23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Kenzaburô Ôe

Kenzaburô Ôe was born the son of a landowning family in the small town Ôse on the Japanese island Shikoku in 1935. He studied French Literature until 1959 at the University of Tokyo and concluded his studies with a thesis on Sartre. During the course of his studies he published his first literary works, which were quickly acclaimed. In 1958, for his novel »Shiiku« (1958; Eng. »The Catch«, 1959), Ôe received the most highly esteemed award in Japan, the Akutagawa Prize. Growing up in the Japanese province and turning towards European culture was significantly formative for Ôe. Separating himself from nationalistic trends and the Tenno-Culture he developed a widely diverse interest in Western philosophy, literature, and mysticism. In 1960 he married his wife Yukari, with whom he has three children. In 1963 his son Hikari was born mentally handicapped, a circumstance that changed Ôe’s life completely. In his novel »Kojintekina taiken« (1964; Eng. »A Personal Matter«, 1968) – which received international acclaim – his fictional alter ego is put in the position of deciding whether he should kill his handicapped newborn child or let him live. Further themes, which Ôe explores in his novels, are similarly tied to autobiographical experiences – for example, life in a small isolated town at the time of Japanese capitulation after World War II. The protagonists of his novels are anti-heroes: mostly the same age as the author, living through existential crises, plagued by despair, loneliness, and sexual estrangement. The unique characteristic of Ôe’s many-layered art lies in the contrast of the despairing condition of his characters with a willful black humour, behind which even in the darkest of hours there shines forth a belief in humanity.

In the seventies and eighties, Ôe took up a number of international lecture and conference tours, which also reflect his commitment to the political realm; since the sixties Ôe has been a member of the Japanese Anti-Atom Movement, and he took part in the International Environment and Peace movement. Ôe, who once compared the role of the writer with that of the canary in a coal mine, is regarded as the »moral conscience« of his country, and in his homeland he is confronted by strong, conservative opponents.

In 1994, after the conclusion of his trilogy »Moeagaru midori no ki« (t: part I: Until the savior is stricken, 1993; part II: The swinging vacillation, 1994; part III: A flaming green tree, 1995), Ôe announced that thenceforth he would dedicate himself to the work of Spinoza and would stop writing. A few weeks later he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature, at which time he put his previous project to rest. Since then Ôe has worked on a novel sequence for which he again uses autobiographical material as a foundation. Recently appearing in German translation was »Tagame. Berlin – Tokyo« (2005), the first volume. Ôe lives in Setagaya, a suburb west of Tokyo.

Translator: Nora Bierich

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Kenzaburô Ôe

Kenzaburô Ôe wurde 1935 im Dorf Ôse auf der japanischen Insel Shikoku als Sohn einer Grundbesitzerfamilie geboren. Er studierte bis 1959 Französische Literatur an der Universität Tokio und schloss mit einer Arbeit über Sartre ab. Während des Studiums veröffentlichte er erste literarische Werke, die früh Anerkennung fanden. So erhielt er 1958 für die Erzählung »Shiiku« (dt. »Der Fang«, 1964) die wichtigste literarische Auszeichnung Japans, den Akutagawa-Preis. Seine Herkunft aus der japanischen Provinz und die Hinwendung zur europäischen Kultur prägten Ôe. In Abgrenzung zu nationalistischen Tendenzen und der Tenno-Kultur entwickelte er ein breit gefächertes Interesse für westliche Philosophie, Literatur und Mystik. 1960 heiratete er seine Frau Yukari, mit der er drei Kinder hat. 1963 wurde sein geistig behinderter Sohn Hikari geboren, ein Umstand, der Ôes Leben von Grund auf änderte. In seinem Roman »Kojintekina taiken« (1964; dt. »Eine persönliche Erfahrung« 1972), mit dem er auch internationale Anerkennung erlangte, wird sein fiktives Alter Ego vor die Wahl gestellt, sein behindertes Neugeborenes zu töten oder am Leben zu lassen. Weitere Themen, die Ôe in seinen Romanen variiert, sind ebenfalls eng an autobiografische Erfahrungen angelehnt, so z.B. das Leben in einem abgeschiedenen Dorf zur Zeit der japanischen Kapitulation nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Die Protagonisten seiner Romane sind Anti-Helden: zumeist im jeweiligen Alter des Autors, durchleben sie existentielle Krisen, sind von Verzweiflung, Einsamkeit und sexueller Entfremdung geplagt. Das besondere Merkmal der vielschichtigen Ôeschen Erzählkunst liegt jedoch in der Kontrastierung der verzweifelten Lage seiner Figuren mit einem eigenwilligen schwarzen Humor, hinter dem selbst in den härtesten Stunden der Glaube an die Humanität aufscheint.

In den siebziger und achtziger Jahren unternahm Ôe zahlreiche Vortrags- und Kongressreisen ins Ausland, die auch sein Engagement auf politischem Gebiet widerspiegeln; so war Ôe schon seit den sechziger Jahren Mitglied der japanischen Anti-Atom-Bewegung und setzte sich für die internationale Umwelt- und Friedensbewegung ein. Ôe, der die Rolle des Schriftstellers einmal mit der des Kanarienvogels im Kohleschacht verglich, gilt als das »moralische Gewissen« seines Landes und ist in seiner Heimat starken Anfeindungen von konservativer Seite ausgesetzt.

1994, nach Abschluss seiner Romantrilogie »Moeagaru midori no ki« (dt. »Grüner Baum in Flammen«, Bd. 1 unter demselben Titel, 2000; Bd. 2 »Der schwarze Ast«, 2002; Bd. 3 »Der atemlose Stern«, 2003), gab Ôe bekannt, dass er sich fortan dem Werk Spinozas widmen und sich vom Schreiben zurückziehen wolle. Wenige Wochen nach dieser Verlautbarung wurde ihm jedoch der Nobelpreis für Literatur verliehen, und er nahm wieder Abstand von seinem Vorhaben. Seitdem arbeitet Ôe an einer Romanfolge, die wiederum autobiografisches Material zur Grundlage hat. In deutscher Übersetzung erschien zuletzt der erste Band »Tagame. Berlin – Tokyo« (2005). Ôe lebt in Setagaya, einem Vorort westlich von Tokio.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin