friend abandons her, which plunges Cricket into deep sadness.

Sigunsdotter manages to balance existential pain and humor in her narrative. »There is a particular intensity to young female friendships that’s rarely depicted in literature [Elena Ferrante notwithstanding], let alone children’s literature. But Sigunsdotter’s honest voice and Eriksson’s sophisticated and generously distributed art come together to honor the passion of these friendships, and the pain that accompanies their dissolution« [»New York Times«]. Sigunsdotter’s book »Landet som icke är« [2020; tr: The Country That Is Not], a tribute to Edith Södergran with references to classic children’s authors such as Astrid Lindgren, C. S. Lewis, and Lewis Carroll, was nominated for the Finnish Runeberg Junior Prize. The ensemble of characters from »The Secrets of Cricket Karlsson« appears again in the sequel »Hola Humlan Hansson« [2021; tr: Hola Cricket Karlsson«]. This time, it tells of a trip to Spain that Cricket takes with her friend.

Sigunsdotter also created the texts for compositions by Georg Riedel and Nicolai Dunger. Kristina Sigunsdotter has shown her works as a visual artist at various international exhibitions. She also runs the children’s book blog »Little Literarian« and is the founder of Poesifabriken, a poetry workshop for children. She lives in the village of Torna-Hällestad in Sweden’s Skåne province.

Date: 2022

Kristina Sigunsdotter

Portrait Kristina Sigunsdotter
Kristina Sigunsdotter [© Johan Agorelius]

Die schwedische Schriftstellerin, Kinderbuchautorin, Dramatikerin und Künstlerin Kristina Sigunsdotter wurde 1981 in Västerås in der Provinz Västmanland geboren. Sie studierte Journalismus und Ethnologie an der Universität Södertörn und arbeitete zunächst als Projektmanagerin für literarische Projekte.

2009 debütierte Kristina Sigunsdotter als Dramatikerin mit dem Stück »Systrarna Stormhatt och det Stora Fågeläventyret« [Ü: Die Stormhatter-Schwestern und das große Vogelabenteuer], das in Stockholm im Dramaten und im Stadsteater aufgeführt wurde. 2011 erschien ihr erster Gedichtband »Sjöpojken« [Ü: Der Junge vom Meer]. Es folgte der vom Feuilleton gefeierte Tagebuchroman »Rovfåglar osv.« [2014; Ü: Raubvögel usw.]. 2017 erschien ihr erstes Kinderbuch »Min krokodil tror att den är en racerbil« [Ü: Mein Krokodil glaubt, es sei ein Rennwagen]. Die Kritik hob vor allem Sigunsdotters Sprache und ihre Fähigkeit hervor, Mädchen und junge Frauen mit sozialer Benachteiligung darzustellen. Für »Humlan Hanssons hemligheter« [2020; dt. »Neele Nilssons Geheimnisse«, 2022] wurde sie zusammen mit der Illustratorin Ester Eriksson 2020 mit dem renommierten August-Preis ausgezeichnet. Im Mittelpunkt der Handlung, die in Tagebuchform erzählt wird, steht ein elfjähriges Mädchen, das in die Schwierigkeiten der Pubertät gerät. Sie zeichnet gern und träumt von einer Karriere als Künstlerin. Ihre Tante ist wegen Depressionen in der Psychiatrie, außerdem lässt ihre Freundin sie im Stich, was Neele in tiefe Traurigkeit stürzt.

Sigunsdotter gelingt in ihrer Erzählung der Spagat zwischen existenziellem Schmerz und Humor. »Da ist eine besondere Intensität in der Freundschaft der jungen Mädchen, die man [abgesehen von Elena Ferrante] selten in der Literatur, geschweige denn in der Kinderliteratur antrifft. Aber Sigunsdotters aufrichtiger Ton und Erikssons raffiniert und großzügig eingesetzten Kunstwerke bilden eine Einheit, um die Leidenschaft solcher Freundschaften zu würdigen sowie den Schmerz, der mit ihrer Auflösung einhergeht« [»New York Times«]. Für den finnischen Runeberg Junior-priset nominiert war Sigunsdotters Buch »Landet som icke är« [2020; Ü: Das Land, das nicht ist], eine Hommage an Edith Södergran mit Bezügen zu klassischen Kinderbuchautor:innen wie Astrid Lindgren, C. S. Lewis und Lewis Carroll. Das Figurenensemble aus »Neele Nilssons Geheimnisse« tritt in der Fortsetzung »Hola Humlan Hansson« [2021] erneut auf. Diesmal wird von einer Reise nach Spanien erzählt, die Neele zusammen mit ihrer Freundin unternimmt.

Sigunsdotter schuf auch die Texte für Kompositionen von Georg Riedel und Nicolai Dunger. Ihre Werke als bildende Künstlerin zeigte Kristina Sigunsdotter auf verschiedenen internationalen Ausstellungen. Außerdem betreibt sie den Kinderbuchblog »Little Literarian« und ist Gründerin der Poesifabriken, einer Poesiewerkstatt für Kinder. Sie lebt im Dorf Torna-Hällestad in der Provinz Skåne, Schweden.

Stand: 2022