23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Portrait Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi [© kein Copyright]

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi was born in Mengo, Uganda, in 1967. During the years of Idi Amin’s tyranny, her father, a banker, was imprisoned and brutalized. Makumbi grew up with her aunt, first in Nakasero, then in Kololo. She began writing plays for various competitions while still at school. After graduating from high school, she studied education at the Islamic University in Uganda, majoring in English language and literature. During her studies, she was the editor of the university magazine »The IUIU Mirror«.

In 1998, she began writing while teaching in Kampala. Her play »Sitaani Teyebase« won awards and toured Kampala. Makumbi began studying creative writing at Manchester Metropolitan University in 2001 and completed her doctorate at Lancaster University. In her writing, Makumbi draws primarily on oral storytelling traditions and lore such as myths, legends and folktales rooted in East African Ganda culture: »I also noticed that using oral forms, which are normally perceived as trite and ‘tired’ brought, ironically, a certain depth to a piece that I could not explain.«

Her novel, »The Kintu Saga«, with which she earned her doctorate, won the »Kwani?« manuscript competition for unpublished fiction by African writers in Kenya, was published in 2014 under the title »Kintu«, and was nominated for the Etisalat Prize for Literature. The story begins in 1750 and tells of a family under the spell of a curse unleashed by their ancestor Kintu Kidda. Again, Makumbi brings together the oral storytelling tradition of Ganda to create a diverse interplay of unusual and powerfully crafted, vivid characters who populate this modern epic. Makumbi’s story collection »Manchester Happened« [2019] was nominated for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize and won the Africa Regional Prize. Her coming-of-age novel »The First Woman« [2020], which won the Jhalak Prize, is a feminist interpretation of Ugandan fairy tales and tells the story of a girl who grows up with her grandparents and, as a teenager, sorely misses the mother she never knew. The search for the mother is linked to the process of growing up and discovering one’s own femininity.

Makumbi teaches English and creative writing at various universities in the UK. In Manchester, she runs the African reading group ARG!. Among other awards, she received the 2018 Windham Campbell Prize in the fiction category. She was named one of the 100 Most Influential African Women of 2020 by »New African Magazine«. The author lives in Manchester and is a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2022.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi wurde 1967 in Mengo, Uganda, geboren. In den Jahren der Gewaltherrschaft von Idi Amin geriet ihr Vater, ein Bankier, in Haft und wurde brutal misshandelt. Makumbi wuchs bei ihrer Tante auf, zunächst in Nakasero, dann in Kololo. Während der Schulzeit verfasste sie bereits Theaterstücke für verschiedene Wettbewerbe, nach dem Abitur studierte sie an der Islamischen Universität in Uganda Pädagogik mit den Schwerpunkten Englische Sprache und Literatur. Während ihrer Studienzeit war sie Herausgeberin der Universitätszeitschrift »The IUIU Mirror«.

1998 begann sie parallel zu ihrer Lehrtätigkeit in Kampala mit dem Schreiben. Ihr Theaterstück »Sitaani Teyebase« war preisgekrönt und tourte durch Kampala. Ab 2001 studierte Makumbi Kreatives Schreiben an der Manchester Metropolitan University und promovierte an der Lancaster University.
In ihren Texten greift Makumbi vor allem auf mündliche Erzähltraditionen und Überlieferungen wie Mythen, Legenden und Volksmärchen zurück, die in der ostafrikanischen Ganda-Kultur verankert sind: »Ich habe festgestellt, dass die mündlichen Formen, die sonst als trivial und ›überstrapaziert‹ wahrgenommen werden, einem Text ironischerweise eine unerklärliche Tiefe verleihen.«

Ihr Roman »The Kintu Saga«, mit dem sie promovierte, gewann den Manuskriptwettbewerb »Kwani?« für unveröffentlichte Belletristik afrikanischer Schriftsteller:innen in Kenia, wurde 2014 unter dem Titel »Kintu« veröffentlicht und war für den Etisalat Prize for Literature nominiert. Die Handlung beginnt im Jahr 1750 und erzählt die Geschichte einer Familie im Bann eines Fluchs, der von ihrem Vorfahren Kintu Kidda entfesselt wurde. Auch hier vereint Makumbi die mündliche Erzähltradition von Ganda und schafft ein vielfältiges Zusammenspiel ungewöhnlicher und kraftvoll gestalteter, lebendiger Charaktere, die dieses moderne Epos bevölkern. Makumbis Erzählband »Manchester Happened« [2019] war für den Commonwealth Short Story Prize nominiert und gewann den Regionalpreis Afrika. Ihr Coming-of-Age-Roman »The First Woman« [2020; dt. »Die erste Frau«, 2022], der den Jhalak-Preis gewann, ist eine feministische Interpretation ugandischer Märchen und erzählt die Geschichte eines Mädchens, das bei seinen Großeltern aufwächst und als Teenager schmerzlich die Mutter vermisst, die es nie kennengelernt hat. Die Suche nach der Mutter ist verknüpft mit dem Prozess des Erwachsenwerdens und der Entdeckung der eigenen Weiblichkeit.

Makumbi unterrichtet an verschiedenen Universitäten in Großbritannien Anglistik und Kreatives Schreiben. In Manchester leitet sie die afrikanische Lesegruppe ARG! Neben anderen Auszeichnungen erhielt sie 2018 den Windham-Campbell-Preis in der Kategorie Belletristik. Sie wurde vom »New African Magazine« zu einer der 100 einflussreichsten Afrikanerinnen des Jahres 2020 gewählt. Die Autorin lebt in Manchester und ist 2022 Gast des Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Stand: 2022