Viktor Jerofejew

Portrait Viktor Jerofejew
Viktor Jerofejew [© Ali Ghandtschi]

Viktor Yerofeyev was born in Moscow in 1947. His father was an interpreter for Vyacheslav Molotov, among others, and was also the Soviet ambassador in France. Yerofeyev studied philology and linguistics at Lomonsov University in Moscow and received his doctorate on Dostoyevsky and French existentialism.

In 1979, he collaborated on the literary almanac »Metropol«, which caused a political scandal when it was released, resulting in Yerofeyev’s expulsion from the writers’ association of the USSR. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, Yerofeyev re-released the almanac, which he referred to as an »X-ray machine that scanned the whole of society«, in a series of anthologies.

His debut novel »Russkaja krasavica« [1989; Eng. »Russian Beauty«, 1990] depicts with ambiguous humor the rise of a Russian femme fatale from the provinces to Moscow’s privileged circles through naivety and calculation. The partly grotesque analysis of society became a bestseller. In »Choroschi Stalin« [2004; Eng. »Good Stalin«] Yerofeyev reflects on the power structures that prevailed under Stalin, particularly in the entourage of consultants, translators, and diplomats to which his father also belonged. The novel-like autobiography ultimately illustrates how artistic and political freedom mutually dependent. He also dissects contemporary Russia, of which he is often a controversial critic, in the essay collection »Russkij apokalipsis« [2005; Eng. »Russin Apocalypse«, 2009], which brings together 55 texts from a period of 15 years resulting in an often bitingly commented chronicle. In the satirical and surreal political parable novel »Akimudy« [2012] he raises the dead and escalates the tense relations between Russia and the fictitious state that end in a crucifixion on the Red Square. In 2014, his story »de profundis« [tr: From the Depths], about the beauty and abysses of the Russian soul, was included in the e-book bundle »Russland erzählt« [tr: Russia Tells]. After the adult fairy tale »Rosowaja mysch« [2017; tr: The Pink Mouse], his essay collection »Schtschel« [tr: The Gap] was published in 2018. The book contains documentary records and literary texts about the nature of man and creativity, about freedom and loneliness, and about the peculiarities of several literary works. Yerofeyev’s »Encyclopedia of the Russian Soul« [2021] is a philosophically-ironic mixture of novel, crime novel, and encyclopedia.

Yerofeyev is currently living in Germany on a scholarship and writing his new novel, which will be published in German under the title »Der große Gopnik« [tr: The Great Gopnik] in 2023. »It is a book about the parallel lives of Putin and myself. […] In the beginning I wrote with a lot of irony, but then things changed in Russia. […] Now Putin has given me a finale with the war against Ukraine. It’s terrible, but it’s a serious ending for my book«.

Date: 2022

Viktor Jerofejew

Portrait Viktor Jerofejew
Viktor Jerofejew [© Ali Ghandtschi]

Viktor Jerofejew wurde 1947 in Moskau geboren. Sein Vater war als Dolmetscher u. a. für den sowjetischen Außenminister Wjatscheslaw Molotow und als Botschafter in Frankreich tätig. An der Lomonossow-Universität in Moskau studierte Jerofejew Philologie sowie Linguistik und promovierte 1975 über Dostojewski und den französischen Existentialismus.

1979 wirkte er an der Zusammenstellung des Literaturalmanachs »Metropol« mit, bei dessen Premiere es zu einem politischen Skandal kam, was den Ausschluss Jerofejews aus dem Schriftstellerverband der UdSSR zur Folge hatte. Nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion gab er den Almanach, den er als »Röntgenapparat, der die ganze Gesellschaft durchleuchtete«, bezeichnete, in einer Reihe von Anthologien neu heraus.

Mit doppelbödigem Humor schildert sein Romandebüt »Russkaja krasavica« [1989; dt. »Die Moskauer Schönheit«, 1990] den durch Naivität und Berechnung beförderten Aufstieg einer russischen Femme fatale aus der Provinz bis in die privilegierten Zirkel Moskaus. Die teils groteske Gesellschaftsanalyse avancierte international zum Bestseller. In »Choroschi Stalin« [2004; dt. »Der gute Stalin«, 2004/2021] reflektiert Jerofejew die Machtstrukturen unter Stalin, insbesondere in der Entourage aus Beratern, Übersetzern und Diplomaten, zu der auch sein Vater gehörte. Die romanesk ausgestaltete Autobiografie illustriert, wie sich künstlerische und politische Freiheit gegenseitig bedingen. Das gegenwärtige Russland, als dessen provokanter Kritiker er oftmals in Erscheinung tritt, seziert er in der Essaysammlung »Russkij apokalipsis« [2005; dt. »Russische Apokalypse«, 2009], die 55 seiner Texte über einen Zeitraum von 15 Jahren zu einer oft beißend kommentierten Chronik zusammenfasst. In der satirischen und surrealen Polit-Parabel »Akimudy« [2012; dt. »Die Akimuden. Ein nichtmenschlicher Roman«, 2013] lässt Jerofejew Tote wiederauferstehen und die gespannten Beziehungen Russlands zu dem titelgebenden, fiktiven Staat eskalieren – bis hin zu einer Kreuzigung auf dem Roten Platz. 2014 wurde seine Erzählung »de profundis« [Ü: Aus den Tiefen] über die Schönheit und Abgründe der russischen Seele in das E-Book-Bundle »Russland erzählt« aufgenommen. Nach dem Märchen für Erwachsene »Rosowaja mysch« [2017; Ü: Die rosa Maus] erschien 2018 seine Essaysammlung »Schtschel« [Ü: Der Spalt] mit dokumentarischen und literarischen Texten über das Wesen des Menschen und seine Kreativität, über Freiheit und Einsamkeit. Mit »Enzyklopädie der russischen Seele« [dt. 2021], einer Mischung aus Roman, Krimi und Enzyklopädie, legte Jerofejew eine philosophisch-ironische Bestandsaufnahme vor.

2022 lebt Jerofejew als Stipendiat in Deutschland und schreibt an seinem neuen Roman, der unter dem Titel »Der große Gopnik« voraussichtlich 2023 auf Deutsch erscheint. »Es ist ein Buch über das parallele Leben von Putin und mir. […] Am Anfang habe ich mit viel Ironie geschrieben, doch dann änderte sich einiges in Russland. […] Jetzt hat mir Putin mit dem Krieg gegen die Ukraine ein Finale geschenkt. Es ist zwar schrecklich, aber es ist ein ernsthaftes Ende für mein Buch.«

Stand: 2022