22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Jutta Treiber

Jutta Treiberwas born in Oberpullendorf, Austria, near the Hungarian border, in 1949. After studying German and English at the University of Vienna she worked at a secondary school in her hometown. In addition she ran the local cinema owned by her family for more than twenty years. At the age of eight she first experienced writing and the therapeutic power of art, after the birth of her disabled brother. At that time she also became familiar with fiction and fantasy by means of the cinema that her grandfather had founded. On the fascination of writing she comments: “On the one hand it means coming to terms with past events and experiences, on the other hand it is an obsession. I have to write, cannot live without writing.”  The author from the Burgenland debuted in 1979 with a volume of short stories entitled ‘Ich will eine Geschichte schreiben’ (Engl: I Want to Write a Story).  Since 1988, when she published her young adults’ novel ‘Popcorn zum Frühstück’ (Engl: Popcorn for Breakfast), she has worked as a freelance writer.  Her oeuvre comprises illustrated books and children’s books, poetry, short prose, novels for young people, cabaret programmes, radio plays and short films.

In an empathic and humorous way Jutta Treiber depicts children and young people who must make important decisions and face big changes.  Avoiding soft-focussing, she chooses as central themes taboos and emotional devastations which are often hushed up and which threaten to break young people.  The writer offers her readers ways of identifying with what is not talked about. At the same time she shows that one is not alone with one’s efforts to regain wholeness and dignity after loss, harm or fear.  Her stories always end with the power of hope and the will to continue living despite everything.

In the book series about “children-in-between” (among others in ‘Dazwischenkinder sind wir alle’, 1999; Engl: We All are Children-in-Between) she describes the often ignored difficulties of the middle siblings.  Her young people’s novel ‘Julia spielt Julia’ (Engl: Julia Plays Julia) describes the dreams, fears and passions of young adults as seen from the perspective of a young lady who wants to become a theatre star.  Equally multi-facetted is Treiber’s psychological portrayal of seventeen year old Franka, who becomes a rape victim and almost breaks down in the aftermath (‘Vergewaltigt’, 2003; Engl: Raped).  The author manages to look sensitively into the complex world of a grieving child’s soul, as well as to humorously describe first love, the everyday war between parents, or a grumpy father convinced by his family to have a laugh pacemaker implanted (‘Lachschrittmacher’, 2001, Engl: Laugh Pacemaker). Recently, she published the picture book „Der Großvater im rostroten Ohrensessel“ (2006) and the children’s book „Max und Marzipan“ (2007).

Jutta Treiber has given more than 2000 readings in seventeen European and Asian countries.  She has received the City of Vienna’s Award for Children’s and Young People’s Literature, the Austrian Young People’s Literature Award (1996 and 2007) and the Libraries’ Readers’ Voices Award.  Jutta Treiber lives in Oberpullendorf – above the cinema.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jutta Treiber

Jutta Treiber wurde 1949 im österreichischen Oberpullendorf nahe der ungarischen Grenze geboren. Nach dem Germanistik- und Anglistikstudium an der Universität Wien arbeitete sie als Lehrerin am Gymnasium ihrer Heimatstadt. Mehr als zwanzig Jahre betrieb sie dort das familieneigene Kino. Erste Schreiberfahrungen machte sie mit acht Jahren, als sie nach der Geburt ihres behinderten Bruders die therapeutische Kraft der Kunst entdeckte. Schon damals machte sie das Kino, das ihr Großvater gegründet hatte, sie mit Phantasie und Fiktion vertraut. Über die Faszination des Schreibens sagt sie: „Einerseits ist es die Bewältigung eigener Erlebnisse und Erfahrungen, andererseits eine Besessenheit: Ich muss schreiben, kann ohne Schreiben nicht leben.“ 1979 debütierte die Burgenländerin mit dem Kurzgeschichtenband “Ich will eine Geschichte schreiben” und lebt seit 1988, seit der Veröffentlichung des Jugendromans “Popcorn zum Frühstück”, als freie Schriftstellerin. Ihr Werk umfasst Bilder- und Kinderbücher, Lyrik, Kurzprosa, Romane für Jugendliche und Erwachsene, Kabarettprogramme, Hörspiele und Kurzfilme.

Mit großer Einfühlsamkeit und viel Humor zeigt Jutta Treiber Kinder und Jugendliche, die vor großen Entscheidungen oder Veränderungen stehen. Ohne Weichzeichner thematisiert sie auch Tabus und emotionale Verwüstungen, die oft totgeschwiegen werden und an denen junge Persönlichkeiten zu zerbrechen drohen. Die Autorin schenkt ihren Lesern Identifikationsmöglichkeiten für das Unausgesprochene. Dabei zeigt sie auch, dass man nicht allein ist im Bemühen, nach Verlust, Verletzung oder Angst seine Ganzheit und Würde zurückzuerlangen. Am Ende ihrer Geschichten steht immer das ‚weiterleben, trotz allem’ und die Kraft der Hoffnung.

So schildert sie in ihrer Buchreihe über die ‚Dazwischenkinder’ (u. a. „Dazwischenkinder sind wir alle“, 1999) die oft ignorierten Schwierigkeiten mittlerer Geschwister. Ihr Jugendroman „Julia spielt Julia“ zeigt aus dem Blickwinkel einer jungen Frau, die Theaterstar werden möchte, die Träume, Ängste und Leidenschaften von Jugendlichen. Ebenso facettenreich ist Treibers psychologische Darstellung der siebzehnjährigen Franka, die Opfer einer Vergewaltigung wird und an den Folgen fast zerbricht („Vergewaltigt“, 2003). Der Autorin gelingt der sensible Blick in die komplexe Welt einer trauernden Kinderseele genauso wie die humorvolle Beschreibung der ersten Liebe, des Alltagskriegs zwischen Eltern oder eines grantigen Vaters, der von seiner Familie überredet wird, sich einen Lachschrittmacher einpflanzen zu lassen („Lachschrittmacher“, 2001). Zuletzt erschienen das Bilderbuch „Der Großvater im rostroten Ohrensessel“ (2006) und das Kinderbuch „Max und Marzipan“ (2007).

Jutta Treiber hat mehr als 2000 Lesungen in siebzehn Ländern Europas und Asiens gehalten. Für ihr Werk erhielt sie u. a. den Kinder- und Jugendbuchpreis der Stadt Wien, den Österreichischer Staatspreis für Kinder- und Jugendliteratur (1996 und 2007) sowie den Leserstimmenpreis der Bibliotheken. Jutta Treiber lebt in Oberpullendorf – über dem Kino.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin