23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jónás Tamás

Tamás Jónás was born in 1973 to a Roma family in the northern Hungarian town of Ózd, which had been forcibly industrialized in the 1950s. He lived in Csernely until the age of four. When his parents were imprisoned for their debts, he and his siblings were placed in various children’s homes. Jónás also spent some time with foster parents who mistreated him. »This experience has shaped me. Since then, I have known that I can only rely on myself.« At the age of six he returned to his parents and from then on lived in Szombathely. He studied Hungarian and Sanskrit at the Széchenyi István Technical College in Győr, at the Eötvös-Loránd University in Budapest, and at a Buddhist school. He has published his poems since the age of 16, and since then has released eight collections of poetry. The literary role models who inspired the creation of his own style were François Villon, Attila József, and the Hungarian poets of the 19th century. Jónás has often been referred to as a Roma poet, a categorization that he personally perceives as a restriction. Nevertheless, the existential experience of belonging to the Roma is, on the one hand, a part of his poetry; on the other hand, with his works he lends a voice to the Roma and their world.

At the age of 22, he wrote the autobiographical novel »Cigányidők« (2009; tr: Gypsy Times), in which he deals with his early childhood experiences. In his subsequent prose texts, too, Jónás writes mainly about people on the margins of society – Sinti and Roma, the desperate, the homeless. Péter Esterházy said about him: »Tamás Jónas is full of stories about poverty, vulnerability, pain, love, the body, wealth, and poverty – he is full of stories, full of talent.« »Als ich noch Zigeuner war« (tr: When I Was a Gypsy), a collection of novellas and poems, was published in German in 2006. In addition to traumatic memories, the lyrics also deal with observations from his environment: childlike experiences, first love and the pain it causes, and the mockery by his classmates because of his origins. His sober, sometimes ballad-like narrative style contrasts with the cruelty of the suffering. In 2008 the volume »Fünfunddreißig« (tr: Thirty-Five) was published in German translation with stories and poems in which the atmosphere of existential desolation is dominant and the characters are constantly exposed to questions of guilt, exclusion, and injustice.

Jónás also works as a journalist and editor of www.dokk.hu, a literary website. He is also a presenter on Radio C, a Hungarian Roma station. He was a Herder scholarship recipient, among others. In 2009 he was awarded the Hungarian Aegon Art Prize for his poetry collection »Önkéntes vak« (tr: Voluntarily Blind). The author lives in Budapest.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jónás Tamás

Tamás Jónás wurde 1973 im nordungarischen Ózd, das in den fünfziger Jahren zwangsindustrialisiert worden war, in einer Roma-Familie geboren. Bis zu seinem vierten Lebensjahr lebte er in Csernely. Als seine Eltern wegen ihrer Schulden ins Gefängnis kamen, wurden er und seine Geschwister in verschiedenen Kinderheimen untergebracht. Jónás lebte zudem eine Zeit lang bei Pflegeeltern, die ihn misshandelten. »Diese Erfahrung hat mich geprägt. Seitdem weiß ich, dass ich mich nur auf mich verlassen kann.« Sechsjährig kehrte er zu seinen Eltern zurück und lebte von da an in Szombathely. Er studierte am Széchenyi István Technical College in Győr, an der Eötvös-Loránd-Universität Budapest Ungarisch und Sanskrit sowie an einer buddhistischen Schule. Seine Gedichte veröffentlicht er seit seinem 16. Lebensjahr, seitdem sind acht Lyriksammlungen erschienen. Seine literarischen Vorbilder, an denen er seinen eigenen Stil schulte, waren François Villon, Attila József und die ungarischen Dichter des 19. Jahrhunderts. Vielfach wurde Jónás als Roma-Dichter bezeichnet, eine Kategorisierung, die er selbst als Einschränkung empfindet. Dennoch ist die existenzielle Erfahrung der Zugehörigkeit zu den Roma einerseits Teil seiner Poesie, andererseits verleiht er mit seinen Werken den Roma und ihrer Lebens- und Gefühlswelt eine Stimme.

Mit 22 Jahren schrieb er den autobiografischen Roman »Cigányidők« (2009; Ü: Zigeunerzeiten), in dem er seine frühen Kindheitserlebnisse verarbeitet. Auch in seinen folgenden Prosatexten erzählt Jónás vorwiegend von Menschen am Rande der Gesellschaft – Sinti und Roma, Verzweifelte, Obdachlose. Péter Esterházy sagte über ihn: »Tamás Jónas ist voller Geschichten über die Armut, die Verletzlichkeit, den Schmerz, die Liebe, den Körper, den Reichtum und da capo: über die Armut – er ist voller Geschichten, voller Talent.« Auf Deutsch erschien 2006 der Band »Als ich noch Zigeuner war« mit Novellen und Gedichten. Neben traumatischen Erinnerungen werden in den Texten Beobachtungen aus seinem Lebensumfeld thematisiert: kindliche Erfahrungen, die erste Liebe und die Schmerzen darüber, aber auch der Spott der Mitschüler wegen seiner Herkunft. Seinem nüchternen, teilweise balladenhaften Erzählstil steht die Grausamkeit des Durchlittenen gegenüber. 2008 folgte der Band »Fünfunddreißig« mit Geschichten und Gedichten in deutscher Übersetzung, in denen die Atmosphäre der existenziellen Trostlosigkeit dominiert und die Figuren beständig Fragen nach Schuld, Ausgegrenztheit und Ungerechtigkeit ausgesetzt sind.

Jónás arbeitet auch als Journalist und Herausgeber von www.dokk.hu, einer literarischen Website. Außerdem ist er Moderator bei Radio C, einem ungarischen Roma-Sender. Er war u. a. Herder-Stipendiat. 2009 wurde er für seinen Gedichtband »Önkéntes vak« (Ü: Freiwillig blind) mit dem ungarischen Aegon-Artpreis ausgezeichnet. Der Autor lebt in Budapest.