22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Jean-Christophe Rufin

Jean-Christophe Rufin was born in Bourges in 1952. He grew up primarily with his grandparents; his grandfather, a doctor, was imprisoned in the Buchenwald concentration camp for two years beginning in 1940 for hiding members of the Resistance in his house in Bourges. Rufin also chose to become a doctor and studied both medicine at the Pitié-Salpêtrière in Paris and politics at the Institut d’études politiques. In 1976, he began his military service in Sousse, Tunisia, where he worked in obstetrics. He later worked at various hospitals in France as well as in Brazil, then also in hospital administration. In addition to various political posts, Rufin is considered one of the pioneers of Médecins sans frontières and was its vice-director between 1991 and 1993. Between 1994 and 1996, he headed the French Red Cross, and in 1999 he was stationed in Kosovo as administrator of Première Urgence. From 2002 to 2006, he served as president of Action contre la faim, and from 2007 to 2010 he was France’s ambassador to Senegal.

In addition, he also devoted his time to writing. The experiences of more than twenty years working in NGOs in Nicaragua, Afghanistan, the Philippines, Rwanda, and the Balkans contributed to his critical essay »Le piège humanitaire« [1986; tr: The Humane Trap]. His debut novel »L’Abyssin« [1997; Eng. »The Abyssinian«], about a gifted young pharmacist who is sent to cure the king in 17th-century Abyssinia, was awarded the Prix Goncourt du premier roman and the Prix Méditerranée.

Rufin often weaves the themes of ecology, development aid, and human rights into a thriller. »Le Parfum dʼAdam« [2007; tr: Adam’s Perfume] follows the story of an environmental activist who frees animals from an experimental laboratory in Poland in 2005 and becomes embroiled in a murderous plot to save the world instead of human lives in poor countries. The historical novel »Rouge Brésil« [2001; Eng. »Brazil Red«, 2004] deals with a little-known story from the Renaissance period: the attempt by the French to colonize Brazil under the leadership of the Maltese knight Nicolas Durand de Villegagnon. »Globalia« [2004], in turn, is a dystopian novel about a totalitarian world state that promises its citizens security and prosperity, but denies them any freedoms and criticism of the system. Rufin reflects on his career as a doctor, his family background, and medical ethics in »Un léopard sur le garrot« [2008; tr: A Leopard on the Back]. In his crime novel »Le Suspendu de Conakry« [2018; Eng. »The Hanged Man of Conakry«, 2021], the bored French consul in Guinea is confronted with the murder of a European in the marina of Conakry and starts investigating on his own.

Jean-Christophe Rufin has received numerous prizes for his literary work, including the Prix Goncourt in 2001 for »Rouge Brésil«. The Académie française accepted him as its then youngest member in 2008.

Date: 2022

Jean-Christophe Rufin

Portrait Jean Christophe Rufin
Jean Christophe Rufin [© Francesca Mantovani]

Jean-Christophe Rufin wurde 1952 in Bourges geboren. Er wuchs vorwiegend bei seinen Großeltern auf. Sein Großvater, ein Arzt, war ab 1940 für zwei Jahre im KZ Buchenwald inhaftiert, weil er Mitglieder der Résistance in seinem Haus in Bourges versteckt hatte. Jean-Christophe Rufin wählte ebenfalls den Arztberuf und studierte sowohl Medizin an der Pitié-Salpêtrière in Paris als auch Politik am Institut d’études politiques. 1976 trat er seinen Wehrdienst im tunesischen Sousse an, wo er in der Geburtshilfe arbeitete. Später war er an verschiedenen Krankenhäusern in Frankreich sowie in Brasilien tätig, dann auch in der zentralen Krankenhausverwaltung. Neben verschiedenen politischen Ämtern gilt Rufin als einer der Pioniere von Médecins sans frontières und war zwischen 1991 und 1993 deren Vizedirektor. Zwischen 1994 und 1996 stand er dem Französischen Roten Kreuz vor, 1999 war er als Administrator von Première Urgence im Kosovo stationiert. Von 2002 bis 2006 wirkte er als Präsident der Action contre la faim, 2007 bis 2010 war er Botschafter Frankreichs in Senegal.

Daneben widmete er sich dem Schreiben. Die Erfahrungen von mehr als zwanzig Jahren Tätigkeit in NGOs in Nicaragua, Afghanistan, den Philippinen, Ruanda und auf dem Balkan flossen ein in seinen kritischen Essay »Le piège humanitaire« [1986; Ü: Die humanitäre Falle]. Sein Debütroman »L’Abyssin« [1997; dt. »Der Abessinier«, 1998] über einen jungen, begabten Apotheker, der im Abessinien des 17. Jahrhunderts den dortigen König heilen soll, wurde mit dem Prix Goncourt du premier roman und dem Prix Méditerranée ausgezeichnet.

Oft verpackt Rufin seine Themen Ökologie, Entwicklungshilfe und Menschenrechte in einen Thriller-Plot. »Le Parfum dʼAdam« [2007; dt. »100 Stunden«, 2008] erzählt von einer Umweltaktivistin, die 2005 in Polen Tiere aus einem Versuchslabor befreit und dabei in ein mörderisches Komplott verwickelt wird, bei dem die Rettung der Welt über Menschenleben in armen Ländern gestellt wird. Der historische Roman »Rouge Brésil« [2001] behandelt eine wenig bekannte Geschichte aus der Zeit der Renaissance: den Versuch der Franzosen, unter der Führung des Malteserritters Nicolas Durand de Villegagnon Brasilien zu kolonialisieren. »Globalia« [2004; dt. 2005] wiederum ist eine Dystopie über einen totalitären Weltstaat, der seinen Bürger:innen Sicherheit und Wohlstand verspricht, ihnen aber jegliche Freiheiten und die Kritik am System abspricht. Über seinen Werdegang als Arzt, seinen familiären Hintergrund und die ärztliche Ethik reflektiert Rufin in »Un léopard sur le garrot« [2008; dt. »Im Rücken ein Leopard. Wie Afrika mein Leben veränderte«, 2010]. In seinem Kriminalroman »Le Suspendu de Conakry« [2018; dt. »Der Gehängte von Conakry«, 2022] wird der gelangweilte französische Konsul in Guinea mit dem Mord an einem Europäer im Yachthafen von Conakry konfrontiert und nimmt auf eigene Faust Ermittlungen auf.

Für sein literarisches Werk erhielt Jean-Christophe Rufin zahlreiche Preise, darunter den Prix Goncourt 2001 für »Rouge Brésil«. Die Académie française nahm ihn als damals jüngstes Mitglied 2008 auf.

Stand: 2022