22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Kathrin Röggla

Kathrin Röggla was born in Salzburg in 1971. She has been appearing as an author since 1988. Her focus is on prose and texts for theater as well as radio.

Since her literary debut »Niemand lacht rückwärts« [1995; tr: Nobody Laughts Backwards], she has published several prose volumes that cross genres and often take a media- and ideological-critical look at the present. »really ground zero« [2001] is an excellent example of this. »In her idiosyncratic language, already tried and tested in earlier texts, a reflective mixture of colloquial, scenic, scientific, and literary modes of writing and speaking« [DLF], Kathrin Röggla, who was in New York on September 11, 2001, describes her own perception of the terrorist attacks, captures the reactions of the Americans, and also takes a look at the media coverage. For the novel »wir schlafen nicht« [2004; tr: We Don’t Sleep], she interviewed management consultants and other actors from the New Economy in order to weave their statements »into an impressive tapestry of indirect speech, new word combinations, and a state of consciousness that constantly shifts from self-deception to clairvoyance« [NZZ]. Both works were adapted for the stage by the author.

In general, Kathrin Röggla also takes up current topics and social debates in her plays and radio plays; for example, the starting point for »Der Lärmkrieg« [2013; tr: Noise War] was an event on the topic of aircraft noise, which the author had attended during her time as a writer for the city of Mainz. The play »Das Wasser« [tr: The Water], which premiered in 2022 at the Staatsschauspiel Dresden, is based on numerous conversations with environmental NGOs and activists. She recently published the poetics volume »Ausreden« [2022; tr: Excuses] and the essay »Bauernkriegspanorama« [2020; tr: Peasants’ War Panorama], which won the Crespo Foundation’s Wortmeldungen Prize. It takes the panorama painting by GDR artist Werner Tübke, completed in 1987, as a starting point to reflect on what a corresponding image of the present might look like. »The text is a venture if only because it attempts to depict the many conflicting developments as a totality. For all her gloom, the author does not refrain from outlining a utopian future«, said the jury of the Wortmeldungen Prize.

Kathrin Röggla has received numerous awards for her work, including the Solothurn Literature Prize, the Arthur Schnitzler Prize, the Austrian Art Prize for Literature, and the Else-Laker-Schüler Prize. She has been a member of the German Academy for Language and Poetry since 2015 and became Vice President of the Berlin Academy of Arts that same year. In 2020, she was appointed Professor of Literary Writing at the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne. The author lives in Cologne.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Kathrin Röggla

Kathrin Röggla wurde 1971 in Salzburg geboren. Seit 1988 tritt sie als Autorin in Erscheinung. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf Prosa- und Theatertexten sowie Radioarbeiten.

Seit ihrem literarischen Debüt »Niemand lacht rückwärts« [1995] veröffentlichte sie mehrere genreübergreifend gestaltete Prosabände, die oftmals einen medien- und ideologiekritischen Blick auf die Gegenwart werfen. Beispielhaft hierfür ist »really ground zero« [2001]. »In ihrer eigenwilligen, in früheren Texten bereits erprobten Sprache, einer reflektierenden Mischung aus umgangssprachlichen, szenischen, wissenschaftlichen und literarischen Schreib- und Sprechweisen« [DLF], schildert Kathrin Röggla, die am 11. September 2001 in New York war, ihre eigene Wahrnehmung der Terroranschläge, fängt die Reaktionen der Amerikaner:innen ein und nimmt auch die mediale Berichterstattung in den Blick. Für den Roman »wir schlafen nicht« [2004] interviewte sie Unternehmensberater:innen und andere Akteur:innen aus der New Economy, um ihre Aussagen »zum eindrücklichen Klangteppich aus indirekter Rede, neuen Wortkombinationen und einem ständig von Selbstbetrug zu Hellsicht kippenden Bewusstseinszustand« [NZZ] zu verweben. Beide Werke wurden von der Autorin für die Bühne adaptiert.

Generell greift Kathrin Röggla auch in ihren Theaterstücken und Hörspielen aktuelle Themen und gesellschaftliche Debatten auf; so war der Ausgangspunkt zu »Der Lärmkrieg« [2013] eine Veranstaltung zum Thema Fluglärm, welche die Autorin in ihrer Zeit als Mainzer Stadtschreiberin besucht hatte. Dem Stück »Das Wasser«, 2022 im Staatsschauspiel Dresden uraufgeführt, liegen zahlreiche Gespräche mit Umwelt-NGOs und Aktivist:innen zugrunde. Zuletzt erschienen der poetologische Band »Ausreden« [2022] und der mit dem Wortmeldungen-Preis der Crespo Foundation ausgezeichnete Essay »Bauernkriegspanorama« [2020]. Er nimmt das 1987 fertiggestellte Panoramabild des DDR-Künstlers Werner Tübke zum Anlass, um darüber nachzudenken, wie ein entsprechendes Bild der Gegenwart aussehen könnte. »Der Text ist schon deswegen ein Wagnis, weil er versucht, die vielen widerstrebenden Entwicklungen als eine Gesamtheit abzubilden. Bei aller Düsternis verzichtet die Autorin nicht darauf, die Umrisse eines utopischen Horizonts einzuzeichnen«, so die Jury des Wortmeldungen-Preises.

Für ihr Schaffen wurde Kathrin Röggla vielfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem Solothurner Literaturpreis, dem Arthur-Schnitzler-Preis, dem Österreichischen Kunstpreis für Literatur und zuletzt mit dem Else-Lasker-Schüler-Preis. Sie ist seit 2015 Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung und wurde im selben Jahr Vizepräsidentin der Berliner Akademie der Künste. 2020 wurde sie als Professorin für Literarisches Schreiben an die Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln berufen. Die Autorin lebt in Köln.

Stand: 2022